1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

How to mod 3 cell battery to 6 cell?

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by Lem0n, Jan 30, 2012.

1. Lem0n

Lem0n Member

I recently bought a 9 cell battery for my netbook, but now find it too bulky and inconvenient.

I would like to know if it is possible to open up the 3 and 9 cell packs and convert the 3 cell into a 6 cell. Will this be hard? I've got zero experience with anything like this.

Cheers.

2. kjparker

kjparker Member

I seriously doubt this is possible.

to state the obvious 3, 6, 9 cell batteries are the number of physical cells in there, meaning that to convert the 3 cell battery to 6 cell, would require you to add another 3 cells.

To do this would mean that you would have to have space inside the battery to add them, which I would seriously doubt!

3. Hive

Hive Member

It's easy to wire them up, just add cells in paralell

4. chrispychipS

chrispychipS Member

I don't think it'd be worth your time, and as a WARNING Lithium batteries can be EXPLOSIVE.

Answer: Maybe.
    Only if you can find old/dead 3/6 cell battery compatible with your laptop for a cheap price/FREEE and prepared to lose the 9 cell battery in the event you fail.

5. EC MEISTER

EC MEISTER Member

6. dakiller

dakiller (Oscillating & Impeding)

7. AUST_DeVinE

AUST_DeVinE Member

could you sell your 9 cell on ebay for the same amount it would cost to buy a new 6 cell from ebay? or are you actually keen to do an experiment?

8. OP
    OP
    Lem0n

Lem0n Member