How close is your NBN?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Akh-Horus, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. Akh-Horus

    Akh-Horus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,527
    Location:
    Western Vic
    Saw a chap out the front measuring the property line and putting details in to an iPad. Wandered up and asked what he is doing - turns out I will have a NBN node placed right at the front of my house in 6 to 12 months. Distance to where the house is less than 20 meters.

    Other peoples distances? Will be interesting.

    Also nothing to say the node may not be moved but this appears to be where the plan says it will be.
     
  2. p3t0r

    p3t0r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Newcastle
    The distance is based on the pillar (the grey dome thing), not the node. They node is normally placed very close to the pillar - is your house close to that?

    From WP, Generally, you should be able to get the full 100Mbps if your cable length is 500m or less. for me, I am unlucky and sync at ~45Mbps despite being 550m cable length from the pillar. I found out that there are many joints to side streets which affects my max attainable rate :/
     
  3. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I think my record so far is just under 800m from node to pillar. it's as close as it can get, but as far away as it needs to be.

    mmm...

    joints have relatively little effect on DSL per se. what they are is an opportunity for a bad joint, or a gauge or a construction change that can decrease performance, but all of those could happen in 1 joint too. more joints just increases the chance of bad luck.

    it is a mistake to try to estimate DSL performance on the basis of distance, especially when the actual cable length cannot be determined with any accuracy. there are just too many factors that can affect performance beyond simple distance. nor does a "good" ADSL2+ service mean VDSL2 will work well on the same line.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2016
  4. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    23,614
    Location:
    brabham.wa.au
    nek minnut
     
  5. zero_velocity

    zero_velocity Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,365
    Location:
    QLD
    We had an NBNCo rep in our consultancy a few weeks ago, turns out our new designs are to use type 6 pits and installing their FDH gear in the pits now... (usually used type 5/8 for distribution and 9 pits next to a pillar style FDH)
     
  6. BeanerSA

    BeanerSA Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,644
    Location:
    Gateway to the Barossa
    The pillar and node are both at the end of my street, so less than 500m. NBNCo are forecasting RFS in Feb '18. I'm not convinced it's much of a value proposition though. I'm potentially going to pay more for roughly the same speed I have now. But at least I can go faster if I want to.
     
  7. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    perhaps as a matter of interest....


    Click to view full size!


    to understand in context:

    • this is based on real world testing (not lab)
    • you don't know what gauge or construction your line is, or whether it changes
    • you don't know what the spectral profile on the DSLAM is
    • you don't know if your line has any faults or correctable transmission defects affecting performance, like excess crosstalk, bridge taps, split pairs or electrical issues
    • this is for an optimised combination of DSLAM and modem chipset - YMMV considerably with anything else

    typical street copper runs about 37 to 53dB per kilometre depending on cable variant, but you also need to factor in jointing loss, plus make allowance for lead-in and internal cabling, and the tie cabling from the pillar to the DSLAM.

    so realistically, at 500m I would expect a line in good repair to return around 75Mbps bitrate.
     
  8. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    that is the 3rd generation "skinny fibre" for FTTP and for MTM node backhaul, not for FTTP as such. the existing copper stays where it is.
     
  9. RyoSaeba

    RyoSaeba Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    11,605
    Location:
    Perth
    Oh wow, that's brutal. Moved the entire cabinet just to shut him up lol
     
  10. BeanerSA

    BeanerSA Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,644
    Location:
    Gateway to the Barossa
    Not sure if that was meant for me, but I'm currently showing 41dB indicating a line length of approx 3.5km, and I average a realistic figure of around 10Mbps. I'll initially sign on at 12/1 because I don't want to pay any more.
     
  11. BeanerSA

    BeanerSA Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,644
    Location:
    Gateway to the Barossa
    No. They decided there was a better location for the cabinet.
     
  12. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'm aware of that site. the relocation was not done due to the one individual, to my knowledge it made the mains power connection easier. the premises in question is still on wireless because it's outside the coverage of the pillar the node is tied to, and that's not going to change unless the resident chooses to pay for a bespoke connection under the technology switch programme.
     
  13. looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    23,614
    Location:
    brabham.wa.au
    it doesn't really matter why they moved it.

    it only matters that it makes for a brilliant BOFH type story. :)
     
  14. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    you cannot make such direct comparisons. it doesn't work that way.

    for starters, your modem shows measured signal attenuation, which is an average across all of the DMT subtones carrying payload. the graph I posted it at a fixed frequency of 3.75MHz, which is far higher than ADSL2+ can possibly reach. so you would need to make a realistic estimate of the average frequency your connection is running at (assuming the modem displays spectral load), know what attenuation per kilometre that frequency translates to to estimate line length, then apply that to the graph (at something like 40dB/km) to derive a realistic estimated performance under VDSL2.

    and that's assuming your current DSLAM port doesn't have an attenuation pad, which will distort the calculations, plus I can pretty much guarantee the NBN DSLAM will have a pad configured (but you won't know the value of either), and that you don't have a short bridge tap anywhere which is quite likely to impact the VDSL2 bitrates significantly, whereas it may not affect ADSL2+ at all.

    finally, the NBN DSLAM probably isn't located at the same place along the line as the existing ADSL DSLAM, unless it's in a Telstra cabinet, and even then you would need to know the differential tie cable lengths if they are dissimilar to any degree.

    you just can't make an accurate guess. there are too many engineering factors that have significant impacts.

    that would be a wise idea, and see what attainable rates the line can support before considering a higher speed plan.
     
  15. BeanerSA

    BeanerSA Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,644
    Location:
    Gateway to the Barossa
    I accept that until it's actually connected, I just wont know. It can't be any slower, surely!!

    The termites keep eating the power cables under the street. 4 times in 13 years they've dug a hole to repair them. I'm not sure why they haven't eaten the phone cables yet?!
     
  16. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    matters to me, because the implication of the story is that it was moved to spite the resident, which was not the case. the network build doesn't revolve around individuals, but engineering standards.

    but if anyone wants BOFH, I'm happy to change their location service class to satellite only. :leet:
     
  17. RyoSaeba

    RyoSaeba Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    11,605
    Location:
    Perth
    Fair enough, but still shut him up though. :lol:
     
  18. leighr

    leighr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    Mitcham, Melbourne
    What sort of costs are people looking at under the tech switch program?
     
  19. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,638
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5051
    5 figures, at least. Have a read on wp
     
  20. kronikabis

    kronikabis Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Illawarra
    Just did one at work @ 30k

    10k of that is for tunnel bore work but still 20k for 0.7km fibre is what we were quoted
     

Share This Page