HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! (Attempting to sell here will result in bans)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by oli, May 10, 2011.

  1. sschen

    sschen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    133
    I noticed there are now 4TB drives available. Has anyone here tried hooking up a 4TB drive to the microserver with success? If so, what make and model of hard drive(s)?
     
  2. evlcookie

    evlcookie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,036
    Not that i know of. I'm trying to do my own personal testing with whs2011 and unraid, since i keep hearing about that one specifically.

    What other solutions were you looking at? I might check those out as well.
     
  3. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,903
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Spreadsheet linked off the first page

    .
     
  4. Gierke

    Gierke Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,071
    Location:
    Earth
    Will something like the HP P212 work in the wierd first expansion slot? Ideally we need a nic and raid card.
     
  5. MrvNDMrtN

    MrvNDMrtN Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    SW Syd
    Anyone running 6 x 2Tb drives N36L ZFS volumes?

    Regarding CIFS/SMB performance i am wondering if 60MB/s write and 80MB/s read is normal for this box.

    I am using Freenas 8.0.2 with 8Gb DDR3 ram.

    Previously i used an earlier version of Freenas8 and performance was better?

    edit: Or maybe i just use NFS? All my machines are Windblows7 boxes so i'll just bust out the client.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2011
  6. trentski

    trentski Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I've read a fair few pages and done some googling but I just want to be sure before I splash out and buy one of these.

    I'm currently using an old laptop with a USB drive and its painful. Could I get the N40 and run windows 7 with ps3 media server, itunes, sabnzbd, couch potato and sickbeard?

    I have no linux experience so think windows7 will be the easiest as I could replicate what I'm currently doing. Then I could use a couple of drives for important stuff like photos and raid them? and then have media on another disc.

    Would that work?
     
  7. mitsimonsta

    mitsimonsta Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,996
    Location:
    2161 / 2060
    No. with 3TB drives the price that they are now, nobody can afford 4TB drives.

    Also, provide link to said drives.
     
  8. TripleJ85

    TripleJ85 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane
    They can't be too far off - I ordered some 3TB Seagate Expansions from Amazon and they have the 3x 1TB platter model ST3000DM001.

    I haven't actually seen any 4TB drives though (except for externals with 2x2TB in RAID-0.
     
  9. evlcookie

    evlcookie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,036
    I don't mind unraid on this little thing but i do notice a lot of you are just running linux + zfs raidz, I think that sort of setup scares me even more than unraid and that has some command line stuff.

    Copying to the machine sure is slow without a cache drive on unraid, at least twice as slow compared to WHS2011.

    I also seem to still get random stuttering on movie play back when it's two at a time on the tv in the lounge. I don't think it's hard drive usage or even bandwidth usage since there's very little. More testing is required i think.
     
  10. sschen

    sschen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    133
  11. samarium

    samarium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    476
  12. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    3,519
    Location:
    Brisbane
  13. samarium

    samarium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    476
  14. Modafroman

    Modafroman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    10,057
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Finally got my N40L from megabuy.

    Still not sure what OS to use on it... thinking either 2008R2 or WHS2011, hrm. Thoughts? Something that could be installed on 2gb memory stick lol?
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
  15. bsbozzy

    bsbozzy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,925
    Location:
    Sydney
    2GB only, Linux.
     
  16. trentski

    trentski Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Well after a lot more reading I have answered my own question.

    WHS2011 will run iTunes, sickbeard, couch potato and sabnzbd and has a built in DLNA server so hopefully that will talk to my Samsung TV.
     
  17. Modafroman

    Modafroman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    10,057
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Nevermind. Decided to install an optical drive for installation lol.

    Probs just gonna install server 2008r2 for the ease of having everything work.
     
  18. sammich

    sammich Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Not sure if the Seagate does the same thing as WD does with it's MyBooks, that is the drives either have a proprietary connector or some parts are soldered together so you can't use the drive standalone.

    In any case, since 3TB drives are full addressable in this box now, does it stand to reason that any drive with a capacity > 2.18TB would work? Ie, the Seagate 4TB or anything else?
     
  19. coopers1862

    coopers1862 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    169
  20. Willis-

    Willis- Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,461
    That deal doesn't have anything to do with the N40L?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: