1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

HP Proliant Generation 8 Microserver Club

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by ktmrida, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. stiben

    stiben Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Messages:
    506
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The G8 does have an internal USB port, I'm booting ESXi 5.5 from that.

    When boot order is set to USB first, the BIOS has a second setting for whether to boot from internal or external USB.
     
  2. fido666

    fido666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    Melbourne
    OK thanks but is it a commonly available one?

    So I take it all the people with non-standard cards are running a hardware raid mode that the onboard doesn't support?

    Thanks for confirming. I have since located the online manuals which do show all the slots, etc.

    http://h20628.www2.hp.com/km-ext/kmcsdirect/emr_na-c03787037-4.pdf
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2015
  3. DaveQB

    DaveQB Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,695
    Location:
    Narellan, Sydney

    ebay? I was watching that. I had my mouse hovering over the buy button...
     
  4. Sarquiss

    Sarquiss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    573
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yup :p. I have another ML310e Gen8 server which I will be setting up as the primary ESXi server so not entirely sure what to do with the Microserver just yet..
     
  5. DaveQB

    DaveQB Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,695
    Location:
    Narellan, Sydney
    You could give it to me :thumbup: ;)
     
  6. fido666

    fido666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    Melbourne
    G8 Noob alert here :o

    I have just received my G8 1610T today and of course the first thing I did was rip off the cover to look at the innards. I can see the molex cable coiled up under the ODD bay but it appears to be plugged into another molex (splitter perhaps). Is there another or do I have to slot a piggy back plug between the 2 existing connections?

    I do know about the HP cable linked in the 1st post but looks like it's hard to source.

    Alternatively, will this floppy to SATA adapter work?
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SATA-15-...47?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item540f6001e7

    Actually, I think it needs to be this one but the postage is a killer :-
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4-pin-Fl...708?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item462850731c
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2015
  7. fido666

    fido666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I have searched and searched but am unable to locate a molex to SATA adapter that has a piggy back plug on the molex end. I've also searched for a floppy to SATA adapter but can only find ones with female ends, the G8 needs a male ended cable to connect to the supplied HP cable in the ODD bay. I did find some male ended ones on eBay but postage alone was nearly $20.

    Short of stumping up $20 odd dollars for the HP cable or an eBay sourced alternative does anyone have a local source at a reasonable price?
     
  8. DaveQB

    DaveQB Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,695
    Location:
    Narellan, Sydney
    I am pretty sure I bought from ebay for this and it wasn't that expensive. I'll have to check what I have when I get home.
     
  9. fido666

    fido666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    Melbourne
  10. fido666

    fido666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    Melbourne
  11. the_fuzz

    the_fuzz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,799
    Location:
    Sydney
    Just started setting mine up and there is alot of FUD out there,

    Can anyone confirm if you can use a SSD in the ODD slot as a OS boot drive whilst also having the other 4 drives working in AHCI mode?

    From what I can see you have to use the onboard raid controller if wanting to boot from the ODD?
     
  12. Tronador

    Tronador Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I just bought one as well, waiting for it to get delivered.

    I was going to run it was ESXi with pfsense and Xpenology.

    ...I used to have an account on here, not sure what happened to it :(
     
  13. JasonBM

    JasonBM Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Get the modded BIOS installed and you can do exactly that.
     
  14. screwball

    screwball Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    422
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I have finally setup mine at home after upgrading from the N54L

    Bought the G2020T Model with and put in 16GB of EEC Ram so it is a similar setup to the remote location servers we currently install for work.

    Anyone know what to do with multiple EEC 2GB Modules (HP branded?) I have quite a few now left over as we have around 10 of these unit out in the field.

    Anyway for my home setup at the moment

    ESXi 6.0 (HP ISO) on Flash Drive
    Sophos UTM (Home Edition)
    Windows 2012 R2
    Open Media Vault
    Windows 10

    Just installed that Windows 10 to see some of the features. It won't remain there very long.

    Absolutely love the iLO feature of these units now that it is built in compared to the N54L and ESXi ISO which is completely supported is fantastic

    Sophos works brilliantly on this unit as a software firewall and is great for blocking sites that you don't want your kids to be on regardless what device they use.

    Looking to maybe load a SSD in for the ESXi host caching however only reading up about it at the moment and not sure how much of a difference it would make to the system. Would like it if anyone has any feedback on improvements this might make.

    Very happy with my system so far.
     
  15. the_fuzz

    the_fuzz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,799
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks mate, Do you have a link - I have a G2020T and my googlefu is not functioning this morning....... :)
     
  16. JasonBM

    JasonBM Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Sorry scratch what I wrote, I thought this was the Gen 7 thread.
     
  17. Sektion8

    Sektion8 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    ...Still Searching...
  18. passivekid

    passivekid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Perth, WA
  19. fad

    fad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    City, Canberra, Australia
  20. Mudg3

    Mudg3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Brisbane

Share This Page

Advertisement: