How old is your current Intel PC platform?

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Utetopia, May 26, 2017.

  1. islade

    islade Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Gold Coast, QLD
    I got mine in early 2014, I love it! Why did you get one now instead of getting an iMac Pro?
     
  2. Hater

    Hater Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,485
    Location:
    Canberra
    warranty replacement
     
  3. Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14,474
    Running the same 4690 I've had for a few years now... But I've got an upgrade coming...
     
  4. Elyzion

    Elyzion Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,449
    Location:
    Singapore
    Any plans or idea's of what you will upgrade to?

    I'm leaning towards AMD Ryzen 7 3700 (AU$400) or Ryzen 5 3600 (AU$240), unless there's something good coming from Intel?!? I've never used AMD ever...
     
  5. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19,153
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    it's worth a look.
     
  6. Madengineer

    Madengineer Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14,474
    I’m thinking of going all out, as I haven’t in a long time, and because of work I can get it subsidised. But yeah I’m thinking amd. My very first home build pc was a little old 955BE. God it was glorious. Overclocked like a trooper!

    Thinking of something at least 6 core. Intels offering for that are expensive though.
     
  7. Elyzion

    Elyzion Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,449
    Location:
    Singapore
    My 4690 has done me well, even for gaming, but doing stuff at home with docker or spinning up linux while in windows, or windows while in linux, for doing work stuff, 4 cores aint cutting it anymore. Often want to leave VM's running.

    I went:

    Commadore 64 > Amega 500 > HP P2 400mhz / 64mb ram.

    Then I started building my own computers, first was P4 Northwood 1.8gighz back in 2003, then I joined OCAU in 2004 and learned about overclocking. Next up was Pentium D 820ES I bought off chainbot, I sent money in an envelope to Japan. That thing lasted me FOREVER!
     
    Madengineer likes this.
  8. Apex1299

    Apex1299 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Almost embarrassed to say, but I built mine way back in '09 with a core i7 920. Asus Rampage II Extreme and 12gb Corsair XMS ram. Highlight of the rig was a Sapphire Radeon HD 5970....fondly remember being in awe of that card when I unboxed it. Managed to find another much later for some Crossfire action but since upgraded to 780Ti's in SLI and a new AX1600 PSU.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2019
    adamsleath likes this.
  9. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19,153
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    still rockin a rampage phew!
     
    Apex1299 likes this.
  10. dr_deathy

    dr_deathy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,830
    I have a 920, its on testing duties now but she def has more MHz in her man, at least 4GHz.
     
    Apex1299 likes this.
  11. Apex1299

    Apex1299 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    They OC like a champ, don't they? :D
     
  12. Punch Bunny

    Punch Bunny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,579
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I regularly use a first generation MacBook Pro (albeit just to SSH into Linux hosts), which is a Core Duo. It still runs fine as a terminal :) My "main" desktop PC is based around a 4770K, and I don't feel particularly compelled to upgrade it just yet. I stuck a 1080Ti in there a while back and it seems to get along OK for 1440p gaming.
     
  13. Mjollnir

    Mjollnir Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    6,295
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC3104
    Have a 2600K, 3570K, 4790K and 8550U.

    Apart from old motherboard only having PCI-E 2.0x2 M.2 (solved with PCI-E adapters), Z97 is still more than upto task and see no need to upgrade.
     
  14. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Still rocking x5650, does everything I ask for. I would love to upgrade to a modern platform but simply cannot justify it, especially after getting nvme working.
     
  15. Syvirus

    Syvirus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    573
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Been using the same stuff since 2011 lol...
    ASUS Maximus IV Gene Z
    Intel i5 2500
    Corsair 8GB DDR3

    Only thing ive upgraded over the years was an 500gm SSD and MSI 390. I think its finally time to upgrade....Division 2 is just around the corner!
     
  16. Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin

    a GPU is likely all you need.

    Not worth the cash outlay for new CPU + motherboard + ram, just add in SSD's over time for storage haha.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Utetopia

    Utetopia Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,770
    Location:
    BNE/TWMBA
    I agree. It's those current gen CPU reviews putting the 2 & 3 i5 series to shame at 1080. They look so damn slow by comparison. Keep reminding yourselves that unless you're gaming online with current gen CPUs that truly improve the playability, you're just throwing precious money against the wall.
     
  18. Syvirus

    Syvirus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    573
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I havent followed the PC world for about 5years i would have thought by now they would have had much better gear out by now, but your right after looking up some stuff there isnt much of an improvement yet.....I think im just gonna take your advice and upgrade my GFX card to maby a GTX1070Ti
     
  19. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,540
    If he's playing 1440p or 4k. At 1080p it's a pretty big difference
     
  20. Mathuisella

    Mathuisella Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    in your gearbox...grindin
    new decent cpu from intel
    $500
    https://www.umart.com.au/CPU-Processors_611C.html

    new motherboard to match
    $200
    https://www.umart.com.au/Motherboards_104C.html

    memory
    $200
    https://www.umart.com.au/Memory--RA...ax=&filter=0&filter_attr=0.2379.0.0&mystock=0

    just going the middle of the road for each part, but throwing down $700 to $1200 for a new motherboard, cpu and ram. I would just buy a graphics car towards the higher end for the same money and you're getting a new gpu any ways from the 390 ?


    a 2070
    2nd hand 1080ti
    or a 2080

    https://www.umart.com.au/Gigabyte-GeForce-RTX-2070-Aorus-Xtreme-8GB-GDDR6-Graphics-Card_48280G.html
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: