1. Check out OCAU's review of the SpaceX Starlink satellite internet service!
    Dismiss Notice

I stand by my word... Visual Studio is Stupid

Discussion in 'Programming & Software Development' started by AusKWiKsAnD, Apr 6, 2006.

  1. AusKWiKsAnD

    AusKWiKsAnD Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,700
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    I love Visual Studio and the work I do with .NET, but the way the error panel acts sometimes amazes me. I get errors of all types, errors referencing controls that never had a problem, but this is the corker... If my dropdownlist doesnt have a member SelectedValue, its pretty damn useless to me.
     
  2. fox1

    fox1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,086
    Location:
    Brisbane
    is the dropdownlist inside a datagrid?

    If so, thats a .Net thing. It's a pain in the ass but its not that hard to work with.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2006
  3. fox1

    fox1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,086
    Location:
    Brisbane
    My drop down box appears in edit mode on the single row, so what I did was...

    When it executes the EditCommand on the datagrid

    set the variable

    Protected dtCategoryList As New DataTable

    Code:
    dtCategoryList = objNewsLetter.GetEmailCategoryList
    These are variables for the dropdownlist in the datagrid on the .aspx/ascx page.
    Code:
    DataValueField="EmailCategoryKey" 
    DataTextField="CategoryName"
    DataSource="<%# dtCategoryList%>"
    OnDataBinding='ddlEECatSelect'
    so yep, you'll see that it executes ddlEECatSelect on data binding

    my function looks like

    Code:
            Protected Sub ddlEECatSelect(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As EventArgs)
                Dim ddlEECatSelect As DropDownList = CType(sender, DropDownList)
                Dim dtiEEInCat As DataGridItem = ddlEECatSelect.NamingContainer
                ddlEECatSelect.SelectedValue = dtiEEInCat.DataItem("EmailCategoryKey")
    
                dtiEEInCat = Nothing
                ddlEECatSelect = Nothing
            End Sub
    

    Please ignore my messy badly named variables and functions!
     
  4. OP
    OP
    AusKWiKsAnD

    AusKWiKsAnD Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,700
    Location:
    Perth, WA

    Nope, its just a drop down list on a web form I think Visual Web Developer just had a brain fart. Or maybe its an early easter egg.. I'm so excited.

    I'm actually starting to trust the error list less and less, and preferring to debug straight from the page itself!
     
  5. squaredonut

    squaredonut Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Well i wouldn't rule out the entire IDE is stupid, but for ASP.NET there is definitely a set of nice bugs that have, often i get a load of errors but when i compile it, it's fine? It's strange. The strangest thing is, if you create a WebUserControl, suprisingly, you can't access it type through intellisense, ok fine, but if you manually type in the type the IDE says that type doesn't exist. Ok, but when you go an compile it, it's fine. It shits me.
     
  6. Elyzion

    Elyzion Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,453
    Location:
    Singapore
    Geez i must be lucky that i never get stupid errors in Visual Studio 2003 or 2005. You must be doing something wrong to get errors like that.

    My only gripe is that in VS2003, i have my project access a web service on my server *servername*, when i compile it to put it on the server where my website sites (different area), i can compile with https://stmp.*site*.co.nz, but in VS2005, i can't compile using that url because it's going out and coming back to the same IP so it thinks ive fucked up.
     
  7. Elyzion

    Elyzion Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,453
    Location:
    Singapore
    I hope your not mixing code with presentation...
     
  8. fox1

    fox1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,086
    Location:
    Brisbane
    edit: actually, no, I didn't. sleep now
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2006
  9. Ravenclaw

    Ravenclaw Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,090
    what's wrong with that? it contains no logic
     
  10. fox1

    fox1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,086
    Location:
    Brisbane
    as I just realised.


    My business is totally separate.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    AusKWiKsAnD

    AusKWiKsAnD Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,700
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Yea, I should say that this when I say its stupid, I mean I find its quirks stupid.. It really is a fantastic dev environment, and fantastic to work with.

    I should also add that I'm actually using Visual Web Dev2005, moving from VS2003. I think the new features are fantastic (.NET 2.0 Controls are great), just I think a few things (especially related to the HTML Designer, and the Error Log) Are quite buggy.
     
  12. FearTec

    FearTec Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,401
    Location:
    NSW

    Yes .Net is stupid.

    I still use VB6 and only raw API's to talk with DX 8.1, SQL Databases, Winsock, ICMP, SNMP etc and it just works.

    There is nothing wrong with direct API's (they are faster than the .Net class layer) IMHO.
     
  13. squaredonut

    squaredonut Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Have you tried it out to rule out it's stupid?

    VB6 and VB.NET is almost incomparable. The former isn't OO.

    Yeah and direct API accessing is also very messy... If and i say IF MS created a framework for other OS's, .NET's flexibility and portability will be further heightened, your VB6 application wouldn't be remotely on par with the .NET app in terms of platform support.
     
  14. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,960
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    Looks like it's behaving correctly to me, you're just telling it to use the wrong .NET framework version :)
     
  15. OP
    OP
    AusKWiKsAnD

    AusKWiKsAnD Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,700
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    VB6 was OO wasn't it?? I'm pretty sure apart from inheritence (new to .NET) most of its class based stuff all came in VB4 days.

    I actually find that side of things easier in C++/C# (Never thought I'd hear myself say that)
     
  16. Punch Bunny

    Punch Bunny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,579
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The IDE in Visual Studio can be a bit weird at times. In VS.NET 2003, I sometimes find my solutions missing a project or two when I load them up. I have no idea why this occassionally happens. Also, in VS.NET 2005, when designing reports, I find the Field Explorer tab (and associated window) vanishes if I click too fast on it. I have to wait a few seconds between selecting items, or else it gets mad and causes the whole thing to vanish.

    Other than these issues, I <3 VS.NET :)
     
  17. squaredonut

    squaredonut Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    No it wasn't OO, it lacks many many OO concepts. Apart from inheritence it lacks more, the transition from VB6 to VB.NET is huge.
     
  18. fox1

    fox1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,086
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Thinking your just starting to split hairs now.

    Remember something about vb6 being a RAD?
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2006
  19. squaredonut

    squaredonut Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    I don't get what you're trying to say, what's a development methodology got to do with VB6 being true OO or not?
     
  20. houseofzeus

    houseofzeus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,195
    Location:
    St. Lucia, Brisbane
    Seconded. I don't see why being a RAD means something has to be OO.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: