1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! (Attempting to sell here will result in bans)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by oli, May 10, 2011.

  1. Soarer GT

    Soarer GT Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,884
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'm guessing here...

    Looking at my Red Energy bill... 22c for 1 kwHr

    Average power usage of a N36L/N40L = 50watts.

    1 day = 24 hours

    Therefore, 1 day of Microserver being on = 1200watts.

    22c x 1.2 kw = 26.4cents.

    Is that calculation right?
     
  2. Nauti Rogue

    Nauti Rogue New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    SBS Standard edition runs a full version of Microsoft Server 2008 r2, Microsoft Exchange Server, Microsoft SQL Server, and Microsoft Sharepoint all on one box. I've had to disable Sharepoint and severely optimize SQL Server just to be able to get this to run at all under only 8 GB of RAM.
     
  3. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Brisbane
    $20 for the power meter.
    http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=MS6115

    The original review of the N36L, power & temp page:
    http://www.silentpcreview.com/article1193-page5.html

    A N40L here with the std 250GB drive, 2 sticks of std ecc ram and an Intel dual gigabit NIC, running PFSense sits on 50 watts (avg).
     
  4. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,947
    Location:
    At a desk
    That's about right. My energy-guzzling Pentium 4 router PC (running 24/7) when it was last measured with a meter way back when power only cost 17c cost me about 24c a day to run. Today it's probably closer to 30c or more.
     
  5. Soarer GT

    Soarer GT Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,884
    Location:
    Melbourne
    So it proves that you'd save more by spending $6 on 4watt LED downlights
     
  6. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Brisbane
    What it proves is that Grid power is too damn cheap - LoL
     
  7. Bthree

    Bthree Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Country Vic 3500
    bought a N40L off these forums last week with the idea of replacing my gigabyte D525TUD ATOM server setup running WHS2011.
    No problems really but though I may be able to get a lower power consumption and a little extra performance, but fould no practical improvement.

    Nice little unit so I proceeded to load it up.

    My setup runs among other things a logging weather and power recording program that requires 24/7 operation unattended and must be able to restart after a power failure (UPS are to not efficient to use)

    HP N40L BIOS DOES NOT HAVE AN "AC BACK UP FUNCTION" [full on] bugger.

    So before I give up and keep my present Atom server. "have I missed something" ????
     
  8. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Brisbane
    There always is the option to make your own UPS. Buy a deep cycle gel battery, a battery charger and small inverter from eBay. Size your battery to give you the desired run time - 2 days on battery power isn't hard to do. Then forget power altogether.

    There is no fumes, maintaince or spilage from gel cells.
    - done
     
  9. Bthree

    Bthree Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Country Vic 3500
    Idea considered and rejected some time ago as using to much power
    Presently my server uses approx 60watts (4xHDD) an inverter 70% efficient, battery charger 80%eff so I would end up with 100watts plus not to mention battery maintenance/ replacements but thanks for the suggestion.
     
  10. calris

    calris Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Yes, I think you have - I have mine setup to power-on after power failure.

    Maybe you have an old BIOS?
     
  11. calris

    calris Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Newcastle
    You should be able to set it up so the inverter only runs after power failure and the charger should only need to charge when the battery is drained after power failure (or to keep the battery topped up)
     
  12. Bthree

    Bthree Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Country Vic 3500
    Latest version 7-29-2011
    Not farmiliar with the HP bios but went through every option I think
    Please direct me to the setting I would be most appreciative

    Don't think i would get away with all that extra gear in the linen press !
     
  13. Dilbery

    Dilbery Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,348
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    Mine has it, however I am running the hacked bios.
     
  14. calris

    calris Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Newcastle
    I have not hacked the BIOS - I will have a look when I get home
     
  15. GooSE

    GooSE New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    6,679
    Location:
    Sydney
    Pretty sure the hacked BIOS only really enabled AHCI mode for the ODD SATA port.
     
  16. 3Toed

    3Toed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I'm thinking of getting an N40L and also thought about a UPS for it. Someone earlier in this thread mentioned PicoPSU so I did a search and found this:
    http://www.mini-box.com/picoUPS-120-12V-DC-micro-UPS-battery-backup?sc=8&category=981
    That way you just need a 12V adapter and a battery. No inverter required.

    I figure the output of that can go into the PicoPSU.
    http://www.mini-box.com/s.nl/it.A/id.417/.f

    But is a 120W power supply enough to power an N40L with 4 WD green drives? Or could you run 2 PicoUPSs in parallel (either charging a battery each or charging 1 bigger battery) and feed the output into a 160W PicoPSU?

    Or this UPS board might be better as it looks like it can handle more power and has a USB interface so the PC will know when it's running off the battery.
    http://www.mini-box.com/OpenUPS?sc=8&category=1264


    I have a feeling my idea about running 2 of the PicoUPSs in parallel might need a fire extinguisher to be nearby... :Paranoid:
     
  17. Bthree

    Bthree Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    Country Vic 3500
    Found the function so all good, thanks for those that contributed.

    Left hand tab "Main" right down the bottom (have to scroll down for me)

    Boot settings Configuration

    Restore after AC loss [Power On]

    bye
     
  18. WooKiE_MaN

    WooKiE_MaN Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,015
    Location:
    Craigieburn
    might grab a power meter actually..:D

    Im running 1x 250 Stock drive 1x2TB 3x1TB in RAID0 4GB ram and everything running stock standard

    im guessing my usage would be around 50 + watts? to use less power what would be a suitable thing to do? 2x 2TB? 2.5 drives?

    Any ideas would help, as i got a massive power bill and im worried that my new HP system is drawing alot of power
     
  19. Soarer GT

    Soarer GT Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,884
    Location:
    Melbourne
    How big can your power bill be? Get solar panels? My power bill is about $300/quarter... I do have a 1.5kw solar panel array though... 3 people in the house + workshop + office on most days...

    I ordered three 4watt LED down lights from DX to see how they are before I get some more. If they work ok and I can change the rest of the lights, hopefully I can drop the power bill down to $250/quarter... Then I'll be happy... Or get more solar panels =)
     
  20. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,903
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yours would be dragging about 50w MAX

    Guess something else in the house is gobling power...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: