Intel Broadwell-E

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by im late, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,458
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I never knew we had so many professional video editors on OCAU. Every second person asking for recommendations states that they need it for "video editing". No wonder there are so many shit movies coming out these days. :lol:

    C'mon guys, really? Or are you just trying to lie to yourself so that you can justify more cores?
     
  2. Aratahu

    Aratahu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Location:
    Melbourne VIC
    In my case I am using Visual Studio for development, where all of the code is meant to have unit tests. Every time I make a code change, tests related to the code are kicked off - invariably, the whole lot of them are kicked off, meaning hundreds / thousands of tests.

    Having more than 4 cores in this instance is a win.

    Edit: Oh and for video editing, more than 4 cores would definitely be good. I haven't loaded up my registered Sony Vegas Pro 13 yet, but am expecting it to be heaps faster.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
  3. motion2082

    motion2082 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    Perth
    That's a very bigotry response. Never said I was a professional video editor. It's really just a hobby. I could say "never knew there were so many douch bags on OCAU" but that's far from the truth.

    It's a legitimate question regardless of the content creation quality.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
  4. Aratahu

    Aratahu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Location:
    Melbourne VIC
    @motion2082, fwiw I upgraded from 2600k w/Samsung 850Pro SSD to a 6850k w/Samsung950 NVME . I still have the old machine up and running, I'd be happy to help you out with any questions you might have. Can only run tests @ night time though.
     
  5. motion2082

    motion2082 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    Perth
    @Aratahu, thank you, that would be greatly appreciated. Have you noticed much difference running multiple applications and opening files on a X99/6850k compared to your i7 2600k?
     
  6. Aratahu

    Aratahu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Location:
    Melbourne VIC
    What kind of apps? :) The general responsiveness is much improved, and the feel is that it is much less bogged down. It doesn't matter so much how much stuff I have open.

    However anything that relies on network activity is still going to have to wait for the network to respond. One of my Visual Studio solutions have a lot of dependencies which are checked when I open the solution, and gets bogged down for a fair amount of time until all resolved; this hasn't changed a lot for me. Once inside everything feels more responsive though.

    Certain apps like SQL Management Studio open ludicrously fast. I have yet to install Lightroom (I have an old D700 for raw photography) and Vegas, but am looking forward to it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
  7. motion2082

    motion2082 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    Perth
    That's good to know, thank you.

    Main applications:
    - photoshop, bridge, after fx, premier pro, handbrake, illustrator

    I know most Adobe suite runs better on single thread 4 core however when you start opening multiple programs there tends to be lag. Sometimes some windows freeze up for a couple of seconds which is motivating me to upgrade. Overall the i7 2600k is great but I need something more. So either 6 core for $450 or 8 core for $1300-$1500. Almost $900 for two more cores. Really just trying to justify i7 6900k over i7 5820k based on the experiences of those who have upgraded.
     
  8. Aratahu

    Aratahu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Location:
    Melbourne VIC
    It'd be very much worth looking at an NVME drive too, as the latency numbers of those are staggering compared to AHCI.

    I have:
    c:\512gb 950 NVME as my main drive,
    d:\120gb Vertex 3 Max IOPS as a temp "scrap" one,
    e:\4tb WD spinner for storage.

    For lots of video editing I would probably have liked to make the D: a 1TB Samsung 850 Evo .. or perhaps an Intel 750 1.2tb NVME if I really wanted it to scream.

    But yeah, the NVME drive is a major factor in the feel of my system - I know I'd take that and a 6 core over an 8 core.
     
  9. motion2082

    motion2082 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    Perth
    100% agree with investing in a NVME drive. Using a 512gb Samsung Evo 840 at the moment as my main drive. Going 6 core would give me room to invest in gtx1080 and nvme drive without pushing past $2k
     
  10. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,010
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    I know it's a Broadwell-E thread, but after digging deeper and seeing you guy's real world experiences/benchmarks, there really isn't any reason to give up my 5820k, especially for a 6800k..lol
    I'm not a fan of my current motherboard (MSI Gaming 7), so I will be grabbing a Strix and a new 32GB ram kit.
    Having the extra I'll invest in a larger NVMe drive (Samsung 950 Pro 512GB) and ditch this WD Black for a 1TB Samsung 850 Pro.

    Wife needs a new GPU, so I'll grab a GTX1080 and she'll have my GTX980ti.

    I am rather disappointed with Broadwell-e's performance and overclockability actually, was hoping for a lot better.
     
  11. motion2082

    motion2082 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    Perth
    Hi Supersize,

    I would rather get a Skylake-E but not prepared to wait another year for that luxury. The only Broadwell-E that I would spend $1200 max on would be the i7 6900k. Missed the 20% eBay deal where Futu Online were selling them for $1480. Even that was too high a premium.

    You're right though, hanging onto the 5820k is a good move. Use the extra cash to upgrade storage and your GPU.
     
  12. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,458
    Location:
    Melbourne
    So does going from a quad core to a 6 core improve your productivity by an equal percentage?

    If a project takes you 6 hours to process on a quad core, will it then take you only 4 hours on a 6 core?
     
  13. Ck21

    Ck21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    643
    Location:
    SA
    5960x used; got down to $800 plus postage at one stage, they hover between $800-$900 plus postage, if you can find one for $800-$900 it would be a better deal vs new 6850k or 6900k.

    and if your not overclocking, maybe a xeon e5 26** v3 (haswell-e on clearence) or the broadwell v4's might offer better value.

    for eg:
    E5-2640v4 (2.4ghz-3.4ghz 10c20T) = $1440~ $200 cheaper the 8core 6900k but 2 extra cores and slower base frequency
    E5-2630v3 (2.6ghz-3.4ghz 8c16T) = $960-990
     
  14. motion2082

    motion2082 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    412
    Location:
    Perth
    I remember the 5960x selling for $800 in late 2014, now your lucky to find one under $1k (local)

    Agree with 6850/6900 statement

    Not sure I like the idea of a Xeon that can't be OC'd
     
  15. xtreme2k

    xtreme2k Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,277
    Location:
    Sydney
    I got a Xeon E5-2697V3 (2.6GHz 14c/28t Turbo to 3.6GHz) to replace my 2600K (at stock).

    It doesnt oc at all and compared to a 6950X the 6950X is faster with OC.

    Some performance to consider. All at stock speed for the Xeon
    XTU - 2135
    Firestrike Physics - 20072
    Cinebench R15- 2109

    I don't have stock 6950x to compare with but I know for a fact the OC'd 6950X is faster.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,745
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    Another comparison. My lowly 8 Core only overclocked to 4.3 (as it is on air right now) on Firstrike gives a higher Physics score.
     
  17. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,458
    Location:
    Melbourne
  18. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,010
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Nah, there's a few over on Overclock.net that have them as well, just for shits and giggles.. :lol:

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1601679/broadwell-e-thread/920#post_25308697

    I've been playing around with my current x99 Gaming 7 board and updated it to the latest Broadwell-E compatible BIOS.
    What happened after that was my 5820k couldn't overclock to the normal 4.3Ghz@1.23v, I could only get 4.2Ghz@1.25v stable.
    After rolling back it was fine. (Standard OCCT Large Data set test)

    I'm wondering if the low Broadwell-e overclocks has something to do with the early BIOS releases.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2016
  19. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,385
    Location:
    Melbourne
    haha, if i was going to spend that much on a pc, definately would not be using an AIO liquid cooler.

    AIO Liquid Cooling in a Corsair 900D? Wasted opportunity for dual 480mm rads
     
  20. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,458
    Location:
    Melbourne
    This screams to me "I have no idea what I'm doing but I have lots of moneys"
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: