i7 930 Multiplier

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by [Mr]PotatoHead, Jun 1, 2010.

  1. [Mr]PotatoHead

    [Mr]PotatoHead Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    just a quick one!

    What is the default multiplier on the i7 930? I had thought they would be 21x133 (which gives the rated speed of 2.8Ghz). However I've just put together my new system, and the 930 that i've got has a multiplier of 22 (which is giving 2.96Ghz).

    Somewhat related to this, is the multiplier locked on these? I haven't tried any overclocking yet as I'm still getting everything set up, but I will once i've got it all sorted. :D
     
  2. pele93

    pele93 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Locked to 22 i believe in bios but in "turbo" goes up to 23x giving it 3.06ghz...
     
  3. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,490
    Location:
    Newcastle
    No.

    The 22x is turbo, 21x is normal.

    There is no 23x on the 930 model.
     
  4. Syracuse

    Syracuse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    :shock: WTF :shock:

    The i7-930 supports 2 bins of turbo, 22 & 23. I cant believe you claim to own one of them and didn't know that. :lol: Classic.
     
  5. Copie

    Copie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,490
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Because i dont run turbo at all (its the first thing i switched off) i like my 21x195.
     
  6. pele93

    pele93 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    What he said, Before I overclocked when it was underload my multi went up to 23:thumbup:
     
  7. OP
    OP
    [Mr]PotatoHead

    [Mr]PotatoHead Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    ok so the 22x multiplier is just turbo mode. makes sense

    /thread
     
  8. pele93

    pele93 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    No the 23 multi is just turbo. you can select 22x when overclocking :thumbup:
     
  9. Frag

    Frag Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    5,167
    Location:
    Brisvegas
    ^^^ what he said :)
     
  10. Bladen

    Bladen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    995
    Location:
    Crazytown, pop 6 bil.
    From my research (wiki) I believe that the 23x multi is turbo when only 1 core is active, and 22x multi is turbo when more than 1 core is active. This is due to the 930, and all current 4 core 900 series, turbo being 1/1/1/2 (in terms of + 1 multi for 4/3/2/1 core(s) active respectively).

    If it did not turbo when more than 1 core was active than it would be 0/0/0/2, or 0/0/0/1.
     
  11. mehkat

    mehkat (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,368
    I struggled with this recently...
    default is 21x133, 22 is turbo.
    You are better off having it on 21 with turbo off, for OCing (to start with anyway) and sticking with 21 apparently the 930 prefers odd multi's, 19/21.

    What is confusing is when you have turbo switched off and manually set it to 22 - to do this turbo turns on (even though you didn't turn it on), and it stays on so even if you go back and manually set it back to 21 and in your bios it's reading 21, when you go to your desktop it's 22x133.

    Turbo is really just a quick auto OC, I turned it off when I realised what was going on hated that my bios was saying one thing and desktop another, I was pulling my hair out trying to work out wtf was going on.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2010
  12. 3Tone

    3Tone (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Location:
    Melbourne
    ^^ This is correct!
     
  13. rbdirty

    rbdirty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    542
    single core 23x multi should be good for superpi action.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: