iMac 2.8GHz, 27" - Mid 2010 Ram upgrade Assist

Discussion in 'Apple Desktop Hardware/Software' started by Kosti, May 13, 2013.

  1. Kosti

    Kosti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,396
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hi All,

    Friend has a iMAC of which I know nothing about and has asked me to help add / upgrade to more ram

    Machine Details

    Model Name: iMac
    Model Identifier: iMac11,3
    Processor Name: Intel Core i5
    Processor Speed: 2.8 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 4
    Memory: 4 GB

    Can't i just throw any DDR3 SODIMM module in there?

    How many slots do these have 2 /4 ?

    Ive seen double price cost just because it states MAC, but if it's the same spec'd should I have problems?

    Thanks
    Kosti
     
  2. skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    4 slots capable of using 4x 8gb so 32gb.

    Officially Apple only support 16gb but 32 will work fine. Any PC3-10600 DDR3 SO-DIMM ram will work. You can get higher speeds but it will just downclock itself back.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Kosti

    Kosti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,396
    Location:
    Sydney
    :thumbup: nice one, thank you!

    Now to place an ad in the WTB section - any flavour is fine, it's picky if the RAM is say Samsung & Kingston?

    Thanks again for the quick update :thumbup:
     
  4. skootyloops

    skootyloops Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,693
    I haven't had any problems with mixed ram in an imac. But whenever possible I would try and get the same sticks.
     
  5. [KEi]SoVeReIgN

    [KEi]SoVeReIgN Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,328
    Location:
    Sydney
    I always recommend www.ramcity.com.au

    Cheap ram thats always tested with each particular model. :thumbup:
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Kosti

    Kosti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,396
    Location:
    Sydney
    Great, thanks!!
     
  7. sensei_

    sensei_ Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    210
    no need to pay inflated prices at ramcity.

    i just bought myself some ram for the imac. KVR1333D3S9/8G for my late 2009 27" i7 imac.

    booted up without any issues. OSX sees all 16gb kingston + 4gb original ram in there

    edit: i only paid $59/stick. works out a hell of a lot cheaper than ramcity.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: