How old is your current Intel PC platform?

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Utetopia, May 26, 2017.

  1. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,974
    Not disputing platform upgrade will cost, but he IS on a what 6 year old platform and he WILL get good improvements at 1080p. Even at 1440p or up the frame time consistency and minimums will improve a lot.

    I'm not getting into a bang for buck debate just stating that to pretend there won't be pretty noticeable gains is not true
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2019
  2. Roger

    Roger Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,048
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Still rocking an i5 3570k which has never been above stock, had heat problems until recently when I added a bunch of extra fans to my case (and moved it out of one of those stupid tower case spots many desks have)

    Running on:
    ASrock Z77 Extreme4
    16gb DDR3
    AMD RX480 8gb

    Been debating whether to do an upgrade to a more recent CPU seeing I have had this one since August 2012 but its such a pain to have to replace nearly the whole thing, lol, Video card is HDD is about all I could keep, PSU is a Corsair HX620 which is god knows how old now, lol.

    Would I likely see much of an improvement going to a current gen i5 or one of the 2000 series Ryzens?
     
  3. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,209
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    x299 Evga Dark + 9940x + Galax Hof Lab 4000

    Bored already & want something faster :rolleyes:
     
  4. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,974
    Yes, but is it going to be 1k's worth or are you better off buying a RTX2080?
    Plenty of benches around for you to decide (Ivy vs Coffee Lake / CFR) at your res and game.

    OTOH you will need a platform upgrade at some stage.

    Either way I'd wait until Ryzen 3000 surely.
     
  5. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Location:
    Frankston
    Currently running Intel Core i5-4460, 16GB of Ram and RX 580, runs Doom and Path of Exile great @ 1600 x 1200 but think of swapping some spare parts around that i have lying around.

    I have lying around 2 x i7-3770 and 1 x i7-2700k and undecided which would be the best
     
  6. Roger

    Roger Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,048
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    That was what I had been thinking, seemed silly to spend so much especially since my current PC does most of what I want it to do anyway, I play at 1080p and about the only game I have seen so far really make me consider if I need an upgrade was AC Odyssey (the PC was extremely sluggish if I had to alt tab out for any reason)

    Since I fixed my cooling issues I decided to jump into the OC settings, change the multiplier to 42 and the temperature didn't even go noticeably higher, I can definitely wait until the 3000s coming out before deciding anything and even then, getting a second hand 1080 or something like that would probably be a more cost effective upgrade for now.
     
  7. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,974
    Honestly? You're better picking up a nice 1440p or ultrawide w/ Gsync or Freesync + 100hz+.

    You'll need the legroom to make any better GPU worth it, regardless of your underlying CPU/mobo/RAM.

    In the meantime, just turn your settings down to medium, ~50FPS is OK anyway with Gsync or Freesync IMO. Source: GTX1060 owner, runs 1440p @ 144hz w/ Gsync and I have to turn it down to medium to stay above 60FPS lol. The horror
     
  8. ledhead900

    ledhead900 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Australia, TAS
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2019
  9. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,555
    I thought you had a pair of rx480s..
    Inoresume the one from ebay worked fine.


     
  10. ledhead900

    ledhead900 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Australia, TAS
    o_O correcting my post, I must of hit 7 instead of 8 by mistake, yea man the Ebay one came and is working fine have fired it up in a couple of Xfire situations but games which run on Xfire are no that many that I have installed currently.
    I mainly wanted to test out some Vulkan code with it, as Vulkan is a pretty open API if not an underused API, I have been running some tests using the second GPU as a compute unit and offloading CPU threads to GPU #2 in a test game second GPU handles AI neural learning for the bots, something which doing on a CPU would crush game performance. I ran another test making use of unused feature of the API and game devs who use Vulkan seem to not bother to implement even tho it a matter of a line of code to tell the API to enable that feature which is the shared VRAM in multi-GPU machines in which Vulkan can rebind the VRAM of both cards into a single pool so in my case 16GB of VRAM across two 8GB GDDR5 cards then gets seen as a single pool of 16GB VRAM, it will not use the cores of the other card only the memory (simply it is like the second AMD GPU is acting like a stick of VRAM over PCI-E lane)

    Crossfire is harder to get working as Vulkan does not scale automatically, however, if one did choose to program correctly the API can scale quite better and quite well in software coded with multi-GPU in mind a lot faster than what DirectX scaling will do without micro stuttering but I have not written anything for testing that yet.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2019
  11. Munki

    Munki Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,597
    Location:
    Sydney
    Still rocking an i7 2600K and a GTX 970.

    Once I get NBN and I can finally install updates for all the games, I might be able to tell if I need to upgrade or not.
     
  12. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    Upgrading the wife's PC from an i7 2600 and h61 mobo
    To . . .
    I7 3770s and a h77 wifi board wool mostly doing it for the ram jump and better board!
     
  13. chainbolt

    chainbolt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    105,341
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Good 2 years now for my desktop system. I am waiting for Ice Lake / Sunny Cove for the next major upgrade of CPU + Mobo. Should be around for desktops at the end of this year.
     
    ayles likes this.
  14. ledhead900

    ledhead900 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Australia, TAS
    Oh gosh even TAS has NBN now, I feel bad for you mate.
     
  15. nibennett

    nibennett Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    Adelaide
    My CPU is a little over 4years old at this point.

    i7 5820K,
    X99 motherboard
    32GB Ram
    512GB Samsung 950 Pro NVME M2
    250GB Sata SSD scratch drive for Creative Suite / 3D modelling projects that working on currently
    About 12TB of Mechanical storage
    Recently added a RTX 2070 to upgrade my GTX760
     
  16. Munki

    Munki Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,597
    Location:
    Sydney
    Mate I've been living with 3Mbit internet for 9 years… I've experienced hell.
     
  17. WooKiE_MaN

    WooKiE_MaN Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,012
    Location:
    Craigieburn
    Still rocking 58, all my computers running xeons with a minimum of 12gb memory, SSD etc.

    I personally can’t seem to let go of x58 as they preform very good and don’t see a beneficial to upgrade.

    I have a 1155 system i7 2600 systen with 32gb mem and a r9 270x for a guests PC which runs quite good.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2019
    flu!d likes this.
  18. Nitephyre

    Nitephyre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481
    Location:
    ormeau@gc.qld.au
    Time for an update... NOT!

    Still running sigrig :)
     
  19. ledhead900

    ledhead900 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    Australia, TAS
    Everyone in this thread, a moment of silence for Munki
     
    zeggie likes this.
  20. Munki

    Munki Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,597
    Location:
    Sydney
    Think about all those Linux distros I could've downloaded...
     
    zeggie and ledhead900 like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: