HTC Touch Diamond 2 and HTC Touch Pro 2 Discussion

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Devices' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Feb 17, 2009.

  1. Clem

    Clem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    3,104
    Location:
    Radelaide, 5044
    Nice post Rexy, i will get one at some stage, will chuck on a cooked rom, depending on what seems to be the best at the time, i think i will be ok with the device...

    it has the features i want and able to install others makes it even more appealing to me right now...I like symbian, but am keen to try WinMo
     
  2. Wacko02

    Wacko02 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Make sure you post up here if you find a place selling the 850/2100 phones outright.
     
  3. nexx

    nexx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6,363
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I got it on eBay for $799 (new, plus post). Although a lot of guys over at Whirlpool are using clove.co.uk. Mine came with an aussie power adapter, car charger & TomTom7 with Australia maps.

    Arrived today, haven't had much of a chance to play around with it yet. First impressions are good :thumbup: It's much smaller than I expected. Fingerprint magnet though :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2009
  4. Clem

    Clem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    3,104
    Location:
    Radelaide, 5044
    Ahh sweet, can you chuck me the ebay seller...PM is ok...

    For that price i might be getting it sooner rather than later..i would like an 850 version, but i can live without it...
     
  5. nexx

    nexx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6,363
    Location:
    Brisbane
    First impressions...

    It's smaller than I expected. Even knowing the dimensions beforehand and seeing videos, it feels really small in my hand. Not a bad thing, I like small phones :thumbup:

    Despite its size it has an awesome screen resolution. So the pixels are very small. The stylus comes in handy!

    Zoom bar is great. But it's capacitive so the stylus doesn't work with it.

    GPS, wifi & A2DP Bluetooth all worked fine. No surprises there. Camera is good in daylight but average indoors. Again no surprises.

    After a day of moderate use it's absolutely covered in fingerprints and the battery is nearly dead...this is going to suck for traveling (part of the reason I got the phone). There are some interface quirks I've found but nothing I hope some 3rd party apps/tweaks cant fix!
     
  6. Clem

    Clem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    3,104
    Location:
    Radelaide, 5044
    Still running the same ROM nexx? or have you found a decent one to use??
     
  7. nexx

    nexx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6,363
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Still using the default HTC one, it didn't come branded by a carrier (I bought it outright). No major issues so far :)

    I haven't played around enough to get into different ROMs etc yet...maybe one day!
     
  8. Team.AU

    Team.AU Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    hey mate where are the best places to find the latest roms for tp2?
     
  9. Clem

    Clem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    3,104
    Location:
    Radelaide, 5044
    XDA the only place to be.....
     
  10. Team.AU

    Team.AU Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    251
    has anyone got the gps working on the tp2, ive tried everything from 3 versions of tomtomk to hard resets and changing all settings...

    any ideas would be great!
     
  11. AToMiC_VoN

    AToMiC_VoN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Swahili Land
    I had a lot of issues trying to get the Tomtom stuff to work.

    Ended up getting the Garmin XT Mobile...works an absolute treat off the TP2.

    Locks onto the GPS within seconds too all thanks to the QuickGPS feature.

    I've still got the default HTC ROM. Bought it outright too.

    Got the Jawbone Prime bluetooth and loving that :thumbup:

    16gb stick and all that.

    For me it's been very stable.

    Only have had the odd bluetooth twice where I can hear them and they can't hear me, but a quick powerdown/powerup and all is good again.

    Considering I had the Nokia N73, it's definitely an upgrade.
     
  12. Jackolow

    Jackolow Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,765
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    HTC Touch pro 2 + extended warranty?

    I'm thinking of getting a touch pro 2 because my last PDA phone died (HW6515). I played with it the other day at a Telstra store and I wasn't overly impressed considering it was $1500 outright... however there were quite a lot of limitations when I was playing with it such as that they had locked the tilt feature (mechanically).

    Anyway I think it'll slowly grow on me so I wanted to start thinking of buying one. If I buy it on Ebay, the cheapest I can get it is around $800, however I want to get extended warranty. There was one website who provides extended warranty for 4 years for $150, which I think its pretty reasonable, however the cost of the phone was $100 more there. Is there a way to get extended warranty on something that isn't from the retailer? Are there such things as insurance companies who I can pay to cover the phone for extra warranty? More extreme, is there a company who will cover damage from drops and stuff? (my dell with complete cover is like that; thought I'd ask) Furthermore, are there ones which will cover theft and stuff?

    I'm hoping that there is something... whatever it is, it should end up cheaper than Telstra so I guess its not the end of the world if I have to pay $1000 for the phone + warranty.
     
  13. Neo Cortex

    Neo Cortex Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    173
    Location:
    Tatura, Victoria
    just picked up a TP2, and i love it! there is some annoying lag spikes, but i can put up with it :)
    so is there any free useful apps that people could point me to?
     
  14. splbound

    splbound Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    524
    Location:
    London / Sydney
    Have had my TP2 for a few months now. Couldn't be any happier. I'm in the UK so got an Unbranded Wordwide Edition and signed up with vodafone here.

    Coming from a Tytn2/HTC Kaiser it is brilliant. The screen real estate by itself is awesome.

    Not saying its perfect. Slowness at times but quirks I can live with.

    XDA is a great place to be for bug fixes updates, roms etc. Got a lot of useful info there especially in regard to getting GPS\Tomtom up to scratch. The GPS locks a lot quicker than my old phone and for me Tomtom was a straightforward install. Even got the Radio working which was disabled in the ROM.

    Don't think I will be flashing any custom roms yet as the standard one is plenty fast and reliable enough for me.

    All in all the best phone I have used.
     
  15. mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,853
    Location:
    Plumpton NSW 2761
    anybody know if this will be available with three anytime soon?

    Hell, is it even available on any Aus telco?

    The HTC TP2 that is.. I'm currently using the Tytn2 and I really like the keyboard and would love to get this phone, but I'm not really too keen on buying it outright.
     
  16. Rickss

    Rickss Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    192
    I have only seen it with Optus on their Business plans.....
     
  17. the scotsman

    the scotsman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,411
    Location:
    NSW South Coast
    Touch Diamond 2 now on sale with Telstra...but Telstra being the greedy bastards that they are, it's on the $100 plan :thumbdn:

    Get a grip Telstra, it's just not THAT worth it...I guess they don't want to sell it.

    $929.00 outright or $100/month minimum, no cap plan, no data plan

    It can be had on eBay for under $600 ffs.....:sick:

    Oh well, looks like I'm stuck with my Diamond for now....
     
  18. bl4ck32

    bl4ck32 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,522
    Location:
    local
    You can buy the phone part outright, and get it on a lower plan. Last time i was in telstra they offered this on any phone
     
  19. the scotsman

    the scotsman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,411
    Location:
    NSW South Coast
    Hmmm...I wouldn't spend more than $60 / month to be honest, and I can't see them going this low.
     
  20. mshagg

    mshagg Politburo

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Location:
    Adelaide
    You could MRO it on any plan you want tho couldnt you?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: