1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! (Attempting to sell here will result in bans)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by oli, May 10, 2011.

  1. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,475
    Location:
    Perth
    How do you attach it?
     
  2. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    4,020
    Location:
    Brisbane
    You don't it just sits there. Geees the SSD is only flash memory in a box why do you need to attach it?
     
  3. silenthunter

    silenthunter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,634
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Zip ties work.
     
  4. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,901
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Double sided Velcro for the win:thumbup:
     
  5. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,475
    Location:
    Perth
    well it can't sit in midair can it?
     
  6. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    4,020
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Oh I might see the problem now, is the N54L different to the N36L & N40L ?
    Do you not have a second section where all the molex cables are under the ODD, behind the service light ?

    Mine sits there, basically on top of the HDD swap housing.
     
  7. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,475
    Location:
    Perth
    Oh righto, gotcha, thanks. I was imagining it without the hdd cage in. Is there another port for it?
     
  8. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    4,020
    Location:
    Brisbane
    You've got the std ODD port or loop-back the esata port - (cables on ebay for the esata to sata).
     
  9. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,475
    Location:
    Perth
    Thanks, I've already got a disk in the ODD bay, so it'd have to be that loopback thing. Not sure whether I can be bothered, but I'll keep it in mind.
     
  10. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,475
    Location:
    Perth
    Instead of looping back in to an SSD from the esata, can you run it off a PCIe sata card instead?
     
  11. garnet

    garnet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    3020
    dont see why not.

    I had 7 disks in there, 4 standard slot, the odd sata port goes to the SSD and 2 more from a pcie sata card
     
  12. Raptor_Eye

    Raptor_Eye Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,563
    Location:
    Canberra ACT
    So i just ordered one of these and have a bunch of of spare various size hard drives i'd like to use but put them in one pool. (1tb, 2tb, 3tb and probably a 4tb drive as well)

    Whats the best option for this? was reading about https://stablebit.com/ any other options you would recommend?

    EDIT: using Windows Home Server 2011
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2014
  13. salem_christ

    salem_christ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Grey hole? Not sure if it has a windows version though.

    On Linux or BSD I'd suggest ZFS.

    Stable bit drive pool is pretty much the go-to for windows though.
     
  14. Hyram

    Hyram Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    820
    StableBit's Drive Pool gave me nothing but grief, its all-important Scanner function just kept crashing the machine.

    My money's on Drive Bender by Division M, a Sydney based developer. Rapid updates, insanely fast support (left a message on their forum, lead developer rang me five minutes later!), and really simple to set up & use.
     
  15. Raptor_Eye

    Raptor_Eye Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,563
    Location:
    Canberra ACT
    sounds interesting, I should of mentioned i'm also looking at bitlocker encryption, do you use encryption along with Drive Bender?
     
  16. Hyram

    Hyram Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    820
    I don't believe in encryption, period.
     
  17. trackhappy

    trackhappy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,364
    Location:
    Redbank Plains, QLD, 4301
    I'm sorry, what?
     
  18. Hyram

    Hyram Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    820
    Perhaps one needs to brush up on their English comprehension skills? :p

    I consider it an unnecessary complexity. As I won't even bother to see if Drive Bender supports it, let alone try it if it does, I can't answer Raptor.
     
  19. Raptor_Eye

    Raptor_Eye Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,563
    Location:
    Canberra ACT
    lol you sound like my dad.

    I dont believe in phones, they are the work of the devil! rarrrr

    Anyway does anyone else use drive bender or stablebit with drive encryption?
     
  20. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,475
    Location:
    Perth
    Could somebody please clarify this bizzo with the boot disk size? Somebody earlier said that the OS won't boot from anything bigger than a 2TB. Does that mean the whole disk has to be 2TB or less, or will it boot from a 2TB partition on a higher capacity disk? Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: