How to take a city night shot?

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by [AOB]TommO, Oct 10, 2004.

1. [AOB]TommO

[AOB]TommO Member

Hi guys,

I did a search and didn't come across much info on this, maybe it's due to the new forum software, not sure....

I just purchased a Canon A85, and have the oppertunity to go up to the top of Chifley Tower tonight (44 floors up). I went up there last night as well, but none of my photos turned out that well... either too blurry (my fault totally), or too dark. Compared to a mates Digital SLR (which he took up), my shots are dissmal to say the least. I'm VERY new to photography, and would like some advice as to what settings I should use.

An example of last nights shots are:

MY CAMERA:

[​IMG]

HIS CAMERA:

[​IMG]

I took my photos on the Canon preset "Night Scene", but disabled the flash. Compared to the SLR, my photos seem too dark, and on the high res shot, it seems a little grainy.

I'm thinking of setting my camera up like the following to get a good night shot:
    - ISO speed: 400 (to get the most light in)
    - Shutter speed set to 2 seconds to let lots of light in
    - Aperature value: let the camera auto detect it
    - Compression levels to "normal".. not sure on this one, will the lower compression level mean that the photos turn out less grainy? I'll take the photos at 1600*1200.

Could anyone please advice me what they think of the above settings, or suggest a better combination?

2. Mred32

Mred32 Old and Decrepit

Several tips from a relative newbie.
    1) For night shots, use a tripod.
    2) Set ISO100 (or ISO50) for a clearer shot (less noise).
    3) Use a longer exposure. Try 10secs at f/8 or 30sec at f/16.
    4) Practise.

I'm sure others will have some other tips.
    This shot was 15sec at f/11. A tripod is a must for anything longer than 1/40sec.
    [​IMG]

Mred32

Last edited: Oct 10, 2004
  3. Gibbon

Gibbon grumpy old man