1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

HWBOT Discussion Thread Ver2

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by gazza30, Dec 4, 2011.

  1. sskmercer

    sskmercer Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,094
    Location:
    Brisbane, Sth Side
    Agreed, I would love a fluke based on what everyone has said and uses across different forums but for $350+/- and not needing the .1 past -100c that money can help buy a 5960X, GOD DAM I wanna gran one of these but still have the 4930k to play with.

    Then which board is going to be the best bet. The Asus RIVE (then a BE comes out argh or the Giga OC board, but from reading people are wary as it seems there was some issue with X79/Gigabyte. I wasn't around then so have no idea.

    But 8 cores @54x on DICE would do me nicely :thumbup:
     
  2. Jimba86

    Jimba86 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,845
    Location:
    Brisbane

    That is why I am looking at a 2nd hand fluke for around $100-150 or so.

    Even though I don't need it I would spend 100 bucks and get the best 2nd hand vs 60 bucks and get something that just does the job. I would never spend $600 on a new fluke,it's just crazy! I don't work in that area so I don't need such good equipment.

    I will check out your suggestions though! :)
     
  3. AUST_DeVinE

    AUST_DeVinE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    Townsville
    so im in the new team, where is the beer and strippers promised
     
  4. FatBoyNotSoSlim

    FatBoyNotSoSlim Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    14,066
    Location:
    Melbourne - 3174
    Said party was last night, it's too late now.
     
  5. bob(nz)

    bob(nz) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    RADelaide
    I would suggest that you zero chance. Maybe 250 if you are lucky. For $100 you are dreaming


    Damn, if only you got the memo - we had a great time!! :D
     
  6. zeropluszero

    zeropluszero Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,051
    Location:
    3132
  7. t8y

    t8y Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    SA, 5011
    yikes, $200. someone will be desperate or cbf waiting for newegg i guess..
    not sure on his/scums history (dont keep up with the 3d11 threads etc), are they proven sticks or anything?


    oh
    only just actually read the revised OP :lol:

    no mention of team OCAU at all?
    despite the fact most/all actives are headed to AOC team, OCAUs team does still exist, limbo or no.

    just sayin, does anyone else think that the option link in the OP to check out either team should at least be there?
    ideally a solution for a full merger may be worked out in the future - making it irrelevant who is in what team..

    looking at it from the point of view for those who chose to remain on OCAU or were against the merger,
    certainly adds insult to injury, after the mass of people jumping ship..

    i thought that anything that drives the community apart was the opposite of the goal here, really.
    something to think about, anyway :)

    edit: or are we just trying to point the rookies to the "active/leading" team? still, not sure i agree
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2014
  8. zeropluszero

    zeropluszero Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,051
    Location:
    3132
    Dave it's 16gb, not 8gb. They're definitely Samsung, to what degree they'll clock I don't know. I think scum is pretty much an xmp guy.
     
  9. t8y

    t8y Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    SA, 5011
    yeah, i missed that it was a 4 stick kit..
    its late lol. must have re-edited my last post 10 times more than i normally do :lol: im out
     
  10. OP
    OP
    gazza30

    gazza30 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,118
    Location:
    FNQ
    Fixed it for you t8y with a small explanation as to how AOC came about even has a link :) just trying not to confuse new members to much.
     
  11. JunkDogg

    JunkDogg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Perth 6169
    Very confused.

    Ok now I'm confused.

    Been reading through the HWBOT Pentium challenge thread and there is a whole debate happening about water chillers. Not our comp the one at hwbot.org.

    So a couple of quick questions? Rather than do it and get my subs deleted for all 3 comps.

    Can I use the air con water chiller I made for subs in the Rookie/Enthusiast leagues?

    My theory is I can't as it cools well below 0 and sits at -5 to 0 on idle which isn't ambient and I thought the rookie and enthusiasts leagues were for amient temps.

    Front page looks good Gazza. Those backgrounds will be fine too. :thumbup:
     
  12. newlife

    newlife Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    In short you can't as it uses a compressor which makes it a SS
     
  13. JunkDogg

    JunkDogg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Perth 6169
    Thanks mate. Just wanted to be sure I wasn't ripping myself off. :lol:

    On another note. Whats the best Gigabyte 1155 Mobo for overclocking @ subzero temps?
     
  14. newlife

    newlife Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    UP7 but I would recommended an Asrock OCF although both boards are very hard to get
     
  15. JunkDogg

    JunkDogg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Perth 6169
    Thanks mate. There is one of either on Ebay. The UP7 is 495 pp. The OCF 295 pp.

    Whoa.
     
  16. newlife

    newlife Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    that's why I recommend the OCF but I paid $180 for one new just after 1150 launched and UP5 TH is also a good 1155 board
     
  17. OP
    OP
    gazza30

    gazza30 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,118
    Location:
    FNQ
    So does an aquarium chiller pretty sure its allowed always has been unless its a particular set of rules brought in for a comp. Tec's don't use a compressor but they have have their own submission category on the bot water chillers don't for now.

    Water chiller = water cooling
     
  18. zeropluszero

    zeropluszero Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,051
    Location:
    3132
    Yeh, if theres water thats still a liquid, I call it Enthusiast class.
     
  19. newlife

    newlife Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,153
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Have a read here http://forum.hwbot.org/showthread.php?t=99459
     
  20. OP
    OP
    gazza30

    gazza30 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,118
    Location:
    FNQ
    Yes but aquarium chillers like the Haliea have compressors but you aint going to get 0'c out of one. throw a rad in a bucket of ice slush and do just as good, or use ln2 to chill down your H100 like the team au boys did no compressor must be water cooling :lol:

    This discussion have been around since jesus was a boy at the end of the day its impossible to police. Some people can bench crazy volts / clocks just due to climate the rest use chillers etc to even the playing field.

    Until it in the rules I'd say carry on :thumbup:

    Not to mention if they change the rules now moderators are going to have a LOT of work to do
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: