HTML table trouble.

Discussion in 'Programming & Software Development' started by macaque, Nov 29, 2004.

  1. macaque

    macaque Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hey guys,

    I'm having a lot of troubles trying to find what's wrong with my page here.

    I use cutenews as the news management script, and whenever I make a post, it seems to take up the entire height of the table, and any more posts added onto it make another independent cell on that layout table. You'll see what I mean when you go to the site.

    It's wierd, I set the body and the right column as layout tables, both with height of 100%. It renders okay without cutenews, probably because it doesn't create a new table for it.

    Any help guys ?
     
  2. Shinglor

    Shinglor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,382
  3. OP
    OP
    macaque

    macaque Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I need a couple of questions answered before I can start cleaning up the code.

    Say, for the bunch of code up there.
    apparently my
    had an error stating there is no attribute. Do I have to use CSS for that kind of stuff ?



    there is no attribute "height". What does that mean ? The same applies for width.



    It says the starting tag for img src is in the wrong position :confused: and for the </td> tag it says "end tag for "img" omitted, but OMITTAG NO was specified"
    Sorry for any troubles for this. I'm an HTML idiot and let ImageReady coded most of them.
    Many thx and <3 in advance
     
  4. Shinglor

    Shinglor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,382
    Since I'm on holidays and have a lot of spare time I'll recode it for you but I don't know what it's supposed to look like. It's broken in Opera, Firefox and IE. Can you export the design as a PNG?
     
  5. bluedreamer

    bluedreamer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,737
    Location:
    Sydney
    \Holy crap: just took a quick look at the code. This is all over the place.
    starters: HTML tags wrap around the whole thing, they do not go after closing head tags. You cannot nest html tags
    FFFFFF = #FFFFFF -> never forget the hash before the hex colour value.
    I can bet $1000 bucks that you have nested font tags or mismatched font tags in that.
    you have style tags in the middle of your table defining A.Link etc which I think you already have atop
    spotted a few attributes without quotes around them, not exactly xhtml-strict like your dtd specifies.
    i see some occasional blah="blah;"; <-- what's with the second semi-colons?
    "text-decoration: none" = that's no good in that font tag outside the style attribute, maybe that's why you have that second semicolon around
    more style tags in the body. You should only keep one set at the top. In fact the sets in the body are pretty useless, you're redefining a.link again.
    <br /><br /> -> what's with so many brs to do your spacing?

    Um.. yes. That's just from a quick scroll through the html. Get the basics right and it'll be easier to find the other problems. Or Shinglor can recode it for you :p

    edit: and oh. The img thing. You declared XHTML. You used an image tag. In xhtml every tag must have a closing tag e.g. <img></img> or <img />
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2004
  6. OP
    OP
    macaque

    macaque Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Okay,

    http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=h...atically)&doctype=(detect+automatically)&ss=1

    This's the best I can do, it seems most of the problems came from the coding in my news management script, which I have disabled temporarily.

    Thx Shinglor for offering the help, by all means recode my html, at the mean time at least I want to gain something from this and try to learn what proper html is by knowing the basics.
     
  7. bluedreamer

    bluedreamer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,737
    Location:
    Sydney
    from that link, validator is still validating using XHTML 1.0 Strict. Get rid of those xhtml tags or put up with the errors =) (even though u commented out, just get rid of and tell validator whatever ur using)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: