1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

HTC Hero Discussion

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Devices' started by wastegate, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. jl2k2

    jl2k2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    I had mine for about 3 weeks nows (white) have lots of iPhone users making positive comments about it, then they go back to their iPhone (shrugs)

    anyway, does anyone know any apps that can change button configurations?

    what I'd like to do is to turn on the speaker phone while in a phone conversation by pressing the scroll ball.
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
  2. `X'

    `X' Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,952
    Location:
    Brisvegas BABY!
    check the android forums maybe?
     
  3. FoBZY

    FoBZY Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,127
    bought mine today, arrives tomorrow :)

    found a place that did it for me on voda phone cap for only 17ish a month extra :D dont know how it works but im not complaining.

    edit: actually anyone know how it works? vodaphone themselves dont offer the phone but this place subsidises the phone cost by like 400, then you just pick which cap you want and then add the phone cost on top per month. how do they make money off it and why dont official vodaphone shops do it???
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
  4. sirelliottm

    sirelliottm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,861
    Location:
    ACT
    IIRC the company gets X amount of cents each phone call you make.
     
  5. FoBZY

    FoBZY Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,127
    oh. but its the same cap so I pay the same amount?

    as long as its nothing dodgy I dont care, ended up with the hero, unbranded and unlocked for around $400
     
  6. swatson

    swatson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,728
    Location:
    Melbourne (3148)
    i wouldnt be surprised if they have contracted you to another phone, then they sell it outright or on ebay.

    I know of optus dealers that used to this this a fair bit, especially with business group plans, sign up 3 plans get 3 handsets, dealer keeps them all, gives you a full spec one with car kit, accessories, etc ...
     
  7. FoBZY

    FoBZY Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,127
    oh yeah I never thought of that. This guy's english isnt great so it would be a bit hard to ask. Guess it still works out alright for me
     
  8. vOOdsy

    vOOdsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,000
    Location:
    Victoria
    cheers :thumbup:
     
  9. -=N0N@ME420=-

    -=N0N@ME420=- Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,562
    I've got the HTC hero, I'm fairly happy with it, I think it could use quite a few ui improvements, but regardless, I'm currently with Vodafone in an area which has full 3g support, and I'm getting no signal, what can I do ?

    edit: my bad, didn't put the sim in properly.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2009
  10. Darkness'

    Darkness' Never a frown..

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,377
    Location:
    Sydney
    Has anyone else had any issues with MMS? 90% of the time I can't seem to download them. I can turn wifi off, makes no difference. I have the right settings for optus, it just fails?
     
  11. 0oBelialo0

    0oBelialo0 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,025
    Location:
    Canberra
    I'm not buying anything till the Nexus comes out, but for those using android 2.0 what's the music/podcast/audiobook support like?
     
  12. FoBZY

    FoBZY Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,127
    im having the same problem ! im with vodafone. All the settings are right according to the net. They just go to undelieverable :( its driving me nuts

    phone is awesome otherwise :thumbup:
     
  13. P00peyes

    P00peyes Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    Werribee, Vic
    Im having the same issues with mms and im with Vodafone. I also cant seem to send files via bluuetooth....
     
  14. FoBZY

    FoBZY Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,127
    Took the sim out put it in another phone and mms still didn't work. Put it back into the hero and went to bed. Woke up and it had sent every mms including all the retries so ppl got about 8 copies of it. Works fine now. Maybe try that?

    Also don't think u can send bt files. Comes in android 2 update though
     
  15. -=N0N@ME420=-

    -=N0N@ME420=- Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,562
    Is the youtube download program giving anyone else 'can't play that video' issues?
     
  16. MiGiSHu

    MiGiSHu Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,159
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada ePenis Size: Whoppingly Large
    Yeah, the built in Youtube player sucks donkey balls. I'm not sure if there's a better one on the market though.
     
  17. -=N0N@ME420=-

    -=N0N@ME420=- Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,562
    I really don't understand how this app got through qa. :mad:
     
  18. TRAG!C

    TRAG!C Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,755
    Location:
    Sydney
    My hero should arrive today :) and without looking through 30 pages what are some must have apps? Also anything I need to look out for as a first time user? I have already sorted all my google contacts to prepare.
     
  19. `X'

    `X' Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,952
    Location:
    Brisvegas BABY!
    there is a list about page 25/26 if you use default post settings.
     
  20. TRAG!C

    TRAG!C Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,755
    Location:
    Sydney
    Can't see it? Any chance you could link me to the post?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: