Intel Broadwell-E

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by im late, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    Just trying to prepare, I recall when the haswell-e's came out I'm pretty sure DDR4 ram weren't so cheap. Looking now, surprised as to how cheap they are, or maybe I'm going crazy.
     
  2. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,458
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Considering the early adopters tax, the fact that it's Asus, and while it is HEDT, The Asus X99 Strix board is quite decently priced. :thumbup:

    It's OK, The Rampage V Edition 10 will fix that. :lol:
     
  3. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,911
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    No you're not going crazy. I did the same thing recently. Had to go look up my invoice to see how much the kit had dropped.
     
  4. Radley

    Radley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,561
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    DDR4 was ourtageously priced when it first came out. Was probably twice what it is now.
     
  5. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,911
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    The same kit is still on sale ... at about 40% of what I paid. :wired:
     
  6. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19,155
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    yup and some nice new large ssd's with 3d nvm "optane" aswell
     
  7. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    Anyone plan on going with U.2? I am a bit behind, I remember SATA Express being available when the Haswell-E came out also. I can only find the Intel 750s being available but extremely expensive. Perhaps sticking with M.2 is probably the best option.
     
  8. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    19,155
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    nvme if you can whether it is m.2 or u.2 or pcie 3.0 4x,

    i think that is what you need available on your storage bus. for maximum speed.

    ...sata express is a bit of a dead end...imo but if you want to mixnmatch your legacy sata drives then its flexible
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2016
  9. qwijibo

    qwijibo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    Old Sydney Town
    When X99 first came out, DDR4 was also very new - probably costing more to manufacture, and the market was tiny, hence manufacturers hadn't switched much capacity over to it, and the prices were high.

    Around Skylake's release, the price of DDR4 started to drop - increased market led to increased supply, leading to lower prices. And by that time, the manufacturers had DDR4 figured out, so could start ramping up the volume.

    X99 doesn't really move ram prices that much - compared to the lga1151 platform, its a drop in the ocean, volume-wise.

    DDR4 should keep on getting marginally cheaper, barring natural disasters, factories blowing up, etc. Or until the next tech comes along.
     
  10. mojos

    mojos Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'm up for a new gaming system but after this launch I'm tempted to just build a 6700k system to carry me over. I can always retire it to my lounge htpc/gaming setup when skylake-e gets here.
     
  11. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,458
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It will perform better in games than X99 anyway. Check reviews.
     
  12. Jimba86

    Jimba86 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,848
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I know its not cheap but thats what you get for top end stuff. pricey but worth it.

    I figure spending 2-3K on a rig that can last 5 years will offset the cost so it works out well.:thumbup:
     
  13. mojos

    mojos Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I play far to much Cities Skylines so the extra cores get used.
     
  14. xtreme2k

    xtreme2k Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,277
    Location:
    Sydney
    Its sad to see a $1650 processor now got downgraded to a K instead of a Black boxed X:Paranoid::Paranoid::Paranoid:

    Anyone got this thing running yet?
     
  15. one80

    one80 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    424
    Perhaps I'm late the the party here - but $2.5k for the 6950X seems a little... errr steep? :shock:

    Seems I might have to rethink my upgrade strategy?
     
  16. jimmytim903

    jimmytim903 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Enruoblem, Nretsae Brubus
    Rampage V Edition 10
    any eta on this board?
     
  17. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,458
    Location:
    Melbourne
  18. Radley

    Radley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,561
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour

    Uhhhh you have a 5960x... there is no upgrade strategy.
     
  19. one80

    one80 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    424

    Moar cores!!
     
  20. Scum

    Scum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    6054 WA
    think i`ll buy two :lol:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: