HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! (Attempting to sell here will result in bans)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by oli, May 10, 2011.

  1. WooKiE_MaN

    WooKiE_MaN Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    3,015
    Location:
    Craigieburn
    I'm just curious as I've had
    My HP unit for 3 - 4 months and my last bill was only
    $275, since this HP unit my bill is not $350. Rang up red energy and they said it was a catch up bill as last 2 bills wernt checked and were estimated.

    I will purchase a power meter from jaycar to check it out also. 50w is not a huge power output also, and wouldnt affect the bill in that way I reckon.
    Thanks for everyone's help :)
     
  2. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    Brisbane
    QFT.

    WooKiE_MaN get a meter and leave it plugged in to each thing for 24 hrs.

    Power bills rising are leaky hot water systems (the top pressure valve, evil thing cuz you won't even notice it happening unless you feel the pipe), leaky seal around the fridge door (it's got to work harder),; big ticket items, anything with a motor, not adding a little 50 watt load.

    Want to save power it relation to computers, shrink all your data storage to unified drives. i.e. one 4TB drive @ 10 watts compared to 4 x 1TB in JOBD @ 40watts (peak values)

    Then the same goes for the enviroments, consolidate all your "little black boxes" to VMs on the one decent sized box. <- I'm still working towards this.
     
  3. rmuser

    rmuser Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Best deal on nl40 atm?

    Hey All.

    nl36 owner here wanting to buy an nl40.

    Anyone know who's got the best deal currently? Am in Melbourne. Or do we phone Prakash wasn't it at HP Direct?

    Cheers.
     
  4. tgf

    tgf Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    383
    Location:
    SA
    rmuser, there's a thread in the Pub here on OCAU called "Bargains thread" I think and every now and then someone posts a link to a really good deal on an N40L...

    I got mine from the following site - http://www.dessytek.com.au/
     
  5. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,901
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ha ha, your a funny man....;)

    Nah mate Prahash has retired... Living on a big yacht I hear:p

    .
     
  6. efilNET

    efilNET Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    My firs post on the forum

    Hey fellow geeks

    First of all, thanks for a great thread about the MicroServer

    I'v been following this thread for months, and its the reason why I brought a MicroServer N40L some months ago.

    Now I have upgraded it a little and would like to share my setup with you guys.

    First the hardware list:
    HP ProLiant MicroServer N40L
    2x Kingston 1x4GB
    1x 250GB (standard diske included)
    2x 2TB Seagate Barracuda Green ST2000DL003

    IBM BR10i 2xSAS (LSI SAS3082E-R)
    ICY DOCK MB994SP-4SB-1 (4x2.5" to 5.25")
    1x 320GB Seagate Momentus 7200.4 ST9320423AS

    Running Windows Server 2008 R2.

    And some pictures of the last pcs added:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    And some question, I wanne use I for filesharing, torrent box, webserver (lamp). So Windows Server 2008 R2 with Hyper-V is great.

    But thinking of using Windows home server 2011 instead, but can I create a raid-5 within Windows and what about running on or a couple of linux guests?

    Greetings from a Danish follower.
     
  7. rmuser

    rmuser Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Hehe. Pretty sure I've still got his mobile number in my phone from those crazy times. A yacht in the carribean toking a spliff I hear.
     
  8. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,901
    Location:
    Adelaide
    G'day mate, welcome to the forum

    Quite the international thread we have going here ;)

    This is the most active microserver thread around eh?

    :thumbup:

    .
     
  9. Altec Inc

    Altec Inc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Great setup you have there.
    I may have to look into getting one of those Icy Docks, looks to be a great add on.

    Finally another member on OCAU that's a Dane :)
    Where in Denmark are you from?
     
  10. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    Brisbane
    That's odd, I heard he was in a canoe with a net cleaning out (shitcreek) "The Ganges". :lol:
    http://www.time.com/time/health/article/0,8599,1581251,00.html

     
  11. swaggie

    swaggie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Looking to set up a raid 5 box with a HP P400

    Stanza's post recommends this if you can get a sff-8087 to sff-8484 converters the P400 would be a good choice.
    see http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showthread.php?p=13223740#post13223740

    PC Pitstop claim that they ship internationally and are well priced http://www.pc-pitstop.com/sas_cables_adapters/

    Is this first one the one that I need?

    Swaggie

    0.5m SFF-8484 (host) to SFF-8087 (device) SAS Cable
    Connect a SAS backplane with 36 pin miniSAS connector to a SAS controller with 32 pin multilane connector.
    $29.00 Part#:SAS-87D84H-05M

    1m SFF-8484 (device) to SFF-8087 (host) SAS Cable
    Connect a SAS backplane with multilane 32 pin connector to a SAS/SATA controller with 36 pin miniSAS connector.
    $54.50 Part#: SAS-84D87H-1M

    1m SFF-8484 (host) to SFF-8087 (device) SAS Cable
    Connect a SAS backplane with 36 pin miniSAS connector to a SAS controller with 32 pin multilane connector.
    $54.50 Part#:SAS-87D84H-1M
     
  12. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,901
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Sadly none of those are going to work.

    You need SFF-8484 to SFF-8087 (female).... Which has always been a hard one to find.

    Eg the same as the motherboard SFF-8087 "socket" ..... Those cables give you the same as the Backplane cable end.:thumbdn:

    Search the thread hard.... There was one guy who had some specially made up... Maybe he has got some left over?

    .
     
  13. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    Brisbane
    What are you guys doing when your 60 day V-Sphere evaluation ends ?
     
  14. quantocks

    quantocks New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    hey guys, just installed my HDD silence and put e-sata to sata cable in the box.

    BIOS only shows 5 drives? do I have to do anything special to get the 6th drive going? I've downloaded the bios mod and put it on USB key but the thing boots into Dr DOS (calderas) and then just reboots instantly


    *Edit* used another USB key and flashed BIOS, but still no drive from the e-sata to sata showing up in the bios ?

    any tips would be much appreciated!
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2012
  15. EMM386

    EMM386 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    The Microserver is INCREDIBLY picky when it comes to esata -> sata cables. Too much plastic shroud I believe. Some people have had limited success filing the end down however it didn't work for me. Had to buy a different cable
     
  16. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,901
    Location:
    Adelaide
    When does your memory rock up Blinky?

    Busting to see how it works for you.:weirdo:


    Found this site, that ships internationally also
    http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php?name=W1333EB8GS

    $99 each

    2 = $199
    Postage is a rip...

    USPS Global Express Guaranteed $117.36
    UPS Worldwide Express $100.85
    UPS Worldwide Saver $64.74
    UPS Worldwide Expedited $63.46
    USPS Express Mail International $60.49

    .
     
  17. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    3,287
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Not bloody soon enough ! Some idiot has put in the boot of thelma & louise's car and they are driving it all over the country. :mad:

    Processed Through Sort Facility

    Your item was processed through our ISC SAN FRANCISCO (USPS) facility on May 11, 2012 at 4:30 am. The item is currently in transit to the destination.

    Processed Through Sort Facility
    May 11, 2012, 4:30 am
    ISC SAN FRANCISCO (USPS)

    Arrived at Sort Facility
    May 11, 2012, 4:29 am
    ISC SAN FRANCISCO (USPS)

    Processed through USPS Sort Facility
    May 10, 2012, 7:20 pm
    SEATTLE, WA 98168

    Dispatched to Sort Facility
    May 10, 2012, 6:22 pm
    RENTON, WA 98059

    Acceptance
    May 10, 2012, 5:53 pm
    RENTON, WA 98059

    Electronic Shipping Info Received
    May 10, 2012



    Edit:

    Yes, that was the first place I tried back here:
    http://forums.overclockers.com.au/showpost.php?p=14350327&postcount=6035
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2012
  18. mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,968
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    with any luck you should have it today or tomorrow

    the whole thread will erupt if this works :)
     
  19. calris

    calris Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Am I missing something?

    http://www.i-tech.com.au/products/105214_Kingston_1066MHz_DDR3_8GB_ECC_Reg.aspx
     
  20. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,901
    Location:
    Adelaide

Share This Page

Advertisement: