HTC Desire

Discussion in 'Google Android (OS & Devices)' started by Dimtar, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. damo2002

    damo2002 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3085
    Would love a Desire S just for the internal space. Regular Desire is a killer for that!
     
  2. Clem

    Clem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    3,104
    Location:
    Radelaide, 5044
    Not once it's rooted and CM7 HBOOT is installed it's not...

    >30 minutes of yr time and it's done complete...will be doing another tonight...
     
  3. mortal

    mortal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    8,393
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah even if its been rooted and installed with another ROM its still bad. I've got oxygen and I'm really struggling for space.
     
  4. Pipster

    Pipster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Adelaide
    just started running CM7... Its cooler than stock i reckon
     
  5. anark1

    anark1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,764
    Location:
    melbourne
    currently running T-Mod “Homestuck” (2.2e leedroid)
    and have been thinking about changing/upgrading myself to a newer rom, from what im hearing cm7 seems to be the way to go.
     
  6. Clem

    Clem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    3,104
    Location:
    Radelaide, 5044
    Love CM7...Ozjubb is the man over at Whirlpool to follow..

    His special work on the baadnewz 'insertcoin' ROM's are nothing short of spectacular IMO...
     
  7. antenna

    antenna Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    535
    Location:
    SA
    I got the time/courage to play with rooting & roms the other week after 6 months or so with my Desire. First I tried Redux, played with it for a few days and while it is way faster than stock, I really began to miss the consistency of Sense after a while. You wouldn't think it would kill Google to at least try and make their apps look the same and stop chucking random colours everywhere. I'm never likely to move to Apple but at least they have the right idea in this regard.

    Anyway, put on InsertCoin and it's very slick. A little laggier than Redux but that was expected. I can put up with that if it means my phone is significantly less ugly. Will stay with this for the time being I imagine. :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2011
  8. dainese

    dainese Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,730
    Location:
    Sydney
    is it dying earlier than expected though?

    try calibrating battery
     
  9. NanoDuke

    NanoDuke Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7,630
    Location:
    Sydney
    Seems to be okay now dainese. I might a power/drain cycles though. Couldn't hurt.
     
  10. dainese

    dainese Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,730
    Location:
    Sydney
    :thumbup::thumbup:
     
  11. dcl

    dcl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,267
    Location:
    melbourne.au
    Interesting.

    Well I flashed a new radio, running villain_au now (a CM7 mod) and it looks like my speeds/gps performance is noticeably inferior. Might have to try another radio.
     
  12. MagyaR

    MagyaR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,764
    Location:
    Melb
    I'm using Insert Coin at the moment, was using CM7 but the lack of GPS accuracy was pissing me off, also the slow micro sd transfer speeds of 900k/s, shame.
     
  13. dcl

    dcl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,267
    Location:
    melbourne.au
    What sort of transfer speeds do you get with InsertCoin? My transfer speed is sucking too, class 10 SDcard :( Apparently the SD Multimount app fixes the issue with CM7.

    Can you confirm that InsertCoin improved your GPS accuracy? Because mine sucks as well, but I put that down to the new radio I flashed.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2011
  14. MagyaR

    MagyaR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,764
    Location:
    Melb
    I think my card is only a Class 4 or 6, read somewhere that class 10 for small files are actually slower then 4 & 6, 10 is good for cameras. I get around 3-4MB/s, I'll try transferring some music this week. I tried one of the multimount apps but it didn't work, and fuk that, the cooks need to get their shit together.

    I use Cardio Trainer a lot and it took a few minutes for the blue circle to disappear, also during the workout (cycling) the arrow would jump streets, now I get shown where I am straight away.
     
  15. archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,824
    Location:
    western sydney
    anyone having any weather update issues on the sense clock/weather widget?

    mine has been quite random in terms of updating successfully or not being able to update at all.

    EDIT started last friday 27/05
     
  16. Ozjubb

    Ozjubb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Hiya Clem,

    I do occasionally make it over here, more of a reader than a poster when at overclockers though. :wired:

    Has been an ongoing issue for some localities, I have tested with multiple weather apps that source their weather data from accuwather and have seen the same problem, only occurs in certain areas though, comes down to weather data not being available from the area your in.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2011
  17. MagyaR

    MagyaR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,764
    Location:
    Melb
    Hrmm, installed CM7.0.3, GPS seems to be ok now, haven't tried MicroSD transfer yet from the phone, fingers crossed.
     
  18. Kyl3

    Kyl3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    3,035
    Location:
    The Hunter
    Just picked up one of these little beauties off a fellow member for $280.. Win.

    Spent a coupla hours last night rooting and so on and so fourth, now has CM7 2nd latest stable. Tried the latest however got the unsigned error.

    Left S-ON, didn't see the need to change it. Should I?

    Performance absolutely smashes it, got the cpu set at max and on demand and battery use is good so far.


    Any other suggestions for things I should do to this phone or apps?

    Oh, hate the little trackerball thingy, damn annoying haha
     
  19. toje

    toje Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,305
    Location:
    South NSW
    There is a few advantages to S-OFF like adfree and the logcat bootup, but if you don't want those things then its not worth it.

    Mine if off at repairs, I miss the thing.
     
  20. zach

    zach (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,614
    Location:
    chermside.bris.qld.au:80
    Flash different partition tables, also flashing radios/recoverys from fastboot is much safer. Custom SPLASH1 etc images are also nice.
    Which recovery gave you the unsigned error? Guessing Amon RA?
    Running InsertCoin CM7 v42, snappy as hell, might do a full wipe and flash the latest stable though.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: