How do I calibrate my screens in Eyefinity?

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Omarko, Mar 12, 2010.

  1. Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,129
    Location:
    Kellyville
    hi guys

    first of all, I am a total noob when it comes to calibrating monitors.

    I just got myself 3 new Dell 2408wfp screens and I am using them with my 5870 in Eyefinity...

    thing is, that there is slight color differences between them and I am not sure how to calibrate them to make them look same.

    especially because windows sees the individual screens as one screen so I asusme it applies one setting to all three.

    any thoughts ?

    also, is it worth getting a device like this one - LINK ???

    thanks in advance ...
     
  2. warcraft

    warcraft Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    SA
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2010
  3. CQGLHyperion

    CQGLHyperion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,372
    Location:
    North Rockhampton
    Tried the inbuilt monitor presets?

    Otherwise you will have to muck aroudn with the settings yourself I guess.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,129
    Location:
    Kellyville
    the Spyder3 Pro wont work even though it can calibrate multiple monitors, it can not calibrate eyefinity setup where windows sees the screen as one giant screen, not as 3 separate screens.

    any other thoughts?
     
  5. Vladdo

    Vladdo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8,498
    Location:
    Laverton, Melbourne
    You can't as yet.. however, i do believe that 10.3 drivers will fix this issue..
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,129
    Location:
    Kellyville
    how ? :) ....

    as in , should I still get the Spyder3 calibrator and the new drivers ill support individual monitor calibration ?
     
  7. FatBoyNotSoSlim

    FatBoyNotSoSlim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,066
    Location:
    Melbourne - 3174
    Couldn't you do it the old fashioned way, and get a colour/gradient chart, fullscreen it on each monitor, and use the monitor controls to tweak them all to look the same?
     
  8. Vladdo

    Vladdo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8,498
    Location:
    Laverton, Melbourne
    http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3743&p=4

    It looks like you can config CCC to adjust settings etc, but i don't know if it allows you to load a colour profile for each monitor.

    atm, on my 3 x 24 display, i use my spyder2 pro (you need the pro version otherwise you can only do 1 display, not 3), and it allows me to load a profile for each screen. But, as you say, eyefinity generates 1 massive screen. Only time will tell if it supports individual monitor profiles.
     
  9. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    11,682
    Location:
    Canberra
    Why use EyeFinity and not just extended desktop?

    Current solutions will work with extended desktop just fine. (I use a Huey)
     
  10. Vladdo

    Vladdo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8,498
    Location:
    Laverton, Melbourne
    You can't use extended desktop in games.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,129
    Location:
    Kellyville
    thanks Vladdo ...
     
  12. warcraft

    warcraft Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    SA
    Hmm well that sucks , I was thinking you could just match calibrate each monitor so they look the same , thats what I was going to do with my spyder 3 pro sitting in a box next to me ,Ill give it a try when I get my eyefinity set up going , just need a card ;(

    anyway that spyder 3 pro is at a good price :)
     
  13. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,735
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    can't you use extended desktop to calibrate the screens then change to eyefinity? :confused:
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,129
    Location:
    Kellyville
    well once you change them into eyefinity it will only use one profile, not separate 3 profiles ...
     
  15. r3s

    r3s Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,735
    Location:
    logan ( 4133 )
    I thought you changed the settings through the screens own OSD's to get them to match, my bad.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,129
    Location:
    Kellyville
    I have been fiddling with the screen settings (using the screen buttons) all night yesterday and I think I made it worse so I ended up resetting everything back to stock.

    I really hope that the 10.3 catalyst will offer separate display color profiles so I can then just get the spyder3 pro machine to do all the work.
     
  17. Alba

    Alba Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    Shellharbour
    :lol: I did the same thing, spent bloody ages trying to get the colours right and made it worse, so reset and tried again. I think I have it pretty close now just using the OSD and not CCC.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,129
    Location:
    Kellyville
    ended up ordering one of the Spyder3 pro tools ...
     
  19. warcraft

    warcraft Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    937
    Location:
    SA
    Sweeet , can you post what you learn , then I can get mine out the box :D
     
  20. OP
    OP
    Omarko

    Omarko Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,129
    Location:
    Kellyville
    yeah absolutely, will post results / experiences when I get it ...
     

Share This Page