HP Proliant Generation 8 Microserver Club

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by ktmrida, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. fR33z3

    fR33z3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    2,164
    Location:
    Perth
    yep. disable cores in the bios if you are really worried. That said, i'm pretty sure i have a 69w xeon in mine and it fairs just fine. Maybe see how you go before you start stressing.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    ktmrida

    ktmrida Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Australia
    loooking to move mine to unraid

    its a G1610T tho, and i want to run a windows VM inside unraid, From what i read, as my cpu is not vt-d it wont work? is this really the case?
     
  3. sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    Yup. Not virtualization support means no VM option in unraid
     
  4. adamos

    adamos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Wide Bay, QLD
    I'm running unRAID with a G1610T (as in my sig) and I've got Server 2012 R2 running just fine in a auto-starting VM within unRAID?
     
  5. sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    Oh.. Didn't show for me until i swapped the cpu.

    Actually, I was interested in hardware level handover - a VT-D specific feature.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2016
  6. Jazz

    Jazz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,785
    Location:
    4455
    Is anyone running a ML10V2 with XPenology? Want to make sure the boot from USB is a go.
     
  7. vk2fro

    vk2fro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    Erskineville
    I can boot my ml10V2 from a usb installed with freenas so I don't see why xpenology wouldn't work.
     
  8. Jazz

    Jazz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,785
    Location:
    4455
    Thanks, someone mentioned in the microserver thread it was a no go, so wanted to check.
     
  9. bergerac

    bergerac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    471
    Location:
    Perth
    Does anyone know if the 5th sata port for the ODD is running off the B120i or off the chipset sata controller? Just wondering if I can pass through the b120i in esxi and run a datastore ssd of the extra port.
     
  10. camx

    camx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Regional SA
    The 5th (ODD) port runs through the b120i as well, yep.
     
  11. bergerac

    bergerac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    471
    Location:
    Perth
    Thanks that saved me a lot of wasted time.
     
  12. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,501
    Location:
    Melbourne
  13. sjp770

    sjp770 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Location:
    Sticks, NSW
    I didn't upgrade the cooler but I have a xeon cpu in. I thing the cooler fits to the board in some weird way so be sure to double check that first.
     
  14. Treggs

    Treggs Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Looking to upgrade my Gen 7 to a Gen 8 and wondering about the iLo stuff. What features does the iLo licence enable and how does it compare to the capabilities on the RAC I have in my Gen 7? I use most of the features on the RAC.
     
  15. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,561
    Location:
    4109
    TBH, i havent used the iLo much since i got it. but, its got to be handy at some point in time ? darn boxen is so reliable i dont need to do anything to it :Paranoid:
     
  16. Treggs

    Treggs Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    I like the sound of that. My Gen 7 has been super reliable too but I do use the RAC for monitoring and mounting images etc.
     
  17. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,561
    Location:
    4109
    during the initial setup/screw around phase i used the iLo to push whs, etc iso's to the box. so much easier than having a screen and keyboard hooked up.
    I'm currently running XPenology baremetal, so the iLo doesnt see much use.
    but, there is a major upgrade around the corner that will require a 'lids off' to get access to the boot usb stick. I'm thinking/hoping that the iLo will let me push that image to the usb stick and just have it boot and run with little effing around :thumbup:

    edit - oh, and there's a firmware update available too that i'll definately be using iLo to push to it. just no hurry right now (again, reliable box aint broke, no need to fix)
     
  18. Treggs

    Treggs Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Cool appreciate the info. Cheapest I can find the licence is on ebay for $60ish as the previous link doesn't work anymore. Anywhere to get the iLo licence any cheaper?

    BTW, shoppingexpress has them on sale for $279 for the rest of today. Probably going to grab one and 16Gb of kingston ram. Total $437 if anyone needs some tax deductions :p

    If anyone is after a loaded Gen 7 keep an eye on the for sale section in a week or so.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2016
  19. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,561
    Location:
    4109
    There is a ebay seller that has iLo for $29, but not sure if any good/proper ??
    And warehouse1 has the G8 for the same money, so depends on where you are vs postage :thumbup:

    edit - 29 bucks here --> http://r.ebay.com/RW8Yk1 worth checking if correct lic ??/
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2016
  20. Treggs

    Treggs Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    :thumbup: How did I not find that when I searched? Shopping express doesn't seem to be charging for postage. Will check warehouse one deal with ram.

    Edit: Checked warehouse one and a 1610T with 16gb of the kingston ecc works out to within $2 at both places. (warehouse 1 are charging for delivery but the ram is more expensive at shopping express)
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2016

Share This Page

Advertisement: