1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

How often do you reformat your PC?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by Madengineer, Sep 21, 2018.

  1. Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14,801
    No idea where I should post this, so I thought for general discussion here would do fine.

    So the question I pose, how often do you reformat your PC?

    I got myself into a routine of every 6 months (at the end of each school semester) as it prompted me to sort through everything I'd collected over the 4-6 months and cull/properly file if needed.

    I've continued that habit for the last 7 years. Whether I need it or not, the OS drive gets a whole new format.


    What about everybody else?

    Do you see a point to do it regularly?

    I don't know how to make a poll :(
     
  2. whatdoesthisdo

    whatdoesthisdo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10,531
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    never.
     
    Wozzernux likes this.
  3. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    Frankston
    Never
     
    Wozzernux likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14,801

    So you've got the same OS from what, 3 years ago?
     
  5. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,710
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Im still running the same win 7 pro from when i built my X79 3930k system which would be 5? years+
     
    Wozzernux likes this.
  6. OP
    OP
    Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14,801
    Why?

    Why do you not reformat? What's your reasoning?
     
  7. KosTanzA

    KosTanzA Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    271
    Never also. Last time was when win10 came out. I didnt even format when i upgraded my cpu/mobo/ram/hdd last month. It all worked so went with it
     
    Wozzernux likes this.
  8. kombiman

    kombiman Dis-Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    13,463
    Location:
    viva brisvegas
    never since SSD. No issue. Pre SSD it made a difference.
     
    Wozzernux likes this.
  9. OP
    OP
    Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14,801
    Yeah that's when I got into the routine of doing it... And with SSDs it just became easier so kept doing it anyway.
     
  10. whatdoesthisdo

    whatdoesthisdo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10,531
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Yeah about 2 years. I waited just over 12 months from win 10 came out, which was 2015?

    My reasoning is
    a) I can't be fucked
    b) I don't notice any discernible slow down or issues from not.
    c) SSD's aren't like HDD
     
  11. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2018
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    Western Sydney
    I like to reformat once a year. Heavy use, they get slower over time.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14,801
    How heavy is heavy?




    No they're not, but my original point was it helps to keep things organised. Basically, cleans up any unwanted files etc you've accumulated. I download quite a bit, so dealing with all that shit is a pain in the ass.

    But mostly, it helps me keep track of other files and programs that I no longer use. IE if I have a heap of games installed I never play, they get removed.
     
  13. Wozzernux

    Wozzernux Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    869
    Location:
    Here in the black
    Original Install Date: 15/12/2011, 8:20:38 AM

    I remember having to upgrade from WinXP 64bit to Win7 64bit to play Battlefield 3 :thumbup:
     
  14. OP
    OP
    Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14,801
    How do you even find that info??? :D

    That's pretty grosse though! Still on XP when Win7 was out? I switched to Win7 as soon as I could.

    I think that was 2009?
     
  15. BurningFeetMan

    BurningFeetMan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Location:
    A Place of Tubers
    My main gaming system still has the original Win7 2011 image on it, going strong! I've cloned it across to an SSD at one point too. My 9 year old laptop shipped with a wonky HDD that unfortunately nuked the Windows image, so that got replaced with an SSD after about 2 years, but it's now about 6 years old.

    My media PC however, it has AMD hardware from 2008 and it BSOD's usually weekly, although sometimes switches between working well periods... I've never been able to figure it out after many formats. I've gone through periods of troubleshooting and put it down to flaky hardware working with flaky drivers working with flaky modern software. Hmm, in thinking, I might load WinX on it to see if it behaves, however then I lose Windows Media Center. :(
     
  16. whatdoesthisdo

    whatdoesthisdo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    10,531
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I organise as things go in. Download what?
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14,801

    Things and stuff ;)
     
  18. Wozzernux

    Wozzernux Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    869
    Location:
    Here in the black
    systeminfo in command prompt tells you everything about your OS install.

    Started running 8GB RAM around 2008 so had to install WinXP 64bit to support it. Uses the Server 2003 kernel so it's not really XP under the hood :p

    Now that I think about it more, this Win7 install has been through 3 separate hardware platforms. 775/P45, 1155/Z77 and now 2011/X79.

    Keep applications on a separate drive, don't clutter your OS with unnecessary bullshit and do clean driver installs. Win7 just keeps on going as snappy as the day it was installed.

    I don't need Win10 yet for gaming, but I've been trialling Win10 LTSB that has no Cortana, app store or any other bullshit that bogs down the OS.
     
  19. ArmoureD

    ArmoureD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    849
    Location:
    Earth
    Last fresh install was 2013. Upgraded to win 10 and didnt format. Pc runs as fast as it did years ago. I can't be bothered reinstalling all my shit so meh.
     
  20. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2018
    Messages:
    677
    Location:
    Western Sydney
    I am on staff at another Tech site, which has a " Recommended Software" Forum for our Members.
    This was all software categories.Did nothing but download dozens of software programs and test.
    Left a lot of junk on the Registry, and reformatting again with a clean Registry, I found improved the speed again. Do what ever rocks your boat.
     
    Madengineer likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: