HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! (Attempting to sell here will result in bans)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by oli, May 10, 2011.

  1. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,286
    Location:
    AvE
    You can use SATA drives in SAS ports but not the other way around. They are physically keyed this way so you literally can't screw it up. Those caddys will work fine. SAS/SATA are very similar pinout wise but SAS has a higher signalling voltage as far as i know (Hence the incompatibility of SAS drives in SATA ports / HBA's)
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2019
    TheWedgie likes this.
  2. Mace

    Mace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Canberra
    Feel free to buy them. ;)
    I checked and they are definitely the same as the ones I have been using for laptop SATA drives.
    It seems from the picture comparing SATA and SAS that the only difference is the way power and data are joined for SAS, and separated for SATA.
    So when you plug a SATA into a SAS slot, it fits.

    EDIT. Ah, Hive beat me to it ;)
     
    TheWedgie and Hive like this.
  3. MagyaR

    MagyaR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,764
    Location:
    Melb
    Can anyone confirm if the N36l has a 64bit cpu?
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2019
  4. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,502
    Location:
    Perth
    I'm running 64-bit software on mine.
     
    Mace likes this.
  5. MagyaR

    MagyaR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,764
    Location:
    Melb
    I'm trying to run Unraid 6 (upgraded from 5) and it's not doing too well.
     
  6. sigh71

    sigh71 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Hiya,

    I have n40 that's been running windows server 2012 non stop for years, but now needs to go to at least 2012r2.

    I tried upgrading to 2012r2 but it freezes on first boot and rolls back the upgrade after a restart. Any ideas on how to get around? Or do you think I'd have more luck with a newer windows?
     
  7. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,726
  8. sigh71

    sigh71 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    35
  9. g12345567

    g12345567 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Need to replace the video card in an old N36L. Last time I purchased one was GT520. Just not sure what low profile (half height/length) cards with HDMI I should be looking at?
     
  10. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,324
    Location:
    4109
    The asus 1030 has hdmi out and is fanless, but that massive cooler might be too big/wide for the microservers ...
     
  11. g12345567

    g12345567 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    That would be no good. Anything wider than one slot width would be no good. Especially if yor planing on using both expansion slots.

    The two single slot cards I have come across.

    MSI GT710 2GD3H LP (Fanless GDDR3) $55
    Gigasbyte GeForce GT 710 2GB Low Profile Video Card GV-N710D3-2GL (Fan GDDR5) $55
    MSI Geforce GT 1030 Low Profile OC 2GB (Fan GDDR5) $115
    Gigabyte GT 1030 Low Profile 2G GDDR5 (Fan GDDR5) $129

    GT 710 released: 29 January, 2016
    GT 1030 Released: 17 May, 2017
     
  12. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,502
    Location:
    Perth
  13. g12345567

    g12345567 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    That would be the Asus GT710-SL-2GDG (fanless) around $79
    Other than the fan noise how does the fanless compare heat wise to one with a fan?

    After looking into this a bit more decided to get GT1030. as the GT710 is getting a bit old and I wanted something that can handle 4k HDR, HEVC 10bit H.265, 2160p and can connect to a 4K TV. Which the GT710 can't do from what I can tell without dropping to 30fps and only has a hdmi 1.4a port.

    Just wondering has anybody installed one of these into one of the first generation HP N36L N40L or N54L microserver computers?
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2019
  14. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,324
    Location:
    4109
    Same gpu same heat output for same load
     
  15. broccoli

    broccoli Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    21,502
    Location:
    Perth
    I've no idea, all I know is that nothing has shut down because of overheating. If I can remember/find which computer it's in, I can maybe get the running temp if you want.
     
  16. b-man

    b-man Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    hey guys,
    Just wondering if anyone has some 16gb ECC ram for this thing that works? i have tried a few different non ECC sticks and nothing worked so running 2x2gb sticks of the genuine stuff that come with it. but on boot i actually have no ram left these days. im using about 3.8gb then when chrome runs it gets a little jumpy sometimes. its still ok but im hoping some extra ram will just make it that much more pleasant. i could probably reformat and resetup the whole thing and it would use less but it works and is a reasonalbe speed so figured give it some ram and it should be happy.
     
  17. Mace

    Mace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Canberra
    Hi b-man, there are posts in here about the Gen7 and the Gen8. Which one are you hoping to upgrade?
    Details on compatible parts can be found here:
    https://n40l.fandom.com/wiki/Memory
    Gen7 at the top, scroll down for Gen8.
    As you mention you have tried non ECC RAM I think you have the Gen8
    If you haven't yet, a CPU upgrade for Gen8 to Xeon E3-1220 is well worth it.
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Intel-X...cket-1155-DDR3-1333MHz-SR00F-S43/223666311230
     
  18. b-man

    b-man Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Of course there's more than the N40L my bad.
    im running a Gen7.
    Cheers, will check out that post.

    EDIT:
    Checked out that list. there's like 0 stock of basically everything in australia.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2019
  19. sic_vl2000

    sic_vl2000 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    975
    Hey folks, wanting to downsize my HP ProLiant G6 server that I've got to a microserver. I've been looking for a Gen 8, can't really justify the prices for a G10, where can I find Gen 8's these days? If this isn't the correct place, feel free to let me know as I'm not wanting to break the rules / get anyone into trouble.
     
  20. Mace

    Mace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Canberra
    I got mine on eBay.
    Also the Xeon CPU and cooler etc.
    CPU fan
    https://homeservershow.com/forums/topic/6170-active-cpu-cooling-for-the-gen8/
    Supply power to CPU fan
    https://homeservershow.com/forums/topic/6170-active-cpu-cooling-for-the-gen8/page/3/
    Install USB 3.0 front ports.
    https://imgur.com/a/fLbvi
    No guide, but you can fit a fifth 3.5" drive up top under the DVDRW with a little metal cutting.

    I'd be happy to custom build another one if that interests you.
     
    sic_vl2000 and millen like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: