How much more watts does a 512Mb 8800GTS(G92) use compared to a 320Mb 8800GTS(G80)??

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by Coney, Dec 11, 2007.

  1. Coney

    Coney Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Southern Cydnee, Oztralia
    Hey Guys,


    I was just wondering how much more watts does a 512Mb 8800GTS use compared to a 320Mb 8800GTS?
    I might be getting a 512Mb 8800GTS (G92) and I was wondering if my current powersupply would still be able to run the G92 card?


    Thanks in advance for any replies.


    Cheers,
    Coney
     
  2. Liam.

    Liam. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    859
    what psu...
     
  3. Boxman

    Boxman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Victoria
  4. decayed.cell

    decayed.cell Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Melbourne
    In answer to the question I daresay it uses less :p
     
  5. Kaliban

    Kaliban Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    It will use less. Most of the power consumption will come from the core and the G92 core sucks less juice than the G80 core.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Coney

    Coney Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Southern Cydnee, Oztralia
    Antec 550Watt TrueControl 2
     
  7. hawks667

    hawks667 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,498
    Location:
    Kilsyth
    If its a good PSU, you should be right......Although i am still on socket 939, its a pretty stacked & "full" system, with 8800GT, my 500 watt Coolermaster iGreen does a perfect job at keeping this rig stable...
     
  8. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    64,944
    Location:
    brisbane
    your psu will be well and truly adequate providing it is in perfect working order.
     
  9. Mau1wurf1977

    Mau1wurf1977 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,706
    Location:
    Country WA
    They both have only 1x PCIe power plug. So don't worry about it.

    Max it could do is 150W (75 through PCI slot and 75 through PCEe power plug) but it is less than that.
     
  10. Rabe

    Rabe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Sydney
    could have just looked up one of the reviews

    TweakTown

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2007
  11. OP
    OP
    Coney

    Coney Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    Southern Cydnee, Oztralia
    I looked at them, but it doesnt show what wattage the 320Mb 8800GTS pulls :(


    Thanks for the replies guys.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: