HWBOT Discussion Thread Ver2

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by gazza30, Dec 4, 2011.

  1. sskmercer

    sskmercer Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,097
    Location:
    Brisbane, Sth Side
    Hey t8y, I was thinking of staying in Enthusiast for a bit longer and cement a top #10 spot, as I did make into the 10 but a couple of others have since jumped me.

    In saying that though, it was only one session (+ the SS stuff) and I'm hooked and it seems to much hassle benching the cold (holding the scores) and going back to water just to stay in enthusiast (without cheating).

    As for cold on RAM I have a KP pot but no plates (hope that makes sense) and unlike VCORE it's limited to 2.3v, so I assume going cold on memory is more about COLD scaling? As for mounting the pot how? (at wrk so I cant really check how it's set up).
     
  2. t8y

    t8y Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,284
    Location:
    SA, 5011
    just sit the pot on top.
    you could smear a heap of paste on the top of the sticks (if they have heatspreaders) or bottom of the pot itself, to improve contact.

    on the off chance you are using samsung ram subzero they wont like much cold (but dont mind a bit)


    2.3v max will be fine with the PSC, you wont push them that hard anyway.
    when its cold you will find its more efficient with the volts, eg (rough example to prove a point) you may top out at 2600c8 1.9v on ambient, but the same 1.9v with a full pot of dice will do 2666c7, or something

    play around and see, really :) only suggestion is perhaps just start with all auto subtimings and get the speeds and primary CAS trained in first, then go from there
     
  3. newlife

    newlife Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    I think I'm missing some nuts from the ek base but I'll have a look and yeah it's pretty good dice
     
  4. t8y

    t8y Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,284
    Location:
    SA, 5011
    well any waterblock backplate will do i guess :)
    worst case, whoever takes it off you likely has something they can use

    i lost the original one so i gave you my EK supremacy backplate, since i just use a kingpin backplate for everything now :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2014
  5. headin2001

    headin2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,558
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    So tonight is my last night in the rookie league.

    Think I've done pretty well considering I haven't had the best hardware for the most part. Overall, I've managed to be top ten in the past 2 rookie rumbles, and currently #3 in Rookie #8.

    Hopefully that doesn't change in the next few hours as I have nothing left in the gear I have.

    #6 rookie overall and pretty chuffed about it. Just wish I had more time to improve. Thanks to everyone in here for your guidance, you have all been a great inspiration. Ready for the next league and improvements all round.

    Best of luck in yours JunkDogg.
     
  6. JunkDogg

    JunkDogg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Perth 6169
    Well done mate on getting to 3rd.

    It's a bit hard when the guy leading comes out of nowhere with a Prime score equal and/or better than what guys got in our comp on a SS. :confused:

    It's a shame he uses the same photo of his rig for every different version of motherboard and CPU combo.

    I'm not accusing the guy of anything but I can speculate.

    Some of his scores are incredible and a great effort if that's what results he's getting.

    Good luck in the next league and I'll see you there shortly.

    Thanks too mate. Only a few hours to go and the poor guy from England that was giving me a run as killed his chip so hopefully. Fingers crossed.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2014
  7. Bullants

    Bullants Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah it will be rare to find a kit of PSC that do 2.3v,most lower binned kits may top out at 2.15-2.18v they'll go higher if you set higher but they'll cause your 32m to fail quickly.The gigabyte result I posted recently was at 2.21v,this kit as the few of my cold kits aren't great air kits,tuning the other 3-4 volts setting will determine your dram volts as well.

    Temps will play huge part as well on the scaling of the memory, freq,timings,also be mindful of volts your using if temps aren't that cold
     
  8. sskmercer

    sskmercer Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,097
    Location:
    Brisbane, Sth Side
    Thanks for the tips Bull. Most likely just going to play with my 4340 and see how it goes and probably another good chip to learn on.

    In regards to temps where's the best place to put the probe for ram? Also how important is it to VAS up the sticks under the heat spreaders.
     
  9. JunkDogg

    JunkDogg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Perth 6169
    2nd one in the bag. :leet:
     
  10. sskmercer

    sskmercer Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,097
    Location:
    Brisbane, Sth Side
    Sweet. Well done mate.
     
  11. JunkDogg

    JunkDogg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Perth 6169
    Thanks mate.

    Just got to decide on whether to give the AM1 chips a bit more of a go or back to the G3258's for some more fun.
     
  12. sskmercer

    sskmercer Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,097
    Location:
    Brisbane, Sth Side
    Do both, just alternate every now and then.

    Still haven't got the DICE setup, being trying to roll back the bios to X05 from f9c and no luck so far. So will stay with the awesome f9c and see what this little 4340 can do @-70c :).
     
  13. sskmercer

    sskmercer Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,097
    Location:
    Brisbane, Sth Side
    Hey guys, just a quick one. What services do you need running (XP) for GTL to work.
     
  14. t8y

    t8y Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,284
    Location:
    SA, 5011
    it has a file named something like "setupICCS", you may need to run that before running GTL?

    besides that i'm fairly sure it runs with everything off
     
  15. JunkDogg

    JunkDogg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Perth 6169
    What's GTL?
     
  16. sskmercer

    sskmercer Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,097
    Location:
    Brisbane, Sth Side
    Thanks Dave. I had run that and it was working fine, then did setup for some PI testing of the RAM and it wouldn't open, so i'll try running the setupICCS again, with all the services off. Also finally got the ram settings stable as it appears the IMC on my 4340 doesn't like what i could throw at the Pentium/4770k and the POT is about to go on (unless i fall asleep LOL).

    Hey JD. GTL is a little/light program for Gigabyte boards that allows you to do some basic OC tweaks from within windows. I've only just started using it with the Pentium comp but it is really quite handy.
     
  17. sskmercer

    sskmercer Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,097
    Location:
    Brisbane, Sth Side
    Second DICE session properly under way now. Had a few issues booting up but all sorted, now to play around a bit.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. headin2001

    headin2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,558
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Thanks, yeah, his results do seem quite suspect but hey, if he has achieved that on water he deserves the win.

    Can't complain too much though, as my experience with the hardware I have at hand hasn't been easy. Not the best chips and learning a new platform has been a challenge in itself.

    Congrats on the win mate, you'll have to move over to the Intel Rookie and smash them in there now. Most of the big scorers will be out for the next one though.

    Managed 3rd and pretty happy there. As I've moaned about a bit, my cpu's have really let me down, but I think it was my efficiency with what I had that made up for it.

    Looks like your having fun there Scott, keep pushing buddy. :thumbup:
     
  19. newlife

    newlife Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Well done in the rookie rumble junk dog also it's awesome to see you going cold Scott :thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:
     
  20. JunkDogg

    JunkDogg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Perth 6169
    Thanks guys. Have spent the day at work or at home making a make shift clamping system to hold the water block down on AM1 chips. Hopefully then can push them passed where they were ever meant to be. :weirdo:

    EDIT - Mount didn't work to well. So zip tied the block down through the stock cooler holes and all good. hahaha.

    Sitting at a nice low temp. Now to push the first one as far as I can.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2014

Share This Page

Advertisement: