Intel Broadwell-E

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by im late, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. mojos

    mojos Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I was going to but now I'm holding off to see how they OC in the wild over the next month or so. If things don't improve I will just build a 6700k/1080 SLI rig and see what Skylake-E looks like.
     
  2. Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Not a legitimate activity :lol:
     
  3. aussie-revhead

    aussie-revhead Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    19,850
    Location:
    St Clair 2759
    I just cant justify that expenditure for myself (between your SLI classifieds and 6950x etc)

    :thumbup:
     
  4. OP
    OP
    im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,745
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    Are you stating my activity is not legitimate?

    Well f#ck you and have a nice day.... haha




    Just kidding dude, :lol:
     
  5. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    520
    Only got my old gtx560 plugged in at the moment. 3DMark Fire Strike physics score 19 485.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2016
  6. xtreme2k

    xtreme2k Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,277
    Location:
    Sydney
  7. demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,255
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    People who could actually use 10 cores are going to get a xeon setup, for even more cores and ecc ram.
     
  8. qwijibo

    qwijibo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    Old Sydney Town
    I don't think 200W TDP is a problem - any X99 board built for overclocking has to deal with higher wattage anyway - e.g. overclocking a 5960X could lead to more than 100W additional power draw.
     
  9. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    520
    With pretty much everything on auto except memory primaries had Realbench running for an hour today.
    Looks like all core speed is 2.3Ghz. Vcore sits at 0.95v. Temps very low under load. Max draw from wall 339w.


    Click to view full size!
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2016
  10. mojos

    mojos Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Sooo has anyone completed an SLI build using the new Rog Strix gaming motherboard? I have seen some comments that the PCIe spacing doesn't work with hard sli bridges like the EVGA ones.
     
  11. Aratahu

    Aratahu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Location:
    Melbourne VIC
    Can you try it again, this time outside the cryogenic chamber?


    J/K ... except, well, those 16c ambient temps on idle in your previous shots..! :)
     
  12. xtreme2k

    xtreme2k Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,277
    Location:
    Sydney
    So after almost a week since launch there is nobody in OCAU even got a BW-E (except for the 24 core 60MB L3 one :D)?

    This is unexpected but not totally surprising... Thank you Intel for jacking up the price to a crazy level!
     
  13. HobartTas

    HobartTas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    Given that for the price of a 6950X you can get two GTX1080's in SLI and also for a 6900K you can get two GTX1070's in SLI then I think 99% of people would rather spend the money on the video cards, and as has been previously stated if you need a lot of cores then most people would go the Xeon route with ECC memory instead.
     
  14. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,458
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Thank you AMD for being useless as usual and allowing Intel to do this. :thumbup:
     
  15. Radley

    Radley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,561
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    I have one at the post office. It's only a 6800K though, but hopefully if I play it smart I'll be able to go 6850K or 6900K a bit later. I'd post more info or benches, but I don't have a video card so I can't even use the new system....
     
  16. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,311
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    Hardly the case. Don't blame AMD for Intel's greedy, unrealistic prices. Blame Intel.
     
  17. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,458
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Very very much the case. Do you think Intel could get away with charging their stupid prices if AMD had something that could compete?
     
  18. sammy_b0i

    sammy_b0i Laugh it up, fuzzball!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,311
    Location:
    ACT 2913
    I can't even understand your logic.

    Intel is the one asking exorbitant pricing because they know they can.

    If they sold them for a more realistic price, they'd sell more, be more accessible, and they'd be more popular CPUs.

    That's their choice to do so.

    It's like saying "the price of the Ferrari F12BERLINETTA is too high because Hyundai doesn't have anything that can compete". :rolleyes:
     
  19. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18,315
    Location:
    Canberra
    You do realise that the Xeon chip - closest in terms of width and clockspeed - is worth 1.5x this - E5-2687WV4

    And that a small farm of AMD whoevengivesafucks is slower than a single Broadwell-E system using significantly less power.

    There is absolutely nothing out of line for the 6950X. This thread is full of people whining about the price of a CPU that they don't need, nor can afford.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2016
  20. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,458
    Location:
    Melbourne
    But because Intel have a monopoly on the market (because AMD have nothing), they know they can sell just as many for an even higher price. Wouldn't you charge more for something if you could? The logic is very simple.

    Also if you're in the market for a Ferrari, you probably wouldn't look at a Hyundai for comparative pricing. Seems you don't get cars as well as CPUs dude.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: