HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! (Attempting to sell here will result in bans)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by oli, May 10, 2011.

Tags:
  1. oli

    oli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,265
    Location:
    The Internet
    Well, now that many of us who ordered in the first round have their servers I guess it's time for an owners club!

    Seems this device has brought a few lurkers out of the woodwork! A number of new users have posted useful tips for everyone! :thumbup:

    How many you got and what are you doing with it? Let's chat/share experiences/tips?

    Moved a huge batch of data across my network last night and got ~105MB/s across the LAN. This seems a lot snappier than any Atom systems I've played with as well!


    This thread is getting pretty huge, for those of you looking for specific help/info try this:
    SEARCH THIS THREAD
    Replace the 'replaceme' with your search term! Good luck. :)

    2013 Updates:
    onggie got 16GB of RAM working in his N40L (Kingston 16GB 1333MHz DDR3 ECC CL9 DIMM (Kit of 2), the model is KVR1333D3E9SK2/16)

    User/Hardware details list! (spreadsheet)

    General info/guides:
    Discussion and photos about HP's MicroServer range (N36L, N40L) on Facebook
    HP MicroServer N40L Wiki thanks Tozmo
    The thread that started it all! (thanks Stanza!)
    Assorted photos on Flickr
    MetalPhreak and some other posts have alerted owners to the space above RAM slots. Heatspreaders apparently will not fit. See this post for a picture.
    blue_panther9_9 has suggested using the SpeedFan utility to check HDD temperatures. Windows only tool...
    Hyram has made a spectacular entry to the forum with this post detailing his WinXP related experiences and lots of other useful info. Thanks Hyram!
    Installing Solaris Express to HP Microserver N36L via USB Live Image - nogi put together this document. Cheers nogi!
    Zenskas Microserver Video on YouTube
    Stanza posted a list of info on different SAS controllers here.
    velo posted a howto video to help upgrading your RAM in the microserver.

    eSATA & Additional SATA/SAS port related
    The 5th SATA port does not run at full SATA speeds. There's a BIOS update here (thanks GooSE) to resolve this.
    Soarer GT has some more info in his post here.
    This post explains it in more detail.
    Before doing anything with the BIOS read this note from Stanza
    Seems 3TB drives are supported! (thanks RoSWeLL)
    Stanza installed a Supermicro CSE-M14TB drive cage to fit another 4x 2.5" drive bays into his and posted some good pics here. Here's Part 1 of his experience with the HP SC44Ge SAS controller. Part 2 is here, covering the IBM BR10i controller.
    jonamafun posted some info about the best way to enable the SATA RAID (on board) controller for Windows

    HP Info:
    HP Quick Specs Page
    HP Specs in a PDF
    BIOS Update: 2011.04.02 (A) 27 May 2011
    General support page on the Business Support Center
    MicroServer User Guide (PDF file)
    Customer Self-Repair steps (videos/animations on HP site)

    VMWare Related:
    Running VMware vSphere on an HP MicroServer (techhead.co.uk)
    New HP Proliant MicroServer – a decent vSphere lab server candidate? (techhead.co.uk)
    How to build a decent low power VMware ESXi server based on the HP Proliant N36L Microserver and the HP P410 RAID controller

    Reviews:
    Review on silenctpcreview.com
    Another review on blog.samat.org
    Hands On Video
    Hands On: HP ProLiant MicroServer review at wegotserved.com

    Discussion on other forums:
    Long thread on Hard|Forum
    Discussion at Overclockers UK

    Benchmarks/Other
    Doc-of-FC posted some benchmarks with his FreeBSD setup here. He's also offered to run some more benchmarks. :thumbup:
    stumo is looking at his long term power costs with this replacement picoPSU. ;) Here are some useful points regarding power specifications.
    How to create OpenSolaris Live USB Stick using 'dd' utility (thanks Oblong Cheese) There's a utility under Fedora (you can probably find this for other distros as well) called livecd-iso-to-disk which can create bootable USB drives from iso's as well.
    More benchmarks from rugger
    Info to help swapping the fan.
    doodz measured power consumption here.


    Here are some known working 8Gb Memory Modules
    ECC modules
    Super Talent DDR3-1333 8GB/512Mx8 ECC Samsung Chip Server Memory - W1333EB8GS

    NON ECC Modules
    Corsair 8GB DDR3 1333MHz XMS3 CMX8GX3M1A1333C9
    GSkill Ares F3-1333C9D-16GAO
    Patriot Gamer2 PGD316G1333ELK

    NON WORKING Modules:
    Corsair CMV16GX3M2A1333C9 16GB Kit (2x8GB) DDR3 <Tho it shows 8Gb with One Stick Inserted>
    Edit: They DO seem to be working as per this post:
    http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showpost.php?p=14410450&postcount=6388
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2013
  2. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,764
    Location:
    At a desk
    I got three (one for me, two for a mate). Will be mostly used as a test machine to determine suitable hardware to use for future small-business clients (using future products that replace this one of course). Will be testing MythTV Backend, NFS/SMB file server, Minecraft server, PMS, Linux software RAID, Lotus Domino, maybe some virtualisation, etc over the next few weeks.
     
  3. ktmrida

    ktmrida Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    564
    Location:
    Australia
    I got one for me

    8gb Ram, Probably WHS 2011 i'd say, 4x 2tb for data and 80gb SSD for boot
    Bu this may change, its still sitting in the box waiting for the drives, adapters etc to arrive


    bought a few at work too for some testing and stuff
     
  4. Zyklone

    Zyklone Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    502
    Location:
    Teh Internets
    4 for me, plus a couple of 4GB sticks to go in them!
     
  5. OP
    OP
    oli

    oli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,265
    Location:
    The Internet
    Hah, sweet. Cluster for something fun? :D
     
  6. Zyklone

    Zyklone Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    502
    Location:
    Teh Internets
    Something like that haha :D

    I play to turn one into a filestore, running either FreeNAS 8 or OpenIndiana for some ZFS goodness - hoping for 5 x 2TB store, so 8TB usable :)

    2 will be delegated to be VM machines, hopefully as a HA cluster for my Usenet downloads / Ventrilo server, as well as a dev area for some VM's I want to run so I can finally do my MCITP.

    The last one, well that's undecided, I think that will be going either to a workmate or in the for sale forums, as my housemate doesn't want it anymore haha :)
     
  7. dead_man

    dead_man Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    melbourne
    im ordering mine tonight. will be interesting to see if the 4x "management slot" can be used with other cards internally. if it can im thinking some case modding is in order to add wireless N and make an awsome router :)

    edit no im not missed out :(
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2011
  8. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,722
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Count me in.

    8GB Ram
    Solaris 11 Express.
    3x1.5TB Raidz pool
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2011
  9. [KEi]SoVeReIgN

    [KEi]SoVeReIgN Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,029
    Location:
    Sydney
    Couldn't help myself..

    Windows Server 2k8 R2
    60gb vertex 2 SSD
    2 x 2tb WD Black
    2 x 1tb Seagate 7.2k
    1 x 250gb oem

    No raid at the moment, really want to run hardware raid 5 across 6 2TB drives, or alternatively run ZFS on freenas - But I want speeeed..

    Anyone got freenas up and running on this box? Can you max out the gb connection?? (~80mb/sec+?)
     
  10. dav3

    dav3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Mine should arrive today :thumbup:

    For now I'll probably just grab 4-8gig RAM and play with some of the open source OS's. (Hopefully) next pay day I'll grab a 2tb drive, SATA tray for the 5.25" bay, and a USB NIC, and throw Windows 2003 Server on it along with some of the hard drives from my existing server.

    I'll grab something like a Radeon 5450 later on so it can double as a HTPC at some point and have a play with XBMC, and maybe a SATA controller with eSATA ports so I can expand with external drives if I need to.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    oli

    oli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,265
    Location:
    The Internet
    I don't know any reason why you couldn't under FreeNAS if I can with Linux. Where'd you put the SSD btw?
     
  12. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,511
    Location:
    Beaumaris, Vic
    I've now got 2. The first one was DOA...the first HDD slot doesn't detect drives. I requested a DOA replacement but not sure how that's going to go now that they all appear to be sold out. I might have to do with a replacement mini sas cable. I think I'll keep it and use it as a LAB box.

    My second just arrived. So I'll start playing with it. I'm thinking it'll run WHS2011 acting as my storage and backup. I have a 2TB drive to put in and have ordered 8GB non ECC.
     
  13. ^catalyst

    ^catalyst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,663
    Location:
    melbourne
    I'm down.

    Box + 5x 2TB Hitachi's.
    Solaris 11 Express
    Soon to be 8GB of RAM.

    Mainly for NAS, might do some media serving depending how it all goes.
     
  14. Igneous

    Igneous Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Same here, but I'm looking at setting up an unRAID NAS, much like this one.
     
  15. Ekliptix

    Ekliptix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Still waiting to find out for sure if I'll be getting mine. I plan on running WHS 2011 with 4 x 2 TB drives with 4 - 8 GB RAM to use mainly as a media server.

    Just a n00b question, how are you fitting in 5 drives? I'm assuming you're using the top slot instead of the optical drive, but do you need to purchase an extra drive caddy or something to do this?
     
  16. michaeljf

    michaeljf Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Canberra
    Windows SBS 2008 for me running Exchange, file and print server, etc (replacing an existing ML110 G5).

    Going with 8GB of ECC RAM and will transfer my 2 x 300GB Velociraptors over. Already have an 8TB NAS but will probably throw in 2 x 2TB drives for extra storage.
     
  17. dav3

    dav3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    862
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yeah you just buy a removable tray and shove the drive in there. To get it going full speed you need to run a custom BIOS (for the internal port), or loop a cable out and around to the eSATA port.
     
  18. ^catalyst

    ^catalyst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,663
    Location:
    melbourne
    Don't you have to pay for unRAID? What are the advantages over any ZFS OS?
     
  19. Igneous

    Igneous Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Something like this will do the job, but the 5th SATA port is limited to IDE/PIO speeds unless you use a replacement BIOS to convert it to full SATA. I'll be using it as a parity drive for the 4 unRAID drives, with around 8TB storage.

    I'm no Linux guru, so I'll be starting with unRAID as a simpler alternative to ZFS, but still a step up from FreeNAS.

    EDIT - Ninja'd.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2011
  20. [KEi]SoVeReIgN

    [KEi]SoVeReIgN Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,029
    Location:
    Sydney
    Sorry, I meant freenas with ZFS.

    SSD is in the top bay with estata cable running from the back :)

    molex -> 2 sata power plugs also
     

Share This Page