1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

How much RAM for a gaming system

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by SLO247, Jun 8, 2016.

  1. SLO247

    SLO247 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Putting together an upgrade from some used bits.

    I've bought an i5 2400, planning to fit a GTX960 or 970.

    Will play a variety of games and do the usual browsing/office/music tasks.

    The parts I've bought are coming with 8gb of DDR3, 2x4gb.

    I can get another two 4gb dimms or another 8gb dimm.

    Third option is just go with 8gb.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. James086

    James086 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,146
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Stick with just what you have on the way. 8 GB is plenty for now. I haven't noticed any problems with 4 GB but some games do ask for more.
     
  3. ginger_nuts

    ginger_nuts Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,362
    Location:
    Morphett Vale, SA
    In general, gaming ATM works well with 8Gb. If your the type to be running other programs in the background whilst gaming 16Gb maybe better suited.
     
  4. Lord Belial

    Lord Belial Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Perth
    8GB is plenty. I had 4gb until GTA5 made me upgrade, no problems before that.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    SLO247

    SLO247 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Will do. That's another $40 or $50 towards a GPU at least.
     
  6. regencyking

    regencyking Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    i play fallout 4 on 4gb of ram, even though it recommends 8gb
     
  7. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    68,471
    Location:
    brisbane
    16, RAM is cheap.
     
  8. pvtgonzo

    pvtgonzo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    474
    Location:
    Cape York, Queensland
    You only really need 8 but if you can squeeze the extra 50 odd dollars cash 16 is great.
     
  9. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    8,383
    Location:
    South East QLD
    8gb is perfectly fine for now

    I only changed from 8 to 16 for premiere pro
     
  10. hotpants86

    hotpants86 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    16 so you can have a million tabs open and not have to worry when you open your game(s).
     
  11. kbekus

    kbekus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,255
    Location:
    Pascoe Vale, Melbourne
    I just went from 8 to 16 and there is no noticeable difference... I even tend to have Chrome running in the background with a million tabs open. 8Gb is a good amount. I'd spend the extra on a better graphics card or a larger SSD.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    SLO247

    SLO247 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I ended up getting another matching 8gb kit on ebay for $30 or so from memory. Can't say I notice the difference either but for the money having the future proofing is nice.
     
  13. hippyhippy

    hippyhippy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    8,914
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ram is cheap.. get 32 ... pair it with a nvme ssd and you'll be sweet.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: