1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

HTPC Mini-ITX build

Discussion in 'Modding' started by redcat, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. redcat

    redcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Hi guys.. been meaning to post this up for a while.

    [​IMG]

    Basically i ran into problems with Channel ONE going to HD.

    I had a three year old server i'd setup with mce 2005 (winxp media centre) which if you look around is a major pain to get HD working with Digital TV. And to top it off i'd done the software raid 5 hack so my 6x 1tb hdd's couldn't be migrated to windows 7 without moving stuff around onto other hdd's.

    So i bit the bullet and pulled out the Credit card and built this:

    CPU second gen Intel i3 3.2Ghz
    Mobo GigaByte H67N-USB3-B3 (recently reviewed) (and an impulse buy)
    Ram 4gb (2x2gb) Kingmax something generic
    HDD 4x 2TB WD Greens
    SSD 30gb OCZ (old!) connected via esata port on back panel

    TV is provided via a USB Avermedia Twinstar.

    With my setup this motherboard ticked all the boxes. 4x SATA plus ESATA, Coax digital sound for the logitech 5500d (optical for ps3). And hdmi out for video.

    Also another gain. Old server used 160watts idle. the i3 setup uses 30 watts idle, 70 watts max. So a big power saving.

    anyways all pics are here https://picasaweb.google.com/116300640331973570284/ServerHTPCBuild
     
  2. Asteroid

    Asteroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,447
    Location:
    Lapping Freo
    That's neat!
     
  3. Liighthead

    Liighthead New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Melbourne
    thats pretty sweet nice work. got some more pics of it? :) maby some back a little showing the whole thing?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    redcat

    redcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Also the case is a Lubic Aerocool i bought over 8 years ago.

    and the power supply is from a Aopen 360c Case i think. I've shortened all the cables and sleaved as much as possible. ruined the motherboard power sleaving on a soldering iron but you didn't notice till i pointed that out?. I've also painted the powersupply casing with chrome auto paint to cover up the aging rusting look they get. and placed led lights inside.

    Every panel on the case is custom cut perspex. i've since made a 1cm x 5cm hole in the front of the case for a little airflow.

    HDD's sit at 32 degrees on a hot day.

    Cpu gets upto maybe 40 degrees on a hot day.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    redcat

    redcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Brisbane
    These photos are from April btw. maybe nexttime i shut her down i'll take some more pics
     
  6. hotsuma

    hotsuma Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,102
    Location:
    Melb, CBD
    what is psu and why massive
     
  7. Oxley

    Oxley Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Location:
    Old Bar NSW
    I wish I could still buy the Lubic Aerocool stuff, very handy when updating ancient industrial hardware that has some odd ball box and custom components that aren't compatible with anything else.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    redcat

    redcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Wooo made the front page

    psu is from an aopen 360 micro atx case. Painted silver to cover rust.
    The reason it might look big:
    The motherboard is small 17x17cm
    And power wise finding a 100 watt power supply is hard. I really do hate these double size 1200watt and up psu's.

    Computers were meant to get smaller ppl
     
  9. Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Location:
    Melbourne
    that looks neat, i made itx box with similar setup on silverstone sg05 early this year but couldnt stand it due to flimsy case. :) only kept it for few days i think..
     
  10. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7,017
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Nice little unit there.
    Do you have it covered, or open like that all the time?
    If so, do you get much dust at all?
     
  11. randomman

    randomman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,256
    You can find pico-PSU's that use an external power pack, they use next to no space inside the case and can be found up to 150W.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    redcat

    redcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Brisbane
    its only open at the back where i've made cutouts for the fans and psu. every side has perspex cut to size in the slots. clear plastic. but dust is still a problem as you can see it very quickly
     
  13. OP
    OP
    redcat

    redcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Brisbane
    sweeet.. more research and more room for harddrives
     
  14. OP
    OP
    redcat

    redcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Brisbane
  15. randomman

    randomman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5,256
    Just email them, they were very prompt when I had some questions. :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: