How old is your current Intel PC platform?

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Utetopia, May 26, 2017.

  1. TheOneWhoIsMany

    TheOneWhoIsMany Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    451
    Early 2011 for mine.

    - Asus Rampage III Gene
    - Upgrade to 48 GB ram in the last 12 months.
    - Started off with a Core i7 960 now running a Xeon X5670
    - First video card it had was a HD 6970, its subsequently had a GTX 970 * GTX 1070.
     
  2. PsychoticOrc

    PsychoticOrc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Sunbury
    My go to pc is a dell sff machine running an i7 2600 16 gb ram and a 1050ti, runs just fine with a 4k telly hand me down :) that said the most strenuous games it's had to run are universe simulator 2 and football manager 2016. I'll probably upgrade to another sff pc and just take the ram/ssd/gpu to the new one
     
  3. TaXy DriVar

    TaXy DriVar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Dural
    Ivy Bridge here - 3570K @ 4.2GHz
    8GB RAM
    Nvidia 970
    3 x 500GB in RAID 0
    2 x 120GB SSD in RAID 0
    1 x 500GB SSD
    Acer Predator x34

    Server is
    Ivy Bridge 3470 @ 3.6
    32GB RAM
    Nivida 570
    RocketRaid 2720
    4 x 4TB in RAID 5
    2 x 74GB Raptor
    1 x 2TB


    Waiting for Coffee Lake and Volta. Will then turn my current Games 3570k into UnRAID server and migrate disks over and probably sell off left over server cpu etc.
     
  4. Straylight

    Straylight Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    200
    This is almost exactly my situation. I7 920 in a skulltrail system from 2009, triple channel memory 12G. Threw in an SSD about 3 years ago, then an 1080. Still runs everything I can throw at it. It has only started misbehaving when I try to turn it on every now and then, failing to post initially, then automatically rebooting, posting and loading up windows the second time.

    Has been overclocked to 3.9G its whole life.

    Only reason to upgrade would be the lower energy consumption with the newer systems.
     
  5. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,327
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Skulltrail was socket 771 core 2 quad era?
     
  6. Straylight

    Straylight Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    200
    My mistake. It is a Nehalem architecture, in a board with x58 express (Tylersburg)
     
  7. rickbishop

    rickbishop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,437
    Location:
    Petrie, QLD
    9 years.

    Q6600 with 4gb of ddr2. Only change in that time has been making the boot drive a SSD, and I swapped out the GT9600 for a HD7700 from a I3 system I bought here.

    The only games I play are the half life/portal series and C&C stuff, but I can do it all with everything turned on at 1920x1080 60hz.

    Not sure what I'll be going to next. 4k60 is where I'm looking to be in about 12 months time, but if there's no HL3 then there's no rush for me.
     
  8. Rod911

    Rod911 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    Melbourne
    See signature. I think I've had the system since 2011. The only upgrades done to it are:
    - SSD (getting long in the tooth, might need replacing as its health is "73%")
    - GTX670 from a GTX260
    - added another 4GB of RAM (2*2GB sticks), originally it was 8GB (2*4GB sticks)

    As I don't game any more, I don't really see myself upgrading anything in it. If I do get anything new, it'll probably be a 3700K, but it needs to a pretty good overclocker. My one still does 4.8Ghz with ease. At the moment, I have dialled down the overclock to 4.2Ghz I think, or even at 4.0Ghz, not sure (at work ATM).
     
  9. rhodes_96

    rhodes_96 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Recently brought this old girl back to life.

    x58 ud3r motherboard from 2011

    Upgraded to i7 990x @ 4.8ghz $100
    Using 24mb of kingston eco ram. This ram runs better and less voltge than my original hyper x, and super stable on my overclock
    2 x samsumg ssd from 3 years ago.
    Added a corsair H115i. Given to me as ex demo from frend
    Added a1080ti, from my current 7700k system.
    Then had to dump my 1000w OCZ power supply due to causing system coil whine. Replaced with 750w thermaltake grande. Coil whine from Gpu and system gone and I very happy with my system.

    I7 990x is still a beast for a 7 year old cpu, can keep up with a 7700k no problems, and overtake in others.

    Classic system never to be sold.
     
  10. lennie

    lennie Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    967
    Location:
    Mary Valley
    I'm still using an 860 also. Sits on 3.3ghz usually. Can go to 3.8 at a pinch. Had a couple diff ssd's.

    Now using a gtx 1060 on it. When I got that I put it all into a fractal define C.

    Runs everything just fine. Don't see a reason to retire it anytime soon. Only thing I would like is to be able to run the Ssd at full pace. But really fast vs really really fast is still ok.

    Probably the best value system I've ever had.
     
  11. Skramit

    Skramit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,298
    Location:
    Melbourne
    2600k from 2011 :)
     
  12. htpcfan

    htpcfan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    I'm still using the i5-2500K and Gigabyte motherboard I bought in 2011.. however RAM was upgraded from 4GB to 16GB, SSD added, GPUs replaced almost every year from ATI HD4800 series to GTX 1060 currently.

    System has never been overclocked, still have that headroom but all the games I play run at 1080p at max settings at 60+ FPS anyways, so don't see the point.

    GTX 1060 is awesome for GPU encoding video in x264 and x265 formats.
     
  13. MaximusSmurf

    MaximusSmurf Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    841
    Location:
    Melbourne
    4690k here, so only 2 years old. But only sold my trusty 2600k at the time as I wanted to move to an ITX form factor and used ITX board in that socket / chipset were very hard to come by and expensive.

    Have not been a fan of the 5-10% improvements coming with every iteration. I miss the good ol days of massive tech and performance gains with newer generations.
     
  14. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,327
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not so much with CPU's nowadays but we get healthy performance gains with each generational release of graphics cards, especially from team green.
     
  15. bergerac

    bergerac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    471
    Location:
    Perth
    Ive only just upgraded from an i7 2600.. didnt really need to but Ive got a thing for low TDP cpu's and a i7 4765T came up on the forums.

    Running a Xeon 1240L v3 in the server, can see myself upgrading either system until something fails, just don't really tinker anymore
     
  16. Pemalite

    Pemalite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    702
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, SA
    3930K from around 2012. It's only now where I have been thinking of upgrading, just can't justify spending $1,500 on new CPU, board and Ram to move to LGA2066.

    Still got the old Core 2 Quad rig from something like 2009 that is still humming along fine, even plays Overwatch great, dropping in an SSD really made a difference to it's general usability.
     
  17. SpicEwEazle

    SpicEwEazle Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    3,675
    Location:
    Perth
    3570K bought second hand ~ 3 years ago.

    3570K were released in June of 2012 so it would be 5 year old. I'll be looking at my first new cpu, since April 2011, when I move to a 7600K system later this year.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2017
  18. cheddo7

    cheddo7 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    471
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Shed/mancave server/gaming/VR rig 2600k/1070.
    HTPC couch gaming 2600k/1060.
    Office gaming/VR 3770k @ 4.2/1080.

    No real need to upgrade anything really, did the GPU's on all three rigs over the last 12 months to keep up with my HTC Vive, only OC'd the office gaming rig as the other two just don't really need it!
     
  19. Raptor_Eye

    Raptor_Eye Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,347
    Location:
    Bathurst NSW
    Still have a 3770K, over clocked it about 1 year ago to 4.2ghz, then pushed it again to 4.5ghz when I got my RX480 8GB, still good for High details @ 1440p in most games, at least the ones I play.

    Still the same 16GB Ram kit, have upgraded the SSD and added more hard drives.
     
  20. elephantman

    elephantman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    2111
    2600k @ 4.5ghz currently, Maximus IV Gene-Z and 980
    It was a good clocker initially and I ran it at 4.8 but it has degraded over the years and now can only do 4.5 with the same voltage.

    Can't believe it's been over 6 years!
    I think I've had 3 or 4 different vidya's in this rig over that time.

    Will probably get an AMD cpu when the time comes to upgrade.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: