HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! (Attempting to sell here will result in bans)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by oli, May 10, 2011.

  1. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,925
    Location:
    At a desk
    That's crap. Install an FTP server and do a test with that. I'm pulling a max of 117MB/s over FTP (off a RAID5 array).

    If you are only using a single drive, I'd expect you to pull at least 70MB/s.

    Even with SSH/SFTP I'm pulling 40MB/s and that's with encryption overhead!
     
  2. silenthunter

    silenthunter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,634
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Is anyone using the any of the third party drive extender replacements for WHS2011? I'm looking at StableBit and Drive Bender, with StableBit looking the most promising but I'm very hesitant as they are both in their infancy.
     
  3. spedwards

    spedwards Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Location:
    Sydney
    I got Ubuntu Server up and running last night and started my mdadm build last night. My concern is that it's showing one HDD in state of "spare rebuilding". Having not ever used mdadm before, should I be concerned or is this normal?

    Code:
        Number   Major   Minor   RaidDevice State
           0       8        0        0      active sync   /dev/sda
           1       8       16        1      active sync   /dev/sdb
           2       8       32        2      active sync   /dev/sdc
           4       8       48        3      spare rebuilding   /dev/sdd
    
     
  4. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,720
    Location:
    Brisbane
    using what OS and what disks in what format??
     
  5. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,720
    Location:
    Brisbane
    on a 100Mbps network that's fine ..

    on a 1Gbps network that's shite.
     
  6. jenzer0

    jenzer0 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Melbourne
    just got my one yesterday - spent majority of it trying to install freenas (unetbootin is being a pain and not working) but in the end decided to go ubuntu cause i'm pretty noob at this stuff
     
  7. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    288
    cat /proc/mdstat

    to see the status of your array. Be aware that a raid-5 array, even when configured correctly, will still take 5-12h to build. (if you do nothing else on the server) If you restart, it will kill the rebuild and require restarting. If you access the disks heavily while it is rebuilding, it will rebuild a lot slower.
     
  8. spedwards

    spedwards Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah, it's been going since about midnight.

    Code:
    root@clover:/share# cat /proc/mdstat
    Personalities : [raid6] [raid5] [raid4]
    md0 : active raid5 sdd[4] sdc[2] sdb[1] sda[0]
          5860528128 blocks super 1.2 level 5, 4096k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/3] [UUU_]
          [============>........]  recovery = 60.7% (1187201156/1953509376) finish=463.5min speed=27548K/sec
    
    unused devices: <none>
    
    I just found this comment on the interwebs:
     
  9. kingwang26

    kingwang26 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Sydney
    i got feed up with all the new OS and other free nas thingy

    I've installed XP with PS3 Media Server

    works like a charm

    i found the drivers on the AMD website and now it runs at 1080p
     
  10. Soarer GT

    Soarer GT Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,836
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Sorta looks like Wireless N speeds ?
     
  11. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    288
    Thats a fairly big chunk size. I built my microserver array based on 256k chunk sizes and thought I was sitting on the upper edge of what it should be. My other server uses 128k chunk sizes and still performs very well as well.

    But yeah, building a RAID 5 array by restoring a single drive from a degraded state is MUCH quicker then writing parity because you are sequentually writing to the degraded disk, and sequentually reading from the others rather then intermixing read/write operations on all drives. Because all drives are being accessed sequentually, and you are not going backwards to catch up on parity writing, it goes much quicker.
     
  12. Soarer GT

    Soarer GT Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,836
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Windows 7 software raid 1 is alright if you want to try that as well. (2 drives in raid 1 for important stuff like kids photo's and 2 drives as JBOD for media).
     
  13. Oblong Cheese

    Oblong Cheese Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    10,595
    Location:
    Brisbane
    So uhm, I had taken the door off my microserver and hidden it somewhere and forgotten that the 5.25" bay rails were attached to the inside of the door ... hence my confusion ... :lol:
     
  14. Dilbery

    Dilbery Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,289
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    Got mine yesterday,

    Hates 10600r ram that I got from work, hates normal DDR3 10600...

    Can anyone suggest some ram before I buy some?
     
  15. 5p1k3y

    5p1k3y Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Location:
    Sydney
    using freenas, 2 x 2tb WD greens and UFS for now no raid for the moment. Planning on ZFS soon. Is this why? I thought ZFS required a minimum of 3 disks?
     
  16. Chrysilis

    Chrysilis Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Well that explains it :D
     
  17. GooSE

    GooSE New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    6,679
    Location:
    Sydney
    Of course it hates PC3-10600R. The R stands for registered, and it is not compatible with hardware designed for unregistered memory. There have been many reports of people using regular PC3-10600 memory though.

    If you want full peace of mind you should use ECC memory. I have ordered this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148382
     
  18. spedwards

    spedwards Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Location:
    Sydney
  19. Dilbery

    Dilbery Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,289
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    Thanks Guys,

    Strange because I got the Registered memory working on my i5 750, was hoping it would work with the server...oh well I'll grab some on payday :)
     
  20. Ekliptix

    Ekliptix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    32

Share This Page

Advertisement: