HP Z440 Workstation - ?Economically Viable Home PC

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Kelvin, Mar 2, 2019.

  1. HorrorLand

    HorrorLand Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    Location:
    Riverina
    I just want xeon and quadro for the software support even if the hardware may be identical to prosumer counterparts at a much higher price point. It really does make a difference when it comes to using a program like solidworks, I suppose that what workstations are built for in the end.
     
  2. mrturkey

    mrturkey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    462
    Location:
    Wodonga, VIC
  3. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,612
    Just becareful.. its missing the front fan option and the memory cooler (which I think you to boot with more than 4 sticks of ram) and I presume will probably have the lower grade power supply in..

    given these were all options..

    Trust me.. you don't want to try to by these parts later...


    Compare the pictures with the insides of the carcass listed here..
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/HP-Z440...533761?hash=item340560de01:g:YgEAAOSwtLxcW~Rf

     
  4. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,612
  5. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,144
    whats the cooler mounting like on these? Do you need to take the mobo off etc? Do they need special coolers or are they standard (for their socket)?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,612
    Don't need to take the mobo off to remove the CPU HSF.. on the Z440... Can't say, I have switched out a CPU on the Z420 yet..

    I would never replace the HSF CPU on the Z440... its pretty amazingly quiet....

    Its screw down... I can't tell you if its a standard 2011 though..

    IF you tried a 3rd party HSF.. there's a good change the memory shroud and fan.. wont fit back on.. and I suspect the machine.. would be pretty unhappy if it wasn't connected..
     
  7. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,144
    Its more for if you were swapping CPUs. I've never done that before on a pre-built workstation (or a dedicated server for that matter), so wondering.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,612
    Here is my Z420.. just upgrading it to a E5-2690.. looks like standard mounts.. but couldnt get the stock intel HSF onto it.. due to the memory shoroud..

    http://ocau.com/pix/h0dz7

    Click to view full size!



    Here is the HSF on my unit.. looks like its the higher end all in one watercooling unit..
    http://ocau.com/pix/gk4j5

    Click to view full size!


    NB.. the Z420 is considerably louder than my Z440..... but still quieter than my normal rig..

    hard to know if its due to age ... or design factors..


    Althoguh.. not officially supported.. the Z420 takes registered buffered ddr3 simms with no issues at all... (the picture shows a total of 8x8gigs = 64gig installed)
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2019
    wintermute000 likes this.
  9. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,144
    thx. I'm sitting pretty with a 2xE5-2670 / 64Gb RAM / Asrock EP2C602 custom workstation turned into lab server from hell (thanks OCAU trading!) but in a year or two or when it dies I'll be in the hunt for something with sky lake cores (and 64+Gb RAM lol).
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,612
    .. The EP2602 probably wont die.. for a very long time..

    You should keep at eye out for the high end CPUs .. some ebay sellers have reasonable prices on these..

    I managed a pair of E5-2697v2 for $630 delivered November 2018
    and a pair of E5-2680v2 for $378 delivered in October of 2017
    and a pair of E5-2690 v1 for $190 delivered last week...
     
  11. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,173
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I think you need to post here any future deals you come across... :D
     
  12. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,144
    I thought I was a OCAU buy/sell hound until I saw you in action lol. What do you do with all the compute you accumulate?

    Yeah hopefully the thing will last many years. Is certainly still doing the job, and heating my room into the bargin as winter descends lol (2 sandy octa-cores chew decent wattage as you know).

    I guess I'm a little bit sus as it literally takes minutes to post and boot - just the post takes 30+ seconds sometimes, and very occasionally, it won't boot and hangs there but it always 'fixes itself' if I hit reset. Then also very occasionally (esp when coming back after complete power loss e.g. shutdown house panel) it boots with max fans and won't cool down... until you reboot it then its fine WTF.

    Its a lab machine and I've had it for 2+ years now so I'm not particularly concerned (esp as I can BMC in and reboot it again lol even remotely) but yeah would then need to be on the hunt again for 1k's worth of octa-core / 64Gb or better lol.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2019
  13. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,612
    Absolutely nothing... I'm a bit of a hoarder.. I tend. to buy.. and basically never sell.. (which is pretty stupid)

    I can guarantee I have more compute gear than most other people...

    I can't refuse.. a bargain..

    For those looking for bargains...

    the 10% off Ebay.. is not bad..
    https://www.ozbargain.com.au/node/443937

    This is probably the best value E5-26xxV3 CPU at the moment..
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Intel-Xeon-E5-2628-V3-8-Core-2-5GHz-20MB-Cache-SR201-CPU-Processor/143064106363?_trkparms=aid=111001&algo=REC.SEED&ao=1&asc=20160908105057&meid=1851d904f3124ead87c3f28e22f644c6&pid=100675&rk=1&rkt=15&sd=173677614161&itm=143064106363&_trksid=p2481888.c100675.m4236&_trkparms=pageci:c96223e7-456b-11e9-898f-74dbd18077ba|parentrq:7636a0681690ac1a9afdf91fffe6ecd9|iid:1

    X5650 locally for $25 delivered - 10%
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Intel-X...ntel-QPI-LGA/283141474546?hash=item41ec8c08f2

    13x E5640 for $9.95 delivered - additional 10% off
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/LOT-OF-...5-86-GT-s-In/282769618360?hash=item41d661f5b8

    32gb of DDR4-2133 4DRx4 = $225 and take a further 10% off..
    (watch out it is LRDIMMs.. make sure your board can use them)
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Samsung...33P/183424154167?_trksid=p2485497.m4902.l9144

    Fastest Sandybridge EP cpus.. the E-2697W - $179 - 10% + 12 posted..
    https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Intel-X...Cpu/264217564613?_trksid=p2485497.m4902.l9144


     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2019
    OJR likes this.
  14. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,144
    OK if you ever want to offload some many-core many-ram stuff you know who to PM. lol
     
  15. Matthew kane

    Matthew kane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,545
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The 10% discount codes only work when you spend $100 or more in most cases. It won't work on deals that are $10-20 or less than 100 sometimes. ToC covers this.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,612
    Managed to grab a T5610 from ebay.. at a reasonably Prce..
    And a T7810 is on its way to me as well..

    Lots of fun to be had ....

     
  17. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,173
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Awesome! What CPUs came with them?
     
  18. underskore

    underskore Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,236
    Location:
    3198
    (at work) I've just gone from a Z420 to a lap-brick Precision 5530 - I'm only just learning how many of the CAD features I use took advantage of the extra cores :'(

    Now that we've become a dell shop at work there's a good chance I'll get the OK to bring the Z420 home (in which case it'll be in the for sale section pretty quickly)
     
    OJR likes this.
  19. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,144
    If I'm not mistaken the 5530 is the XPS15 analogue so you get hex-cores on it right?

    I'd be interested in ye olde Z420 if you're in Melbourne and its at least hex-core / 32Gb RAM :)
     
  20. Bion1c

    Bion1c Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,210
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Thanks for the heads up on these Kelvin. I've put off upgrading my main desktop PC for ages and this is a pretty tempting option.
    I'm not intending to play games on it, but I do a lot of photo editing. The fact it's quiet, pretty high spec and has ECC ram is pretty attractive.

    One thing I'm wondering about though is storage expandability. I wanted to run a m2 nvme ssd in my new system (preferably 2 slots, leaving one for future upgrade).... what are the options for the Z440? I assume there is no m2 slot on the motherboard? Also how many hdd slots are there internally?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: