How to do this in word or? (creating custom checklist)

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Pengoz, May 20, 2017.

1. Pengoz

Pengoz Member

Hi

I'm trying to help a friend with an computer task of theirs, unsure how to do it myself...

They have a list of 600 or so items they wish to create a master checklist out of, then via checkboxes based on what is checked a custom list is produced.

I am a beginner with word and excel, maybe could say at best intermediate...

Unsure how you'd do this with word, can't seem to find an application that could do this either (its a pretty specific task i know).

Other than doing this in excel and maybe creating a filtered list via checkboxes and if statements (e.g. if cell a1 is checked then show value in cell a2)...then can print it off to pdf or hardcopy (the filtered results).

Not expecting any or many replies this is a tricky one?

I'll play with excel later, but thought I'd ask here.

Martyn

2. broccoli

broccoli Member

Is this something they just want to achieve onece, or they will be doing it regularly? If it's a home/one-off not-that-important, in word you could do it by adding a column to the table of info, using a letter to identify the selected items, then sort. It'll bring all the checked items together.

3. Bold Eagle

Bold Eagle Member

Word should be viewed as a writing program for presenting and reporting or articulating information.

For 'lists', DATA Tables, numbers, etc, etc, I would be using Excel especially when you have 600+ items - Word will be clunky and cumbersome to manage this sort of DATA table, spilling across multiple pages, etc. A bit of effort now to get the DATA into Excel will save a lot of frustration and grief later if you try and manage that sort of DATA table (list of 600 items) in Word.

When you have the DATA in Excel you then use the 'Sort and Filter' function to select what you want to output (display, print, plot, graph, etc) from your list.