HP Z440 Workstation - ?Economically Viable Home PC

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Kelvin, Mar 2, 2019.

  1. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,822
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You can always just use PCI-E adapters for your M.2 drives.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,967
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    The T5610 had E5-2603v2s. Around $500 .. I lashed out for a pair of E5-2697v2s which cost more that the machine
    The T7810 has E5-2609v3s around $700 ... i already have pair of low speed octacores to drop into..(E5-2630v3 ... $360 for the pair if I remember correctly)



     
    OJR likes this.
  3. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,967
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    See OJR response re pci-eadaptors
    6 sata ports (I think). two 3.5 bays. And two 5.25 inch bays .. which you could adapt for more hdd bays .. plus the slim optical bay
    You might need to double xheck the slec sheets..
    Given i dont have a machine in front of me

     
  4. wwwww

    wwwww Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,410
    Location:
    Bangkok
    The Z440 supported up to 4 M2 SSDs through an addon card. If your machine doesn't have this option installed you can just find one on eBay (check the option list, it was called the Quad Pro or something), update the BIOS and voila, you have 4x M2 slots.

    It has 6 SATA slots but you only one to use four of them and you only have 2 3.5" slots.
     
  5. Bion1c

    Bion1c Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,223
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hmm that quad pro looks cool. very expensive unfortunately :( cheapest i could find on ebay was about $1000 from US (plus shipping/gst/customs etc etc)

    what's the deal with the sata ports?
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,967
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    Hmmm...

    I can confirm the T7810 Doesn't boot with my corsair DDR4 non ECC , unbuffered ram....
    Now to find a pair of decently spec'd. E5-26xx v3 or v4 at a reasonably price..
    I can get a pair of non ES E5-2678 V3s landed at around $630... .. they seem to be 2680V3s with lower thermals at 120W..



     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2019
  7. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,967
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    Okay back at home now..
    I see six sata ports.. two 3.5 HDD bays and two 5.25 inch bays..

    ??I don't see what the issues is

    However getting registered ECC RAM at a reasonable price appears difficult at the moment..

     
  8. proffesso

    proffesso Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    9,127
    Location:
    Watsonia, Melbourne
    love my Z620, dual 2680v2's + 64gb

    still got 4 slots free, total of 96...if I find ram in a good deal i'll do it.

    aparently only the samsung 951 m.2's are compatible as boot drives for this though. ive got a 960 evo sata in it which is doing the job just fine though.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,967
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    The Samsung 950 Pros should work as well..
    Rumour have it that the Kingston HyperX Predator also has a boot room.

    Always wanted a HP Z620... never found one with the Ivybridge support at a reasonable prcie..

    registered ram is getting very cheap now.. 16gb sticks are between $30 and $50 if you wait for the right deals.

     
  10. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,985
    I can confirm that the Kingston Hyper X Predator works perfectly.

    The machine in question would make a good HTPC, may be a little noisy and power hungry though?
     
  11. 2_stroke

    2_stroke Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,346
    Location:
    Wangaratta vic 3677
    was thinking multi gamer using hypervisor for lans, miss my unraid box :(
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,967
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    Finally grabbed a reasonably priced T5810... ,$300 with 8gig of ram only 256gb SSD, 4tb and E5-1603v3..

    Dropped the 5960X into it.. .. works fine as expected.. with the Reg ECC... but ECC is NOT enabled..

    Looks like a xeon is needed for ECC support in the T5810.. unlike the HPs...


    .....

    Hmmm.. For Sh*ts and giggles.. just dropped in the 5820K cpu into the T5810..

    Guess what.. it works!!!!
    but my video card is running at 4x.. not 16x ?????

     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2019
  13. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,822
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Wow! Awesome. I was eyeing off an 5960X but wasn't sure if it would work. Thanks for verifying for me Kelvin.
     
  14. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,312
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    how is the dell compared to the hp? Which one is quieter?
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,967
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    Both seem pretty quiet... just running Prime 95 on the T5810 with a 10 core E5-2650V3
    I don't think.. its going to be easy to differentiate between them, based on FAN noise..

    HP Pros
    Better CPU cooling solution and memory cooling
    2x 5.25 inch bays, plus super super slimline bay and 2 x 3.5 bays.
    ECC support with I7 CPUS
    Standard 700W powersupply
    Same PCB / bios as the Z640

    Dell Pros
    Can use ECC Reg or Non ECC RAM.
    7 slots versus 6 on the the HP.
    Most units have the Slimine DVD installed
    Very easy to remove powersupply
    Prettier looking machine.

    HP Cons
    Must use REG ECC ram only
    Most units dont come with the DVD drive (super slim line unit.. nearly impossible to buy cheaply)
    Only Six PCI slots.

    Dell Cons
    units come with either the 435W or 685W watt power supply.. sometimes hard to find out which unit you are get..
    CPU HSF is really small.. ie likely to not cope with high TDP cpus..
    No ECC support with i7 cpus.

    Personally I'd probably with the HP.. as the Dell is much harder to find with 685W power supply..
    But the dell is a better looking machine overall.. and more flexible with Ram than the HP..

    In end.. I dont think. it matter which one.. so long.. you get the bits and pieces / configuration that you want at the right price.
     
    OJR likes this.
  16. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,312
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Yeah seriously tempted to get one of these, my Asus X99 board is terrible! Where do you find deals like that? Pretty amazing for $300.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,967
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    OJR likes this.
  18. wwwww

    wwwww Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,410
    Location:
    Bangkok
    Haven't tested the Z440 (although it's my main PC), but the Z420s ran with unbuffered ECC just fine.

    Another pro for the Dell is that they run "extra special" CPUs, the new Z4/Z6/Z8 do and the Z440 ran "quite special" CPUs but wouldn't run the "extra special" chips.
     
  19. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,822
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Also pretty sure that the T5810 come with a 1085W PSU also.
     
  20. wwwww

    wwwww Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,410
    Location:
    Bangkok
    I will test the Z440 with the Asus Hyper card next week, these are only $100 and support 4x M2 cards. If this works it's a cheap option for adding NVMe.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: