1. Check out OCAU's review of the SpaceX Starlink satellite internet service!
    Dismiss Notice

If I have a HTPC do I need an nvidia shield?

Discussion in 'HTPC' started by super kermit, Apr 20, 2020.

  1. super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,328
    Location:
    Sydney Lane Cove 2066
    I love my HTPC, do I have any use for an Nvidia shield, I WANT TO KEEP THE HTPC.

    Are there any great programs for the HTPC too?

    I am using the Philips HUE lighting sync app for movies on the HTPC and it is awesome.

     
    Pugs likes this.
  2. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,974
    Location:
    Adelaide
    If your HTPC can do everything you want it to, like 4k? etc then no you don't need a shield..
     
    Pugs likes this.
  3. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    9,023
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
    Plex media server running a Kodi front end.

    I haven't used this one... I hear it's worth a look also;

    https://www.team-mediaportal.com/



    JSmith
     
  4. connico

    connico Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,915
    Location:
    Sydney
    Chromecast attached to give you stream from phone abilities
     
  5. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,524
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    yeah but most of the high end programs like kodi have youtube and other features embedded, remote via ones smartphone or tablet...
     
  6. OP
    OP
    super kermit

    super kermit Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,328
    Location:
    Sydney Lane Cove 2066
    Will the Nvidia shield do the Philips HUE thing native out of the box?
     
  7. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,524
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    probably not...
     
  8. connico

    connico Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,915
    Location:
    Sydney
    I've found kodi support for applications is slow compared to either iOS or Andriod

    It probably will since phillips hue supports andriod
     
  9. Dilbery

    Dilbery Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    Yeah there are a few apps that do support it, I use Hue Sync with my Hue play bars.
     
  10. Valtelino

    Valtelino Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Ascot Brisbane
    I'm off to Google this, right now ! :thumbsup:
     
  11. GumbyNoTalent

    GumbyNoTalent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    10,193
    Location:
    Briz Vegas
    YES you need a Nvidia shield, no reason it's just nerd sheik.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: