How old is your modem?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by benjagan91, Jan 13, 2011.

?

How old is your modem?

  1. Under 1yr old

    46 vote(s)
    20.4%
  2. 1-2yrs old

    40 vote(s)
    17.7%
  3. 2-3yrs old

    40 vote(s)
    17.7%
  4. 3-4yrs old

    43 vote(s)
    19.0%
  5. 5yrs+ old

    57 vote(s)
    25.2%
  1. avachat

    avachat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    407
    Location:
    Penrith area
    I'm currently using a Linksys AG 300 on ADSL 2+, (approx 8 months old)It's giving me the best connection speed compared to other modems i've had apprx 2.5k by wire from the DSLAM and sync at 15 to 15.5 M/bt..Best sync with various D-Link modems was low 14M/bt and Netcomm NB-6 was high 13M/bt...
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011
  2. goodlet

    goodlet Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,695
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Using a Netgear DG834 which I've had since 2004. :) Hacked to hell and back running stock now. Always been nice to me.
     
  3. Davo1111

    Davo1111 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,018
    Location:
    Sydney
    we have one of those unwired modems... (ok not a true modem i know)

    We got it when they first came to syd.... 05? 04? ...
     
  4. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,257
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    04 I have one of those aswell.. want a spare??
     
  5. Davo1111

    Davo1111 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,018
    Location:
    Sydney
    ahh thanks anyway pugs. I should be right at this stage.

    BTW, as they dont have a sim, i think they're technically attached to the account. i spose there is a transfer though
     
  6. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,257
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    rang them up and my account has been long dead so would be easy to activate once more
     
  7. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,634
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I have an old SpeedTouch USB (aka Stingray) here somewhere that works fine.

    perhaps unsurprisingly it is not my normal modem.
     
  8. g12345567

    g12345567 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    711
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Got one of those as a spare. Paid around $195. Still have invoice in box. Does upgraded to ADSL2+ but doesn't give as good a connection speed to my ADSL2+ connection as the current Netcomm NB6+4W v1 modem I am currently using.

    8200k vs 9000k
     
  9. Zardoz

    Zardoz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,166
    Location:
    Melbourne
    These modems were da bomb! The V.everything model was firmware upgradable from V.FC (pre-standard 28.8k) all the way to V.90. No V.92 but still, impressive for the technology at the time. Props to the nice non-AUSTEL approved HST which BBS operators would quite happily advertise on the BBS registry.... ahh fun times :)

    And goddamnit, I miss the BBS days and now I'm getting all nostalgic and stuff.

    Retired my Optus CM100 (May 2000 vintage) when Optus sent me an SB5101. Replaced with the DPQ3212 as part of the premium speed trial I was on. Bought the Cisco 2851 in November 2007 which has done me over three years of solid service and recently upgraded the DSL card to the ADSL2+ Annex-M variety.
     
  10. Primüs

    Primüs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,394
    Location:
    CFS
    I run an iConnect 612 in bridged mode into a Cisco 851W. The iConnect can train a line fairly well (Gets me a 21mbit sync on a good day), and the Cisco, well it just has better routing capabilities then the shitty little iConnect, hence why i only use it in bridge mode :).

    I would like to, in the near future, update to a Cisco 1700 series, with ADSL2+ WIC, so it's forward capable of NBN with the right WIC, when the time comes.
     
  11. rade

    rade Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    344
    I have a couple of 1700s and someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm not sure they'd have the grunt to route a solid 100mbit even with the right WICs.
     
  12. FarZK

    FarZK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    909
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Up until recently I was still using my first modem that I got back in 2003ish, a Speedtouch 530. It started dying every hour a few weeks ago so I had to chuck it and replace it with my Wireless AP, some TP Link thingamajig. Soon grabbing a Billion 7800N, new toys:leet:
     
  13. Zardoz

    Zardoz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,166
    Location:
    Melbourne
    They will only support the WIC-1ADSL, not the HWIC for ADSL2+ support. And yes, they're pretty lacking in guts, especially for lots of traffic flows.

    You really want to start with an 880 series or 1800 series for a decent level of performance.
     
  14. infiltraitor

    infiltraitor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,801
    Location:
    melbourne Donated:$133.70
    running the current single port cable modem from telstra.
    got it replaced late last year after a plan change.

    its a Motorola. black. single RJ45 port. single coax/bnc/whatever port.
     
  15. maddhatter

    maddhatter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,798
    Location:
    Mackay, QLD.
    My Cisco 837 Chassis number seems to indicate a build date of September 2006.

    Nearly 5 years old and still going strong (with the exception of he blown ethernet port; which was taken out by a lightning strike in the area :/)
     
  16. mjunek

    mjunek Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    907
    Location:
    Western Sydney
    Not to mention that most of the 1700 series only have one FastEthernet port, and you can only add the WIC-1ENET cards for 10Mbit, rather than a HWIC-1FE :)
     
  17. Holdenkicks

    Holdenkicks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    875
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Billion 7402gl here... Bought in late 06, still going strong on adsl 2+ and i'm very pleased with it :) must have been one of the first gen adsl2 + modems. Would buy billion brand again :)
     
  18. Holdenkicks

    Holdenkicks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    875
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Billion 7402gl running adsl 2 plus here. Bought late 06, very happy with it!
     
  19. Grizbear

    Grizbear Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Netcomm NB9W still working after a couple of relocations. Last house would connect at almost 20Mbps but new house is supposedly second last in the line from the exchange and cant even manage 10Mbps - but what can you do, the house isnt about to move!
     
  20. Goobers

    Goobers Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,484
    Location:
    Sutherland Shire, NSW
    got new one few weeks back, replaced another which we only had a few months, and that replaced another that we had before that, overall, 3 in 14 months.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: