HTPC/Home theatre setup questions

Discussion in 'HTPC' started by Sebstar, Aug 30, 2015.

1. Sebstar

Sebstar Member

Hi guys,

I'm kinda new to all of this and thought I'd get some clarification here. I'm interested in setting up a bit of a home theatre setup and was eying off a NAS/NUC combo.

Ideally, I'd like to set up a torrent box on the NAS (Synology DS215j) or alternatively a win8 running NUC (using the NAS as storage) and then access netflix/downloaded content on the NUC via XBMC/Kodi.

My questions I guess are:
    1. Is running a NUC overkill? Can I setup a chromecast and stream content/netflix off the NAS?
    2. If I opt for a NUC, should I go win8 or openelec? I like the idea of it booting quickly and being barebones, but I also like the idea of running torrents/netflix off the NUC via windows (and by all accounts torrents on openelec isn't that sophisticated)
    3. Do you run torrents off win8 or off the NAS? Some torrents will be TV shows (so can RSS them) but others might be a bit more ad hoc. I'm assuming that torrenting will be much easier on a win8 based system than having to mess with synology's DSM software.
    4. Do people use keyboard/mouse combo (like Logitech K400R) or something like a logitech Harmony? I guess if you run XBMC off win8 people have a keyboard for the windows functionality but use a remote for the XBMC stuff... I know you can set-up your mobile to flick youtube videos to Kodi but is it easier to just use a keyboard and type it in straight away on win8?
    5. Is there a point in installing XBMC if you're setting up a win8 HTPC/Nuc? Or is it just the simplicity of having a remote-control navigatable interface?

Sorry, a lot of questions but just trying to figure out what the best options are in regards to setting up a home network.

Stuff I'm planning on getting:
    Intel Nuc Celeron
    8gb ram (overkill?)
    128gb SSD (if running win8)
    Win8 (?)
    Synology DS215j
    4tb WD Green
    Logitech K400r