HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! (Attempting to sell here will result in bans)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by oli, May 10, 2011.

  1. doodz

    doodz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,155
    Location:
    Sydney
    Anyone who has Solaris Express 11. What speeds do you get when copying over the network via cifs?? Im getting shit slow speeds! :mad:
     
  2. sewid

    sewid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Sydney
    FYI with freenas I get 39mb/s over CIFS from Windows 7 so it's not the HP hardware.
     
  3. cuahtemoc

    cuahtemoc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,421
    Location:
    Adelaide...ish.
    I get about 80-90 MB/s writing to the SMB share from a single disk on my 2008R2 box.

    edit: Standard NIC and IBM BR10i controller, 5x Hitachi 2tb 5900 RPM drives in a RaidZ1.
     
  4. doodz

    doodz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,155
    Location:
    Sydney
    Tried using FTP?

    Are you using a download helper such as teracopy?

    I dont get it I setup the same thing with my other server and it's running fantastically...

    Hmmmmmmm
     
  5. obi

    obi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    Any particular tweaks that you've applied? I'm getting about 50 MB/s max from a Windows 7 machine. NFS I can push to about those numbers you get though, so I don't think it's a case of the hardware not handling it.
     
  6. cuahtemoc

    cuahtemoc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,421
    Location:
    Adelaide...ish.
    Haven't tweaked it at all, just chucked 8gb of ram and the br10i in.
     
  7. Syslink

    Syslink Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    nsw
    I'm getting about 90Mb/s using SMB.
     
  8. doodz

    doodz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,155
    Location:
    Sydney
    What commands did you guys do to set up sharing with a windows machine?
     
  9. obi

    obi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    127
    zfs set sharesmb=on <poolname>
     
  10. rmuser

    rmuser Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    I hear ya man. The last windows system I had was win2k. I got sick to death of clicking "ok". It seemed to me back then that they were tailoring their os to fucktards. Has it improved?
     
  11. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,720
    Location:
    Brisbane
    100-110MB/sec each way..

    unless I'm copying from share to share in which case it's half that...
     
  12. doodz

    doodz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,155
    Location:
    Sydney
    :(

    Ill reinstall it tonight again... ffs
     
  13. Mudhoney

    Mudhoney Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    ditto here. I used napp-it to enable smb and afp
     
  14. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,720
    Location:
    Brisbane
    not sure what reinstalling is going to do... but ok...

    do some internal dd tests on the shares and make sure that at least your internal write speeds are good enough

    do a scrub on your pool - you should get > 200MB/sec scrub speed on these boxes..
     
  15. RedeSiGn

    RedeSiGn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Perth-ish, W.A.
    Just came across a "SSD/HDD/Optical 5.25" Triple Rack" which seems like an excellent compromise between HDDs and Optical Drives in the 5.25" bay (as the name suggests :lol: )

    Price is a bit steep though? About AUD$80
     
  16. doodz

    doodz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,155
    Location:
    Sydney
    Already done taht.... last night..... Gets 200MB/s no problems...

     
  17. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,720
    Location:
    Brisbane
    What network card you using on the windows side? have you had 100MB+ *SUSTAINED* transfers from anything else on your network?

    have you tried a different windows pc?

    my laptop transfers at about 20MB/sec to the same NAS that my desktop gets 110MB/sec to. it's tres annoying.
     
  18. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,956
    and i dont think that even includes the optical! :shock:
     
  19. doodz

    doodz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,155
    Location:
    Sydney
    Nic on the windows is some realtek one..
    Yes Ive had 90-100MB/s transfers all day long back and forth on my norco to it.

    Havent tried from a diff PC.

    But yea the fact that it wont work on the main PC yet on the norco it works it just bizzare! :wired:
     
  20. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,956
    doodz

    you could try disabling task offload on your windows system
    1. Open an elevated command prompt and press Enter: netsh int ip set global taskoffload=disabled
    2. Disable and re-enable the network interface.

    Also, if you have MSSE running on any of them, try turning off the network packet inspection resident module. :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: