1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

I am just lost

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Stanza, Mar 12, 2012.

  1. Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,890
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ok can someone please help me decide what CPU I can upgrade an old system with

    Dell Poweredge T105

    Currenty has a Sempron LE-1250

    Everything I can find says it can be upgraded to quad core cpu... but which one?

    Low power one if possible, as it will just be idle most of the time.

    Google says things like 1214HE cpu and such, but really I am at a loss when it comes to AMD cpu's

    I search ebay for AMD 1214 Opteron 1214 etc etc, but nothing pops up.

    Dell specs say
    Single Quad-Core AMD Opteron™ 1300 series at up to 2.3GHz
    Single Dual-Core AMD Opteron™ 1200 series at up to 2.8GHz
    Single AMD Sempron™ LE1250 at up to 2.2GHz

    So which one should I choose, or is there some secret AMD code I should be looking for instead... ie 4200+

    is this what I am looking for? or similar
    http://products.amd.com/en-us/OpteronCPUDetail.aspx?id=440

    Completely lost:confused:
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2012
  2. TaroT

    TaroT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,717
    Location:
    Hazelbrook nsw 2779
  3. loophole

    loophole Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    So, the fastest CPU you could get is the Opteron 1356 that is a quad-core and runs at 2.3GHz.
    You could get any Opteron 1300 series CPU, of which there are just three:
    Opteron 1300-series "Budapest" (65 nm)

    but stay away from the B2 stepping chips if you can - they had the TLB bug.

    Look at the Opteron 1200 series for possible dual-core CPUs:
    Opteron 1200-series "Santa Ana" (90 nm)
    although in this case it appears as though your system can't handle 125W CPUs.

    Unfortunately these chips are getting harder and harder to find now...
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,890
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Looks like Opteron 1356 is the go then

    Will place a wanted to buy ad and haunt eBay ;)

    Thanks for the reply
     
  5. loophole

    loophole Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    Good luck! Let us know how it goes
     
  6. AEKaBeer

    AEKaBeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,170
    Location:
    North Melbourne
    What are you using this thing for?
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,890
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Just my test ESXi Lab box...

    Doesn't do much, but already has 8gig ram, so thought a cheap cpu upgrade (if I can find one cheap) would kick it along.

    .
     
  8. ShaneHm2

    ShaneHm2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,575
  9. jboles

    jboles Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,408
    Location:
    Sydney NSW / Seattle USA
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2012
  10. AMD-G

    AMD-G Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    168
  11. OP
    OP
    Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,890
    Location:
    Adelaide

Share This Page

Advertisement: