HP Proliant Generation 8 Microserver Club

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by ktmrida, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. VYAcclaim

    VYAcclaim Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    South Australia
    How did you power the fan? I assume you stole power from ODD?
     
  2. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,495
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I've actually just sold my Gen8 so can't check, but from memory I added a splitter to the fan header from the motherboard
     
    Mace likes this.
  3. KrisT

    KrisT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,614
    Location:
    Kangaroo Point, Brisbane
    Does anyone happen to know if there is a fix for losing the volume/disk info after a power loss?
     
  4. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    12,742
    Location:
    Canberra
    I got a HP microserver N36? (maybe?) I need to prepare to sell.. whats easiest way to work out the specs? Guess boot it up and check out bios. Issue is I dont have a VGA monitor grr.

    I was running 4 x 3 TB HDD with xpenology, just zeroing disks now.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2020
  5. Mace

    Mace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Canberra
    The specs are easily known by searching online, and you can take the lid off to find out how much RAM you have in your machine.

    If you are still stuck, I'm in Canberra with a VGA monitor.
     
    MUTMAN and walker_2003 like this.
  6. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    12,742
    Location:
    Canberra
    Thx I bought a converter box from ebay as im sure ill need VGA to HDMI again at some stage with my business, grr shouldnt have got rid of old spare monitor it had VGA/DVI/HDMI.

    If that doesnt work I might hit you up.
     
  7. chipp555

    chipp555 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Hi al, I have. A brand new unused N54L, yep brand new. I was wondering if anyone has a link to the modded firmware allowing the HD in the ODD bay, I am planning on running another Xpenology machine as I have a G8 micro as well
     
  8. Mace

    Mace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Canberra
  9. chipp555

    chipp555 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16
  10. sjaeger172004

    sjaeger172004 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    932
    Location:
    Sydney
    Just wondering if anyone has a spare n40l key

    Thanks
     
  11. Kosti

    Kosti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thought it maybe more relevant for Gen8 thread, I always get the wrong thread

    I've posted my transplant of my gen8 into another case due to reasons I will not go into here, but given its Gen8 specific it should've went in here LOL

    LINK

    I've also added a list of HP packs I've installed in the Gen8 to get this up to the latest firmware/bios updates

    P03093_001_spp-Gen8.1-SPPGen81.4
    P09835_001_spp-2018.09.0-SPP2018090.2018_0914.32
    P11740_001_spp-2018.11.0-SPP2018110.2018_1114.38
    P14481_001_spp-2019.03.0-SPP2019030.2019_0206.85
    P19089_001_spp-2019.03.1-SPP2019031.2019_0425.6
    P19473_001_spp-2019.09.0-SPP2019090.2019-0905.39

    BIOS System ROMPaq Firmware Upgrade 20190404

    iLO4 Ver2.70

    However make sure you double check the above are correct as I think at one point I pushed some Gen9 stuff into it and caused some weird boots

    Warning - Add these at your own risk, read and double check

    I'm planing an UNRAID build with this new setup, so if you are an unraid gun, please chime into the thread HERE

    Kosti
     
  12. yaboo

    yaboo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hi All

    Bit late to the party, recently got given a gen 8 microserver with a celeron cpu. Which ram would people recommend, or does anyone have any ram for sale please. Where could I get bios upgrade etc. Just got ubuntu 20.04 installed with a 500gb hdd in the cdrom bay and 3x3tb hdd in the drive bays.
     
  13. Turbine

    Turbine Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    WA
    You'll be wanting DDR3, non-registered, ECC ram. Registered RAM will cause a boot loop.
    Post to the 'Wanted to Buy' forum thread and someone might hook you up.
    I used this post to google a specific ramkit product code and found a reasonable priced 8gb kit.

    Also keep an eye out on eBay for a Intel Xeon E3-1265L v2 processor. They pop up for under $80 and gives it enough grunt to run a Plex server.
    Other compatible CPUs.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2020
  14. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,325
    Location:
    4109
  15. yaboo

    yaboo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Melbourne
    With the xeon cpu, do I need to upgrade the heat sink etc??
     
  16. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,325
    Location:
    4109
    theres a few different TDPs. 35 watt was stock on the 2020t but the celerons (1610t??) were 17w. there were also 45w, 65w and 75w parts that weren't stock but drop in.
    i dropped a 45w 1265L in and never had an issue, but it barely gets to run at 100% and when it does its for maybe 20-30 minutes tops to be fair.
    just add a fan if youre going to run it at 100% 24/7
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2020
  17. ThunderbirdMoz

    ThunderbirdMoz Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,289
    Location:
    Queensaldn
    Woot. Just upgraded my n36L to 12tb drives. So glad I didnt have to worry about the 3.3v issue on the microservers.

    I think I have a problem with heat though. I had a drive up in the top bay die prematurely some years ago and I think it overheated. I'm not too worried about the heat for now cause it's still winter and I can leave the lid off but it doesnt look like theres many options to dump the heat out of the top without drilling into the case/leaving the lid off or opening the front bay. I bought a 3 fan Evercool to install in the 5.25 bay but I can't get the lid back on with it on which kinda defeats the purpose of me getting it cause if i leave the lid off I wouldnt need this thing or have the loud fan noise it makes. Anyone manage to fit a EC-HK-3F in their microserver without cutting the side legs off? The legs are made of thick plastic layered with a folded metal sheet. It doesn't look easy to cut off.
     
  18. bym007

    bym007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I have a Gen8 Microserver, which I upgraded to Xeon 1265L V2 a while back. Also been running on 16GB memory.
    I am unRAID on it, mainly as NAS (4x4TB + 1x512GB SSD), and a few dockers (Unifi controller, and few media 'rrs).

    Anyhow, I am looking to add more disks to current hardware, and have come up with these upgrade pathways so far.

    1- Get a eSATA Disk enclosure + HBA + eSATA cables to add external enclosure.
    2- Transplant Gen8 board into a new (Fractal Design, Silverstone ?) case + add HBA + eSATA cables.

    Wondering whats the recommended approach ?

    My server sits in my 12U wall mounted cabinet in garage, so I prefer it that way.
     
  19. Turbine

    Turbine Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    497
    Location:
    WA
    The great thing about the Gen8 is the small package and power usage.
    I'd say your absolute best path is to upgrade density and buy 4x8tb drives. Or even 12-14tb drives.
    Migrate everything over then zero out your 4tb drives and sell them nice and healthy on the second hand market.
    Your other options just involve more hardware before you are even buying more drives....just get dense drives.

    eg, 4 bay eSata enclosure + 4x4tb drives + eSata card = ~$750 to upgrade to 32tb storage in total
    $750 could buy 3x8tb drives...flip the 4x4tb for enough to almost buy the 4th 8tb drive.
    You now have 32tb of brand new storage with less power/heat/space overheads.

    I've done this with my microservers. 1/2/4/8tb upgrades. I'll be due for a 16tb upgrade in about 2 years.

    The other benefit of planned density upgrades is that you will usually replace drives before the warranty expires or your drives will rarely be over 5 years old. Less chance of a drive failure.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2020
    Mace likes this.
  20. bym007

    bym007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Very good thought process.

    I must add that I have already ordered 2x16TB disks from Amazon UK last week, so my plan is to upgrade the parity and 1 data disk at this stage. And I will be left with 2x 4Tb disks with no purpose.

    Part of me wants to re-use them (I only bought them last year, so still have remaining of valid warranty).

    But, like you said, to add those HDDs to Microserver, I need to spend a lot more $$$$. So from ROI point of view, it does not make good sense. But hey, I am a bad investor :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: