HP Proliant Generation 8 Microserver Club

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by ktmrida, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,601
    Location:
    4109
    I guess it depends on how much you intend to max the cpu usage, but the stock heatsink is fine with my 1265.
     
  2. Kosti

    Kosti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    Sydney
    cool :D
    indeed I wouldn't mind a little more airflow and so those flower rounded type of coolers may be worth it, although don't want to introduce more fan noise and replacing the case fan seems not as simple due to 6 wire plug and rotor lock detection Delta Fan albeit there is a work around
     
  3. ipv6ready

    ipv6ready Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,760
    Location:
    North Sydney
    I guess this depends, but when I had one, I just took the facia off, and used double side tape to stick on a low rpm 200mm fan to the front.

    Enough holes and gaps to keep hdd cool and the cpu cool with standard cooler.
     
  4. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,601
    Location:
    4109
    good idea ipv6ready :thumbup:
    G8 great box for the price
     
  5. ipv6ready

    ipv6ready Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,760
    Location:
    North Sydney
    Yeah depends if it is stored away or proudly displayed. If in a viewer able area it might look to ghetto.

    One thing I would do is, buy some fine mesh and fix to 200mm fan to keep the dust out. I didn’t as I had mine in the broom closet and didn’t have much issue, but if in a dusty location it should help.

    As for the power I used a old 5v phone charger and $2 eBay USB to fan cable.

    Beside it doesn’t really need much airflow to move air through g8 and the 200mm fan created enough air flow to move air out of the closet when shut too.
     
  6. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,501
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I have the Noctua NH-9i in mine

    It does require a bit of modding, but works well
     
  7. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,067
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
  8. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,501
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah I want to use it, but getting the data off the server while everyone wants to use it is being a problem :)

    I need to buy some spare storage so I can copy everything off
     
  9. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,501
    Location:
    Melbourne
    For those with OpenMediaVault installed, are you running it off a SD or HDD ?
     
  10. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,067
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    I run it off a 30gb SSD.
     
  11. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,501
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ok, Im currently running my ESXi image off the SD, so I was thinking I might do the same for the OMV
     
  12. Tronador

    Tronador Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Does OMV run alright in virtualisation? I thought I read something that said it can cause issues
     
  13. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,501
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Thats one of the reasons I was going to move to running it off hardware

    I did setup a test machine running it in a VM, and it seems to work ok, but to get the most out of the hardware intergration I figured better to do a baremetal install
     
  14. Nasha

    Nasha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    SE Suburbs Vic
    Howdy Gen8'rs - I'm after a Gen8 PSU, does anyone have one available per chance?
     
  15. rkaid

    rkaid Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    PicoPSU :)
     
    Mace likes this.
  16. Nasha

    Nasha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    SE Suburbs Vic
    I'd need a 20A 12v Power Pack which are big, bulky and ugly lol

    EDIT: Ok 20A was over compensating... If i could be certain of the startup draw of each of my drives, i'd probably go that route. I have a Pico here somewhere, but i wouldn't buy one new, $75! Buy a Flex PSU for the cost of setting up Pico
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2018
    Mace likes this.
  17. Mace

    Mace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Canberra
    I've got a spare Pico PSU and ??amp 12v power pack as spare too.
    I've never tested it, I'll check it out next weekend and let you know the Amps of the power pack, and my specs so you can be confident of what you need.
     
  18. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,501
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hey Everyone,

    I thought I would put this here and see if anyone had some good ideas

    I currently have a Gen8 running ESXi

    I have gotten a couple of new machines which im planning to setup as an ESX Cluster, and use the Gen8 as a NAS

    The issue I have is how to transfer the data that is currently on the Gen8, without buying 10Tb of disk :)
     
  19. cyanpixie

    cyanpixie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Albany Creek, Brisbane
    I was doing a similar thing - I built a new NAS and wanted to transfer the data off the GEN8 and use those disks in my NAS. I went through all my drawers and found every disk I could find and built a temporary XPEnology server using SHR and combining them all into enough space to copy the data off. Once the data is copied off, I moved my disks into the new NAS and popped my Gen8 into the farm. Perhaps you could use one of your new ESXi servers as a temp XPenology server?
     
  20. Nasha

    Nasha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    SE Suburbs Vic
    Storage vMotion?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: