Hot air rework station?

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by Vanne, Aug 26, 2020.

  1. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    DXB.. mostly.
    Hi guys, (and girls,) I am looking for a hot air rework station, mostly to work on some 3dfx cards, but also some other stuff. Anyone have any recommendations?

    Cheers. Not looking for a dual setup as I already have a nice soldering iron.

    :) Thx
     
  2. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,767
    Location:
    4109
    no personal experience but I've read that some of the knockoffs are excellent.

    dont forget to grab a syringe or two of flux when you are our guinea pig do get it
     
  3. WuZMoT

    WuZMoT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Location:
    Brisbane
    keen to hear peoples suggestions on this too.
    I'm wanting to streamline recaps mainly and maybe expand my capabilities to surface mount chips. (depending on what I'm game to have a crack at)

    I've been eyeing this one:
    https://www.jaycar.com.au/300w-hot-air-smd-rework-station/p/TS1645

    but also considering selling my current iron to fund this instead:
    https://www.jaycar.com.au/esd-safe-solder-desolder-rework-station/p/TS1648

    current iron is: https://www.jaycar.com.au/48w-temperature-controlled-soldering-station/p/TS1564
     
  4. hutts24

    hutts24 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Messages:
    260
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Cool. After you've practiced your skills on your own cards, you can fix mine!

    Yes me too, I have no idea what hot air rework involves. I thought it involved putting gloved hands into an something like an oven. WuZMoT I have that same soldering iron, and it produces pretty godd results. Certainly made me a better solderer than I was using a dumb no-control iron.
     
    shredder likes this.
  5. WuZMoT

    WuZMoT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I've found it a lot more consistent, it's at temperature when you need it to be. It was imperative when doing my PSIO installs which are akin to a typical modchip install. Lots of wires with very small contact points you dont want to be sitting there dabbing any point more than once.

    There's something very satisfying about dragging solder along multiple points with one pass. Makes you feel like a youtube showoff.
     
    shredder likes this.
  6. adz

    adz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,760
    Location:
    ಠ-ಠ
    I have the Jaycar TS1645 and it works just fine, however I am still learning how to use it, so my opinion should be treated accordingly ;)
     
  7. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,153
    I use a Quick 861DW reflow station and a modified Achi IR Pro SC v1 BGA reball/SMD station.
     
  8. bolex17

    bolex17 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5010
  9. dakiller

    dakiller (Oscillating & Impeding)

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,406
    Location:
    3844
  10. bester

    bester Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    Adelaide
    This is what most of the people I know use with good success.
     
  11. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,076
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    I'm going to go out on a limb and against the grain and say , spend the money on a Metcal or Metcal clone ala Thermaltronics station instead and never look back. Then compliment it with a powered vacuum desoldering gun of some sort (cheap ones are OK ) for your PTH capacitor replacements.

    For the record I used to solder SMD stuff for a living for bit there many yrs ago. and when I say solder I mean hand soldering batches of 10 PCB's at a time, with probably 50 components one each. This is all we ever used. it's all ANY of the many people that worked there doing that job over yrs were used to using (all coming from other contract manufactures)

    We did have a rework station like that - it basically gathered dust.. we'd use to to heatshink some stuff . or IF doing y really fine QFP stuff it can be easier to paste+ hot air, but that's about all.
     
  12. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,691
    Location:
    Broadview SA
    Soldering is one thing. Desoldering is another. Desoldering QFP (or QFN!) without hot air is truly a pain in the neck...there's Chip Quik, but then if you're doing rework you'll want to get all of that off before resoldering the new part.
     
  13. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,076
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Yah agreed. Depends what you're doing really, QFP's we would cut the j leads off (carefully) , or use a qfp tip to heat uniformally, then pluck off
     
  14. v81

    v81 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    712
    Location:
    SE Vic
    I have the Quick 957DW, pretty good, but if I were doing it more frequently and had the bench room to leave one permanently setup the 861DW is the go.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  15. shredder

    shredder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    13,969
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Slightly off topic: cheers guys - inspired by your words, I went and grabbed one of those from Jaycar this morning, to replace the aging relic budget iron which saw me through the fanbusses, case LCD screens and similar back in the 00's. Need to whip up that GBS Control when I have time, so that'll be a nice easy test run for it.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: