I caved... Quad GTX 580 UD with new AC waterblocks.. New 990X and new 1500W PSU

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by Phatboy69, Aug 4, 2011.

  1. rowen

    rowen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    753
    Location:
    /dev/null
    Curious to see how you make that work with the waterblock!
     
  2. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Location:
    Sydney
    What model ram are you using exactly? It says 24gb on the first page but then says 6gb in your sig :p

    A friend of mine has that device and it's pretty cool :thumbup: I'd like to use one for the sake of it but it wouldn't work with my Dominators.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Phatboy69

    Phatboy69 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Havent installed the ram for other than quick testing and MB is away for RMA so I havent updated Sig.

    Its 2 of these kits;
    The CORSAIR 12GB (3x4GB) DOMINATOR®GT ultra-high performance kit for Intel Core i7 Triple Channel processors. 2000MHz 9-10-9-27 1.65V
    with Intel XMP. Includes the COSSAIR Airflow Fan and connector for the optional Airflow Pro Activity and Temperature Monitor (sold separately). Key Features:
    * Three matched 4GB modules for use in high performance Intel Core i7
    Triple Channel systems;
    * Outrageously fast 2000MHz performance;
    * Ultra-low 9-10-9-27 latency;
    * Intel XMP (Extreme Memory Profile) supp
     
  4. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Location:
    Sydney
    Very nice :thumbup: I wonder how well they'll OC... I've noticed 3dmark11 loves ram speed and timings. So much for it being more gpu focused than vantage! :thumbdn:
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Phatboy69

    Phatboy69 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yes but I've also noticed avg and max FPS go up with more mem bandwidth, lower latency ram settings too. So it probably just able to render faster as the data is passed from CPU to GPU faster. We are definitely a little CPU limited with 4way SLI. Imagine it will be even worse with next gen GPUs but hopefully intel will push another 30%+ improvement with ivy bridge.
    I just did the maths on my upgrade from the quad 5870 to quad GTX580 with new 990x CPU and even before maxing my GPU OC I've gained 40% improvement over the old rig on a lot of games! So 50% increase in next gen isn't out of the question... Scary to think what developers will do with that much horsepower when most console developed games can run maxed out on 5870/480 series hardware.
     
  6. RSDXzec

    RSDXzec Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,999
    Location:
    Townsville, North QLD
    Amazing setup man, wish I had money to throw around like that.

    I'd also like to know this
     
  7. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Location:
    Sydney
    Less console ports, more proper pc games would be nice :thumbdn:

    Best way to get around the CPU bottleneck is just to increase the resolution :D 4-way is so good for surround setups!

    I think I'm OK ram wise, I got my hands on a Dominator GT 2000mhz Hyper kit. It's a shame the Hyper chips aren't still being made though...
     
  8. OP
    OP
    Phatboy69

    Phatboy69 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ok I found something cool to keep me busy while I wait for RMA's.

    [​IMG]
    http://www.hwtools.net/Adapter/PE4H.html

    Dont know if any of you have seen these before.
    I've been researching this before and its now become a much simpler process.

    Its an external express card to PCIE adapter.

    Designed for engineer testing of PCIE devices.
    Im going to use it for gaming on my VAIO Z128 laptop with an external GTX580! ;) How cool is that!
    The integrated GT330M just isnt cutting it for some of the stuff I want to play, and when I go away for the weekend to our family holiday house I can just pack the Lappy, adaptor, Powersuppply and I can play all my games at 60FPS+ ;)

    Here's an example pretty much of the setup as i will have it too. He has the exact same lappy as me known as a Z117 in other countries.
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/7718053-post4504.html

    Found the perfect case for this little sideproject! Silverstone SG06 Black Cube Mini-ITX Case with 450W PSU
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2011
  9. OP
    OP
    Phatboy69

    Phatboy69 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    On the way to finishing the 24pin sleeving..
    Here's the 24pin almost finished, just a couple more double wire runs to finish it.
    Thats about all my fingers can cope with today! :)

    [​IMG]
     
  10. dreamaxx

    dreamaxx (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,134
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Jesus what a mess! :shock:
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Phatboy69

    Phatboy69 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yeah and its going to get worse before it gets better again.
    I have to dismantle the whole thing!! :upset:
     
  12. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Location:
    Sydney
    Reminds me of my case currently, I've got even less space to work with as it's just a plain Ascension :wired:

    Good to see the sleeving progressing along well! You seem to be doing quite a professional job with it :D

    My sleeving method involves electrical tape, it looks slightly less professional :lol:

    I'm curious as to how clean you can get things considering all the cables and crap running everywhere. Should be quite a challenge...
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Phatboy69

    Phatboy69 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I wasnt happy with the consistency of the motherboard 24pin so I re-did most of the heatshrink on it. I've also now completed the beast of a cable..

    It has the runs sleeved for the other PSU power-on and the Aquaero 5 XT relay. (the long curled up cables)

    There were lots of 2-way, 3-way and even 4-way cables.. What a headache!!!!

    At least it's all down hill from here, the PCIE's will be a piece of cake after this beastly cable!

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  14. dreamaxx

    dreamaxx (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,134
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    That sleeving looks very good, great job mate.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    Phatboy69

    Phatboy69 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Great news, Gigabyte have come through with a replacement MB, though I'm on holidays up the coast for the week so im having a break from the modding till next Monday.
     
  16. MoultoMan

    MoultoMan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    3132 Melbourne Australia
    Where did you get the awg 16 wire from, I've been looking for about 15 mins now with no luck.
    Sorry if you've already said, but I cant be bothered looking through the thread.
     
  17. demon1300

    demon1300 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    932
    Location:
    Albury/Wodonga
  18. OP
    OP
    Phatboy69

    Phatboy69 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi Guys!

    Back from holidays today and my performance pcs shipment has finally miraculously appeared and my replacement motherboard is back.

    Cant wait to ditch the bosch staples for the sunbeam PSU mod tool kit! ;)
    Aquacomputer also confirmed my blocks are finally on the way! :D :D

    I might get a RevoDrive 3 X2 240GB SSD next week depending on when my Vertex2 SSD RMA's get back. OCZ have confirmed they are replacing them! :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2011
  19. SiriusDragon

    SiriusDragon Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Location:
    Sydney
    That's great news :thumbup: Good to hear everything is back on track for your build.
     
  20. walker_2003

    walker_2003 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    12,742
    Location:
    Canberra
    no I havent seen that, that is so cool so is it hard to set up on the laptop?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: