HP ProLiant MicroServer Owners Club! (Attempting to sell here will result in bans)

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by oli, May 10, 2011.

  1. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    These things are crazy. A brand new one, which was bog stock standard, just went for $710 on eBay!
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  2. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,299
    Location:
    4109
    wow!
    at that price it might be time to sell mine
     
    Blinky likes this.
  3. bym007

    bym007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Was that Gen 8 or Gen 10 ?
     
  4. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Are you mad? You won’t get a Gen 10 for anywhere near that, more like $1,300.

    The eBay sale was a Microserver Gen8 G1610T 2GB RAM No HDD.
     
  5. bym007

    bym007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Sorry my bad. Should have checked going rates before asking. :upset:

    In another life, I bought 2 Gen8 servers from US, and brought them with me to Australia 3 years back. Looks like I am sitting on a pot of gold. heheh
     
  6. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    No mate my bad if you thought I was aggressive, I didn’t mean it.

    You don’t have any links back in the US still? That seems to be the only option for a Gen 10 -> AU atm.

    Edit: I would normally just say diy build but it doesn’t seem to be as easy as that.
     
  7. bym007

    bym007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Melbourne
    No, you are a'right. Its only a Monday. :)

    I could look into getting one from US, if I was pushed.
    But too be honest, I am only using 1 of my Gen 8 as a prod UnRAID currently (24TB). The other unit is a dedicated test unit, so only comes on, when required. Its had a fairly easy life... haha
     
  8. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,299
    Location:
    4109
  9. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
  10. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    When you get a chance, please see what you can do from the US.
     
  11. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,299
    Location:
    4109
    do you need drives ?
    i could be convinced to sell mine with no drives.
    give me a day or two to think about it and then flick me a PM
    naturally the rules shall be followed, and a listing in FS will/would be made for transparent sale
     
  12. Blinky

    Blinky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    Not really thanks Mutman, I would like to go a new build.
    I currently have a 4x2TB and a 2x14TB to go in.
     
  13. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,299
    Location:
    4109
    All good. If you get stuck yell out :)
     
  14. yaboo

    yaboo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hi All

    I have two gen 8 microservers, recently purchased e3-1230 v2 cpu for the units. can I just plufg them in or do I need to update the firmware etc, if so where do I get the firmware from please

    Joseph
     
  15. bym007

    bym007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Melbourne
    When I upgraded my unit, I didnt need to update my firmware in order to detect the new processor. I would just check the BIOS is able to see the new processor during boot up.
     
  16. bym007

    bym007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Having said that its better to keep BIOS etc updated for bug fixes etc.

    Link
     
  17. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,299
    Location:
    4109
    i dropped a 1265 in with zero dramas
    go for it
     
  18. yaboo

    yaboo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Melbourne
    How does one obtain the latest bios please, current running linux on my microservers
     
  19. yaboo

    yaboo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Also does anyone have the blanking plate or where to acquire one for the gen 8 dvd bay please. Going to replace my dvd drive with a hdd
     
  20. woja

    woja Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Sydney
    My N36L PSU died
    I ended up getting a generic Pico PSU off ebay, I was wondering how everyone was powering their drives off a pico psu as they only have a pata molex and sata connector. Was thinking about modding a spare molex power cable from my modular PSU and plugging into that.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: