Intel Broadwell-E

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by im late, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. v81

    v81 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Location:
    SE Vic
    Hi gents, have read back over the last few pages, but have a few unanswered questions, maybe some of you could help.

    I've got the 6800K, Asus X99 DeluxeII, 32GB Corsair vengeance.
    Primary use is gaming / flight sim (XPlane 10 claims to be very multi threaded).
    A GTX1080 is on the cards.

    I'm looking to overclock to get best day-day performance.
    I'm a bit rusty it seems as my OC'ing experience has all previously been from the BIOS with 1hr runs of IntelBurnTest for stability.

    Seems XTU is the go now.
    Can someone list the tools you guys use for tracking temps and testing stability?
    Also, do you overclock the non-turbo or turbo multiplier (for day to day use)?
    I currently have 6&5core turbo @ 42x, 4&3core turbo @ 43x, 2&1core turbo @ 44x.
    Only done a 5 min test inside XTU at the moment.

    Sig is updated with machine, pic of XTU below...
    http://i.imgur.com/gAtURfw.png

    ::edit::
    Once you've settle on an OC, do you stick the settings into the BIOS, or have XTU apply them at startup, or is there another way i'm not aware of?
     
  2. headin2001

    headin2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    Setting it in bios is the best fool-proof way to make sure it's always applied. You just have to be sure of it's stability.

    These are pretty simple though, and most overclocking is basically raising the multiplier to what you want then adjusting the vcore to suit. Check your temps are good and your cooking.

    You can then play with the Cache if you want which will impact your stability if out. Plenty of power there as they are.

    I'm a fan of having all my cores at the same speed though, but it works fine both ways.

    I use XTU and Cinebench for quick stability testing, the benchmark in XTU is tough, but wont give you temps like a longer test will. For further stability, I then run Realbench V2 followed by many fun hours of Battlefield 4, but for you, I'd be hitting your flight sim for a bit. Monitor the temps with cpuid HWMonitor.
     
  3. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,421
    Location:
    Melbourne
    just tried to overclock my cache (RING), fucking hate it when its called ring, why cant every mobo manufacture just call it the same bloody thing.

    Any hoot, either this micro 2 is a complete piece of shit, or broadwell is a complete piece of shit, as i cannot change the ring at all.

    set ring multi to x40
    set ring voltage to 1.25V (same V as the core @ 40x)
    set vccin to 1.9V
    set vdroop off

    doesnt boot, error code 91

    also tried multi 35/36/37/38/39 with the above settings, and still erorr code 91, no boot.

    dont see the point of the ring being in bios if it cant be overclocked. if this is the cpu holding this back, then broadwell is a complete fail compared to Haswell E (my 5820k/5930k/5960x all did 45x/45x with EASE, and this POS 6800K cant even do 40x/40x)

    Think i will be looking for a haswell E and pissing off this 6800K. Right now id rather use an AMD CPU this this piece of shit.
     
  4. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,543
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Stupid question but... Have you got the latest BIOS on the Micro 2?
     
  5. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,421
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yea, which could be an issue, as this is the ONLY bios thats been released by evga for broadwell cpus

    When i got the board, and put the 6800K in, it didnt boot, had to drop a 5xxx chip in an update the bios.

    Have 2.01 installed. Its the only bios that supports broadwell-e

    Release Date Type Version Part Number OS URL Notes
    5-27-2016 BIOS 2.01 131-HE-E095 Windows 10 64bit Download View
    3-11-2016 BIOS R103 131-HE-E095 Windows 10 64bit Download View
    10-19-2015 BIOS 1.02 131-HE-E095 Windows 10 64bit Download View
    9-10-2015 BIOS 1.01 131-HE-E095 Windows 10 64bit Download View
    7-28-2015 BIOS 1.00 131-HE-E095 Windows 10 64bit Download View
     
  6. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,543
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Hmmm...

    Don't spose you can be fkd swapping the 5960X into the Micro 2 and try the RING on that. :Paranoid:
     
  7. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,421
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yea, really cant be bothered! both have custom loops setup.

    Ill give it a tinker when i add a second rad into both systems (waiting on drop ins to be delivered from caselabs)

    I have the 6800K booting at 4.5Ghz core, just gotta try get it stable. I shoulda kept my AsRock X99M Fatality, as it appears its the only matx x99 board that has the OC Socket, which is apparently needed for getting the cache past x36

    But wanted EVGA BUILD!
     
  8. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,543
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah their boards have never been that stellar TBH. Even in the good old days of the Classys. The clocked like mofos but died shortly after.
     
  9. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Not sure about the EVGA Micro 2 but I had the original Micro and I could only get 3.6 on the cache with an 8 core.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,789
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    The EVGA Micro2 board is not a bad board physically, but the terrible BIOS holds it back...... :sick:

    Should have kept the ASRock X99 NCRYPT..... :D
     
  11. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,421
    Location:
    Melbourne
    haha yea, ah well, i wanted to do an evga inspired build!

    my s5 has a stormtropper graphic on the window, so i wanted a white/black theme!

    ill get bored eventually and sell it and start again!
     
  12. Ck21

    Ck21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    SA
    @ncrypt; From what ive read about haswell-E, the only way you where overclocking the cache was with a OC socket. I assumed it would be similar with broadwell-E overclocking.



    In other news; my Asus x99-M WS arrived today :D:thumbup:

    still need to buy the cpu and DDR4 ECC-Rdimm memory and a video card, then can assemble everything, so i can actually play some games, this laptop can only do so much with a non-upgradeable GTX840M
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2016
  13. Modafroman

    Modafroman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    10,057
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The Asus B-E overclocking guide talks about cache overclocking to be hard, I think they ended up with maxes of like 37x? I didn't have much like with mine, so i've just left it at stock 31x.

    I use OCCT, with a combination of the OCCT stability test and linpack test.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,789
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    I think once BW-E board bios revisions mature, we will see cache OC gains.

    We are forgetting, BW-E only came out March this year......sorry but still is not enough time for board vendors to mature their bios versions.

    Also, I image later batches of the BW-E will produce better overall results.....just like HS-E did....
     
  15. Modafroman

    Modafroman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    10,057
    Location:
    Brisbane
    So final overclock for my 6850K = 4.4Ghz CPU (100x44) @ 1.31V, 3.8Ghz Cache (100x38) @ 1.3V VCache and RAM at 3200Mhz 15-36-36-36 @ 1.35V (Stock XMP Profile). Pretty happy with that.

    This is before I add the GTX1080 to the loop when the FTW block gets released, which will increase heat into the loop. Will also have to increase the pump speed, its sitting at 1.5/5 and is basically moving no fluid at all haha, temps get a bit toasty, topped out at ~90c linx, ~85c in occt linpack avx and ~70c normally loaded. It's so quiet though! :o
     
  16. Ck21

    Ck21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    SA
    Placed my order this morning for the broadwell-e xeon e5-2640 v4, and 32gig of ddr4-2133 reg ecc (4x8gb), $2063.50 posted... :wired::upset::thumbup:

    god that was painfull pulling the trigger on a $1459 CPU..

    Was really weighing up the 6900K + normal 32gig ddr4-2400mhz combo to save a few $$ to put towards WC'ing the GPU (still undecided on what ill get), Will be WC'ing the cpu for silence, makes sense to add the GPU to the loop to maintain silence of the build.

    but just didnt have the confidence in getting a decent performing chip that would perform well under its rated TDP (6900k is 140w), wanted 8C/8T @ 3ghz-3.6ghz~ and under 95w tdp, but had to settle for 10C/20T @ 2.4ghz-3.4ghz and 90w tdp.

    Im hoping with HT disabled, the 10cores will fall somewhere between 55w-70w @ 100% load. *fingers crossed*
     
  17. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,813
    Post some benchmarks when you assemble it :thumbup:
     
  18. OP
    OP
    im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,789
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    As a comparison yesterday when I checked, my 8 core with HT on was currently at 4.2 and under 100% load and the temp was 55-57 deg, while running heaven benchmark for my two GPUs.

    But that is with: 1 x 360.30 rad, 1 x 280.45 rad and two DDC 3.2 PWM pumps in series.

    So I think you should be within your target limits under load. :thumbup:
     
  19. xtreme2k

    xtreme2k Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,277
    Location:
    Sydney
    Really looking forward to some benchmarks, temps and pics:D
     
  20. mojos

    mojos Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Brisbane
    My 6900k and board finally turns up and despite my best efforts that Rampage E10 is not going into my Evolv TG case with out one of the 2 being modded, I knew I was pushing my luck based on the measurements. Others have been getting the board into the case by removing the back plate and LED controller but I'm not sure I want to do that.

    Anyone got a good E-ATX case suggestion? Maybe I should get a case labs case or do an open build on a praxis wet bench.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: