How many IT staff does it take to run...?

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by shredder, Oct 22, 2012.

1. shredder

shredder Member

I was reading the news this morning, which included the casual browsing of an article relating to a government ministry (in New Zealand, as it happens).

During the course of the article, it was mentioned that the ministry had 300-400 "permanent and temporary" IT staff.

"300 to 400??!", I thought. What are they running, a cluster of COBOL Death Stars or something?? Or maybe their network consists of human runners transferring the packets by hand? :p

But I'm a noob about this stuff really, so perhaps my incredulity is unfounded.

It's just that I read about some of the one-man-army types in here, who sound like they can single-handedly (well, virtually - I know they probably have some staff) design, implement and maintain giant corporate networks.

So what do you guys reckon? How many IT staff does it take - ballpark - for, say:

-an office of 10 (presumably, "1")
    -5 offices, 100 total
    -100 offices, 5000 total seats
    -etc...

What's your impression when you read that a small govt dept takes 300-400 IT staff to run? Does it sound ridiculous to you, or just par for the course?

I know there are so many variables, it may be a pointless question. But discuss if you wish..

2. CoByau

CoByau Member

I work for a Government Organisation that services over 35,000 end users ....... Many more PC's and Servers etc.

A large number of stuff make up the internal running of the IT organisation as a whole....... Payroll, HR, Management, Ordering/Accounts

Then you have Customer Engagement, Project Managers, Service Management

Then you have the actual Techs that fix things - or deliver new projects as they come up.

In short ........... there's a lot more people required to run an IT organisation than Uncle Bob and his 54 Linux boxes