How to overclock screen refresh rate on nvidia?

Discussion in 'Other Operating Systems' started by blindy, Jul 29, 2020.

  1. blindy

    blindy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Currently using driver 440.100 on ubuntu 18.04 and i cannot see anything to do with refresh rate.

    I have 2 screens joined into a single screen according to nvidia settings, how can i change the refresh rate?

    upload_2020-7-29_11-12-4.png
     
  2. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,333
    Are they both identical screens? X11 treats dual screens as one single large screen, you can't run differing refresh rates between displays.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    blindy

    blindy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Yes they are identical
     
  4. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9,832
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    Menus

    Settings>Display

    display.png
     
  5. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,333
    Are you trying to run the screens at their rated refresh rate or are you trying to push a custom refresh rate?
     
    JSmithDTV likes this.
  6. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8,672
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
    I assume as flu!d mentioned you want to try custom refresh rates;

    [​IMG]

    https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/759/~/custom-resolutions


    JSmith
     
  7. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,333
  8. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8,672
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
    Whoops missed the Ubuntu reference!

    Generally when I have played with custom resolutions it's been via a custom res utility.



    JSmith
     
  9. Quadbox

    Quadbox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,517
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The oldschool way to do it's to create a new mode, stick it in your xorg config files, and then select that mode. It's a huge amount of fucking about I havent had to do in ages, but if you google "custom mode" you'll probably find a guide somewhere that still works
     
  10. OP
    OP
    blindy

    blindy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    custom refresh rates, overclock my refresh rates

    I gave it a shot but its beyond me, the guides are for single screen, i dont think its for dual screens merged into one.

    https://medium.com/@AbhiXpert/add-c...randr-on-ubuntu-18-04-in-a-minute-338caec6e29

    Code:
    user@game-pc-pc::~$ cvt 2560 1440 90
    # 2560x1440 89.92 Hz (CVT) hsync: 136.60 kHz; pclk: 483.00 MHz
    Modeline "2560x1440_90.00"  483.00  2560 2768 3048 3536  1440 1443 1448 1519 -hsync +vsyn
    user@game-pc-pc:~$ sudo xrandr --newmode "2560x1440_90.00"  483.00  2560 2768 3048 3536  1440 1443 1448 1519 -hsync +vsync
    user@game-pc-pc:~$ sudo xrandr --addmode DVI-D-0 "2560x1440_90.00"
    X Error of failed request:  BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)
      Major opcode of failed request:  140 (RANDR)
      Minor opcode of failed request:  18 (RRAddOutputMode)
      Serial number of failed request:  45
      Current serial number in output stream:  46
    user@game-pc-pc:~$
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2020
  11. Quadbox

    Quadbox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,517
    Location:
    Brisbane
    This is not the case at all, by the way. Wasnt even true back in the xinerama days, it's certainly not the case with xrandr.

    The only thing that acted this way I can recall was the really early nvidia-proprietry "twinview" mode
     
  12. Quadbox

    Quadbox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,517
    Location:
    Brisbane
    blindy give something like this a go. doing it through xrandr is certainly the current approach with xorg, I cant see anything the guy's said that shouldnt still work though the post is three years old. Run xrandr without any arguments first and it should be fairly clear which output is which (on this machine for example I have eDP-0, DP-1 and HDMI-0, with the first being wqhd, the latter two both 4k at 60Hz and 30Hz respectively at the moment. The naming convention mostly follows something like that)
     
  13. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,333
    I haven't used multiple monitors for about 18 months now, but I'm pretty sure the last time I used multiple monitors and Nvidia hardware Twinview was still utilized, resulting in a combined monitor resolution making it difficult to run differing refresh rates. I know you can't run Gsync on monitor 1 while running monitor 2 fixed at 60Hz.
     
  14. Quadbox

    Quadbox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,517
    Location:
    Brisbane
    That's only if you turn on twinview, which isn't the default. I run different modes side by side using the NVIDIA drivers
     
  15. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,333
    Fair enough, I haven't run dual monitors for a while so things may have changed.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: