HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! (Attempting to sell here will result in bans)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by oli, May 10, 2011.

  1. Kaddude

    Kaddude Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Soarer GT,
    do you have to do the BIOS update to get that rear eSATA port to run at full speed? Also, can I use a standard SATA cable in that port?
     
  2. Twizzly

    Twizzly Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    711
    Location:
    Adelaide
    eSata's use a different plug, but you just need to get a cable with said plug on the end.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    oli

    oli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,266
    Location:
    The Internet
    Hah, how silly. Bet it gets a bit toasty in there...
     
  4. Twizzly

    Twizzly Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    711
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I'm curious to see how much heat they really do dissipate, given if he can get airflow through there, it's a viable option.
     
  5. Soarer GT

    Soarer GT Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,736
    Location:
    Melbourne
  6. 35k

    35k Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Update:
    I had an Asus Nvidia GT210 sitting around (ModeL: http://www.asus.com.au/Graphics_Cards/NVIDIA_Series/EN210_SILENTDI1GD3V2LP/) and decided to give it a go.

    I've got it running under linux, with sound. So it does support audio processing in its own right.

    The only thing I had to do was take off the heatsink, flatten the fins with a hammer (heh!), put some thermal paste back on and put the heatsink back on. Was then able to make it fit.

    So if you're buying a video card, there's not a lot of room for heatsink/fans so keep that in mind.
     
  7. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Straight from the book of angry computer assembly :)
     
  8. domlebo

    domlebo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    7,776
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Truth me told assembly makes any programmer rage.
     
  9. Ulan

    Ulan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    425
    Location:
    North Brisbane, Australia
    poastin to report some findings with my Microserver.

    haven't purchased any drives yet so just playing with the media capabilities of the box as I was interested to know if it could be used as a HTPC and possibly a NAS simultaneously.

    was able to play 1080p content (8gb wmv) smoothly at approx 55% CPU usage (both cores) over gigabit lan.

    Totally unmodified server (1gb ram/250gb hard drive)
    Ubuntu 11.04 with XBMC
    Catalyst 11.4 drivers (drivers that came with Ubuntu = jerky video)

    I then tried 1080p h264 but it wasn't smooth. :(
     
  10. 303-Acid

    303-Acid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,593
    Location:
    Beaumaris, Vic
    I've got my WHS2011 box setup now. I took the 1GB ECC out of my to-be ESX box and put it in the WHS2011 box making it 2GB ECC. HDD's: 160GB HDD as the OS, the 250GB as the client backup drive and a 2TB for my media. I decided to put a DVD ODD and used it for the install of WHS2011 but I'm not sure it'll get used again.

    I've installed the WHS client on our laptops and set them up to backup which works nicely, better than using USB caddies when remembering to do it a couple of times a year! My Acer Revo HTPC now streams its media from the MicroServer rather than the USB caddy. I'm quite happy with this setup. Now I just need to configure a backup of the WHS2011.

    For my to-be ESX lab box I've received 8GB of DDR3 non-ECC RAM. I'll be installing ESX to a USB key in the internal slot and using the 250GB HDD for my hosts. I may grab another drive for it if i need more space.
     
  11. RamesesNiblick3

    RamesesNiblick3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Perth
    Could someone with ESXi running please confirm that pci-passthrough is not supported. I just tried to test this but I need more ram before I can install ESXi.
     
  12. danyell

    danyell Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,834
    Location:
    Chirnside Park, 3116
    try out openelec.tv (xbmc live mod) instead, you might have better luck with the driver support
     
  13. ocskat

    ocskat Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    On Windows, smooth 1080p h264 is possible through DXVA.
    In Linux/XBMC, have a look at this thread: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?t=80940
     
  14. Syslink

    Syslink Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    nsw
    Is there anyone running ZFS with non-ECC memory?
     
  15. Tali

    Tali Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Sure, just ask, new to ZFS so still learning myself :p
    but to begin, where I did..
    http://zfsonlinux.org/

    There are PPA's for Ubuntu 11.04 in there, but I compiled and made the .deb's myself on the microserver, just cause.. well, I could? :)

    Only one thing to note, cause of the way the make script appears to be, dont "make -j 2" on it, it bugs out..

    Yes, but see above, I do know ZFS loves ECC when doing scrubbing, havent done a scrub.. just yet :)
     
  16. ^catalyst

    ^catalyst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,878
    Location:
    melbourne
    I'll be interested to see what happens over time with that, native ZFS on linux would be great for me.
     
  17. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,720
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Me.

    8GB of normal RAM
     
  18. TheFlock

    TheFlock Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thank you for the confirmation that this card works under linux. Tried XBMC?

    Could you upload some pictures of the heatsink post-hammer? :)
     
  19. Syslink

    Syslink Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    nsw
    Interesting what are you guys planning on doing with your setups? Just a test lab or you are guys not too concerned with data integrity??

    I'm looking to use the microserver as a fileserver i.e. personal documents etc and just wondering if ECC is really necessary for a home box. Of course, with zfs I'd still take eternal backups.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2011
  20. carney

    carney Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Sydney
    Where on msdn is Windows Home Server 2011 available? I was looking at it on a colleague's login and we couldn't find it, looked under Windows server but only 2008 R2, 2008, 2003 etc was available. Even using the search, results came up but it was only documentation.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: