HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! (Attempting to sell here will result in bans)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by oli, May 10, 2011.

Tags:
  1. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5,057
    Location:
    4109
    it rather trivial to put a EXT2/4 driver on a windows xp/7/8 box and have access to your data. actually, I think i read somewhere that win10 now reads (and writes) ext4 natively ?? not sure as i'm not running win10 on anything right now.
    synology/XPEnology runs a very small partition at the start of each disk allowing it to find any data and setting for apps and protection to allow migration across their products much just like, but not the same, as windows has its own little system partition of 100mb. i seem to remember the synology one was bigger, but dont know the details these days

    considered trying it out, but i prefer my NAS to be a low maintenance box rather than a large fragile experiment that i'm likely to cock up some random setting in linux and toast half my data
     
  2. millsy_c

    millsy_c Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,146
    Location:
    Brisbane
    See I'd harp on about backups but that'd make me a massive hypocrite as I don't back mine up enough.
     
  3. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,136
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Does anyone actually backup their *cough* linux ISOs though?
     
  4. millsy_c

    millsy_c Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    12,146
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Mine has a lot of photography on it, so it's not really sensible to not. What are people with big NAS's using for backup?
     
  5. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    5,057
    Location:
    4109
    Another big nas :thumbup:
     
    Tinian likes this.
  6. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,704
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    I lost a 5.6TB array of *cough* linux ISOs a couple of months ago.

    There's still a SLIM possibility I could recover it, but highly unlikely and not worth the effort.
     
  7. Tinian

    Tinian Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    14,367
    Location:
    15.0° N, 145.63° E
    I have a g7 sitting on top of a g8.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  8. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,317
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ive lost data before, so I backup the important stuff, but most of it I dont care about

    I have a bunch of scripts copying configs and the like into the cloud :)
     
  9. kambo_rambo

    kambo_rambo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    988
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I read that the n36/n40l ODD SATA port doesnt support > 4TB, but i couldnt only find one mention of it. Anyone confirm/bust?
     
  10. wasas

    wasas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    701
    Location:
    /au/qld/bne
    Just digging up a old thread... After running a n36l since they first came out with 5x 2tb drives (upgraded to 5x3tb 3 years ago) and a 2.5" hdd/ssd onto the internal usb plug i'm upgrading to a n54l. Hooray!
    Just checking if anyone is running 5x8tb drives with a modded bios and no issues?

    looking to get ubuntu 18.04 and running plex/LAMP/samba/mdadm Raid 5/radarr/sonarr/sabnzbd/x2go/a time machine backup and remote desktop again. wonder if its worth starting fresh or moving the existing SSD over and then remounting the drives.
    anyone else upgraded? or migrated?
     

Share This Page